We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“small and secluded in busy Little India”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Claremont Hotel Singapore
Ranked #41 of 79 Singapore B&B and Inns
Mumbai
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“small and secluded in busy Little India”
Reviewed March 28, 2011

Stayed here for less than a day.Had extended my Singapore trip by a day and couldnt extend City Hub, as was unfortunately fully sold out, so shacked up at the Claremont, with my colleague who was staying here since a week...
It is 2 minutes walk to Farrer Park MRT and in Little India, where most of my potential clients were, which were the plus points

Checked in around 1 pm afternoon and rested fro an hour and went out for sightseeing and returned late evening....room was small and a bit cramped, but the A/C was quite effective and a respite from the Singapore heat....shower had good running cold and hot water too, yet quite small.....took some rest late evening and went out for some work and then proceeded to the Airport to take my flight back home....

Didnt stay the night at Claremont......

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gautammasand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    30
    65
    55
    138
See reviews for
123
44
32
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Ahmedabad, India
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2011

A reasonable value for money hotel located very clse to the Metro Rail and opposite the Mustafa Market which is a shoppers paradise. Hotel serves you good breakfast. Location is the key with many Indian restaurants very close by.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank devendraa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2011

This is not a hotel, it's a dirty, unpleasant, low grade mockery offering nothing. The staff is very ruddy, the breakfast is awful - I believe the dog would not eat anything from the food offered and out of the dirty and half broken plates, the rooms and bathrooms are dirty, the whole building has a terrible smell, the people who stay there are noisy, screaming out at any time of the night, slamming doors and moving furniture. No-one cares about your complaints.....at the end if the price was only 10 USD per night it would be too expensive for this rotten hole! My sincere advice – STAY AWAY !!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Luis082
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Singapore hotels

Bengaluru, India
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2011

While I was looking for a budget hotel at the best and convenient location,my friend booked this room for me and I was only skeptical about this place till I reached there.Once there, I realised everything is pretty decent for the money we pay since comparatively this is one of the hotels which is cheaper for travellers like me.No high expectations post I read reviews from this website but it proved to be wrong and I was happy to have chosen this place.This is in Little India, Right opposite to Mustafa, right next to the MRT,Very Very good for Indian food(Veg and Non Veg).Rooms are decent for the budget we are looking at since I explored many other hotels and everything was equal or expensive and nothin was as close as this is to Little India.Breakfast is ok but there are many options when you jus step out of the hotel.Overall value for money and a decent hotel.Would always recommend people like me who spend hours together to browse and get some details and want to book randomly.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sunilsurana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2011

It is Christmas time and hotel prices in Singapore are touching the sky.That is the reason one is forced to zero in on this establishment which offered a three bedroom with breakfast for three at a comparatively affordable price.
The only good thing about the establishment is its location, a stones throw from Farrer Park MRT station for us and just opposite Mustafa and scores of Indian food joints for others.
Step into the tiny lobby and one is greeted by a receptionist who places a lot of value on her smile.The check in process is smooth though and one is on the way to the second floor room in no time.
It is as the lift opens that one is confronted with a really narrow and claustrophobic corridor.The size of the room is not too small as it holds one double bed and a folding single bed with some more space to move around.But there is an unpleasant smell that lingers despite the aircon.There are big windows overlooking a park but for some reason they are jammed shut and won't open.
The size of the bathroom is also no cause for complaint,but the fittings are very basic,the towels are worn and worst of all there is a nasty lingering odour.There are no exhust fans nor does the window opens.The exhust system of the hotel clearly does nothing to remove the nasty smell.One bottle of deo over the three day stay makes the loo somewhat usable.
The breakfast is served in the basement.The spread is nothing to crib about if one is looking for Indian food, because they have idlis,dal vadas,iddiyappam etc., it is the quality of the spread and the choice that is open to question.For example,they had chappatis one morning without any vegetable to go with it.When asked, we were advised to manage with sambhar/jam.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mohantymr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyoto, Japan
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2010

This is my first and possibly only review of a hotel my family and I have stayed at. I felt compelled to put into writing just how bad this hotel is. In fact - the most amazing thing about this hotel is that there are apparently 15 hotel that are even worse! We will give anything a go having lived in India and travelled with the kids through most of south east Asia. We came to the Claremont from a fairly rough hotel in Lahad Datu, Sabah. it would appear that the people that run the hotel either do not own a broom or have no idea how to use it. There are tiles falling off the exterior and interior of the hotel, all manner of junk piled up in the fire escape (we used it after getting sick of waiting for the lift), the place stank, the bathroom was straight from Faulty Towers and this place is not really that cheap. If this place was the last hotel available in Singapore I would stay in JB. Give this one a miss. I have no doubt the few positive reviews of this place are by the owners.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lucass_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bharuch, Gujarat, India
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2010

The hotel’s main plus point is its location. It is situated in Little India area just opposite the great Mustafa market. The Ferrer Park MRT station is also just a few seconds away. Indian food is available in nearby restaurants.
Hotel’s morning breakfast is fresh and warm. Though you have a very limited choice.
But hotel’s service is very poor - including reception, room service and maintenance service. Hotel’s cleanliness is also not good. You may easily spot insects inside your room.
Overall it is a hotel for the tourists with economy budget and also for the Indians who starve for Indian food.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank niraj1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Fortuna Hotel
#252 of 312 in Singapore
170 reviews
Little India
Santa Grand Hotel Little India
Santa Grand Hotel Little India
#166 of 312 in Singapore
329 reviews
Little India
Tai Hoe
Tai Hoe
#100 of 312 in Singapore
496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Little India
Broadway Hotel Singapore
Broadway Hotel Singapore
#232 of 312 in Singapore
190 reviews
Little India
Perak Hotel
Perak Hotel
#158 of 312 in Singapore
558 reviews
Little India
Hotel 165
Hotel 165
#226 of 312 in Singapore
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Claremont Hotel Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Claremont Hotel Singapore

Property: Claremont Hotel Singapore
Address: 301 Serangoon Road | Little India, Singapore 218224, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore > Little India
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 79 B&Bs / Inns in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Claremont Hotel Singapore 2*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Claremont Hotel is a value hotel offering affordable hotel room stays and strategically located on Serangoon Road, the main street coursing through the Little India district. Claremont Hotel offers real value for money with its extremely accessible location to The Farrer Park MRT Station (NE8)and is just a short 2-minute walk to hotel doorstep. Located opposite the hotel is Mustafa Center, a 24-hour shopping haven. Leisure and business travelers can get almost anything from the shops around here. Visitors arriving at Changi Airport can zip through the MRT train system and reach the comfort of Claremont's hotel room in less than an hour. Step out of Claremont Hotel and you run smack into the Little India, one of Singapore's oldest and culturally rich district. Crossing the Serangoon Road, visitors will encounter a labyrinth of short and lengthy lanes dotted with multi-colored restored Pre-War shop houses; in pink, green, yellow, blue, purple, and red, orange and turquoise that is an attraction itself. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Claremont Hotel Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Singapore Claremont Hotel
Claremont Hotel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing