We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Budget Hotel in Singapore!”
Review of Fort Canning Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Fort Canning Lodge
Ranked #155 of 314 Hotels in Singapore
Canadian in Paradise
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Best Budget Hotel in Singapore!”
Reviewed October 26, 2013

The reason why I think this is the best budget hotel in Singapore is not only because the rooms are extremely clean and well-equipped, but the LOCATION is fantastic, only a 5 minute walk to the best parts of Orchard Road!

Sure, you can get cheaper hotels, but look at their location, in seedy areas, nothing like Orchard Road, right?

In my opinion, with a family, this is THE place to stay in Singapore, on a budget!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SamAndSheena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

759 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    341
    235
    60
    35
See reviews for
214
157
68
74
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Fort Canning is fine for a few days if you are into exploring the City.Rooms are a good size.The pool is ok.Breakfast is basic as is the lobby area.There are no lounges or cafes, only 1 small convenience store.The best thing is that you are quite central and can walk to malls and good restaurants in 5-10 minutes. Just walk through the adjoining parkade next to Hotel and down the elevator and walk across the street to the MRT and two malls.There is a good little Itallian restaurant and Irish Pub close by.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank H M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Just spent two nights at YWCA Fort Canning Lodge in a Family Room.

Loved the location - about 300 metres from an MRT station. Rooms were of very high standard and quite happy with the breakfast that was included. Staff were very helpful - swimming pool was great and probably the only drawback was that I missed the point that you had to pay for your internet.

Would not hesitate to recommend this hotel. Met a fellow traveller from the Gold Coast that commented on how surprised he was at the quality of the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Finplus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Spent 3 nights here in the family room. Rooms were clean and tidy without all the bells and whistles. Location was the main attraction with only a 5 minute walk to Orchard Road and a main MRT Station. Buffet breakfast was not bad. No free Wi-Fi though. Would stay again if only for the location.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bangalore
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013

We stayed in the executive twin room for four nights. Travelled with two children, aged 7&4. Kids were accommodated without extra charge as we did not need an extra mattress. The room charge was inclusive of breakfast. The rooms are clean and spacious. Bathroom was very clean. Tea and coffee maker in the room. And an empty mini fridge. A boon when you are traveling with the kids in an expensive city. It makes sense to use the local grocery and stock the fridge.
Breakfast was an okay spread, oriental and continental. It was the same spread through out the four days that we were there.
The power in our room tripped one night. One call to the front desk, and the maintenance man arrived and fixed it.

In all, a comfortable stay. I would recommend this stay in Singapore. Good value.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank apukash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 27, 2013

I had a very pleasant stay. The hotel is walking distance to many eating places. Situated in a quiet and peaceful area with hardly any traffic. A good park write in front of the hotel to walk around or for jogging. Rooms are clean and comfortable. Breakfast was average, could introduce a few more items!

Room Tip: Higher floors are better
See more room tips
Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Neranjara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Was attending the Hardwell Concert at Fort Canning. Was at first very happy of the distance since the lodge was near to Fort Canning.
Had brought some friends over, but they say at first that it was okay as long as we don't make noise. Apparently friends brought over some speakers and open too much loud music, and got a warning. That's fine and so we stopped the loud music.
No cups, so that gave styrofoam cups instead. Also gave too little ice for drinks.
Had plan to only have about 7 friends over at the end of the day since we all planned to share the amount together.

We went back to the hotel after the event ended at 12am, to hopefully just Rest and Relax, but got a call from the hotel, it was 12:45am only, and we were kicked out. Staffs were indifferent.
It would have been expected of them to have at least understand what was going on, or maybe shift us to another room at least. Maybe it was too much people.

Still disappointed, because they still didn't understand our situation as customers. It was okay when we went back, but I don't know why they still force us to leave. Had called the police down which was unnecessary. If only they could put themselves in our shoes.

Said that only 2 persons could stay, and since it wasn't worth it, we all decided to leave.

Still had to paid full amount, with GST that comes up to $400.

First time experiencing such a bad hotel experience. Would never come here again. Period. Customers are what makes the hotel running, and they just ruined it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Nasri_Nasir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Singapore hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Hotel Innotel
#90 of 314 in Singapore
417 reviews
Hotel Fort Canning
#33 of 314 in Singapore
1,209 reviews
Strand Hotel
#152 of 314 in Singapore
455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Quays
Robertson Quay Hotel
Robertson Quay Hotel
#240 of 314 in Singapore
847 reviews
V Hotel Bencoolen
#163 of 314 in Singapore
1,317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fort Canning Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fort Canning Lodge

Property: Fort Canning Lodge
Address: 6 Fort Canning Road YWCA, Singapore 179494, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #155 of 314 Hotels in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Fort Canning Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Owned and managed by YWCA of Singapore, Fort Canning Lodge is located beside Fort Canning Park, 275 m from Plaza Singapura. It features a swimming pool and air-conditioned non-smoking rooms with cable TV. Guests enjoy free parking. The Lodge is a 5-minute walk from the National Museum and 150 m from Dhoby Ghaut MRT Station. Changi International Airport is a 15-minute drive from the hotel. Most rooms offer views of the city, pool or park, and are equipped with a mini fridge and tea/coffee maker. Hot shower facilities and toiletries are provided in the en suite bathrooms. Guests can enjoy a stroll in the park opposite the lodge. Luggage storage facility is provided at the 24-hour front desk. The Coffee House serves a variety of local and Western dishes. A la carte menu options are also available. Dhoby Ghaut is a great choice for travellers interested in shopping, clean streets and convenient public transport. This is our guests' favourite part of Singapore, according to independent reviews ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fort Canning Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ywca Fort Canning Hotel Singapore
Ywca Fort Canning Singapore
Fort Canning Lodge Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing