We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“They charge for EVERYTHING!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of YWCA Fort Canning Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added YWCA Fort Canning Lodge to your Saves list
YWCA Fort Canning Lodge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6 Fort Canning Rd, Singapore 179494, Singapore   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #173 of 305 Hotels in Singapore
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“They charge for EVERYTHING!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

The hotel is clean and well located. The beds are extremely hard, Air conditioning is hard to adjust and too cold on low. I turned it off. The most disappointing aspect are the extra costs: Wifi is over $5 for 30 mins, adding about $10 a day to the bill. A small bottle of water is $3.90.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Francis H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

657 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    298
    201
    55
    30
See reviews for
181
137
56
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
97 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

As silly as it sounds, slippers is an important item for a stay. This place provides none, which means that I have to walk barefoot inside the room, where its floor--in case of this place--isn't that clean.

No free wi-fi. Seriously, no free wi-fi when hostels provide you with not only free wi-fi, but also slippers to be worn inside.

No telephone which means that I cannot ask about details like those directly to the front desk/housekeeping. That'd be 11-storeys downstairs.

Didn't try their breakfast since I was only here for a short crash.

With that being said, it's interesting how the place quote for "membership fee" but there's no sign of membership given afterwards: membership card, etc? You can flash your HI card at HI facilities all over the world and get discount. Does the membership paid pertain only to YWCA Fort Canning? What do I get as a member?

For the 100 USD that I've spent, I'd rather rewind the time and stayed elsewhere, namely: 100 USD ensuite room in hostel with free wifi and slipper, that doesn't require you to be a paid member to be crammed in an elevator with 15 ill-mannered Mainland Chinese teenager boys.


  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank applecart3355
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Stayed in a 4 bed dorm. All clean, comfortable beds, good air con. No chairs for clothes but a small cupboard for storage. Small bathroom for 4 people but sufficient towels etc. Nice functional, empty swimming pool but only 2 sun lounger chairs. Breakfast good. No free wifi, which is a big fault and should be included. Liked the location, opposite the park and close to the metro.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Flashpackergo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Easy access to public transportation..nice park nearby...for those who enjoy quiet peaceful ..away from busy city..
Museum of Singapore is nearby. Really enjoy our stay here. Definately will come back. Recommended for family on holiday

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DoreenRichard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Clean & spacious rooms, great location. Go to Douby Ghaut station & take exit B, cross road to Park Mall, take lift to level 4, walk down 'out' ramp of car park & YMCA is on the right. Very close to Orchard Rd & Plaza Singapura. Breakfast buffet was very good - fresh fruit, cereal pastries & toast, hot food. We stayed here with our 3 children & it was perfect for us.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeanettek K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

I was upgraded to a corner room which was larger than the regular rooms. Overall I found the hotel a great value and very convenient for transport. I'd stay here again - though I might be a bit less content in a smaller room.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cpda58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

The room was big, beds were comfortable, breakfast hearty, the proximity to Dhoby Ghaut MRT station and the Orchard Retail Belt were definitely awesome points. (Hence the satisfactory rating of our hotel stay)

However, it stops there. We were actually quite disappointed by the cleanliness of the toilets. Upon checking in, a trip to the toilet made my insides turn, as I saw a few bright yellow urine spots on the toilet seat! This showed that housekeeping were not vigilant enough in santising the hotel room, after the last guests left.

It was also surprising that for the price point and the fact that the rooms are pretty old (refurbished hostel), there was no free Internet connection. I've stayed in cheaper places which are also newer, who doled out free Internet access to hotel guests. We may come back, if only improvements are made to their cleanliness and guest services.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sammierae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Hotel Innotel
#98 of 305 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 stars 317 reviews
Chinatown
Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen
Geylang
Four Chain View Hotel
Four Chain View Hotel
#206 of 305 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 stars 42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Strand Hotel
#166 of 305 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 stars 339 reviews
Victoria Hotel
#125 of 305 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 stars 1,075 reviews
York Hotel
#139 of 305 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 stars 1,144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YWCA Fort Canning Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YWCA Fort Canning Lodge

Property: YWCA Fort Canning Lodge
Address: 6 Fort Canning Rd, Singapore 179494, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #173 of 305 Hotels in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — YWCA Fort Canning Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 175
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your YWCA Fort Canning Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ywca Fort Canning Hotel Singapore
Ywca Fort Canning Singapore
YWCA Fort Canning Lodge Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing