We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK place if you don't want to look elsewhere”
Review of Fort Canning Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Fort Canning Lodge
Ranked #162 of 317 Hotels in Singapore
Reviewed November 28, 2012

By all accounts, this is a decent if underwhelming place to stay. It is a block from Orchard Road and the Dhoby Ghaut MRT station, it is reasonably-priced with breakfast (but they cheat you on extras like a membership fee and expensive internet fees), and it has a pool. However, it looks more like a university dorm than a nice hotel: the rooms are bare, the beds are single, the bathrooms are tiny, the hallways are dim and dank and the buffet breakfast is institutional food. There are many better deals to be found in Singapore; however if you don't want the hassle of trying to find them, this place can be satisfactory.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BrennenY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (778)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

317 - 323 of 779 reviews

Reviewed November 28, 2012

AS per other reviewers the rooms are clean and a reasonable size but sterile and lack character.
TV channel choice very limited
Just like a YMCA which is what it is and you have to pay a temporary memebership fee
of $3.50 per day on top of the $148+17% tax
Location is OK .
The problem is the outrageous extra costs.
$25 per day for internet access,$11 for self service laundry.
No gym,but a nice pool.

Room Tip: Try somewhere else especially of on business
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NEILCAntigua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2012

We only booked this stay for one night and that was for a very late arriving flight(check-in at 6am).Just needed a short rest ,shower and breakfast.Having said that we were so impressed that we have no hesitation in recommending Fort Canning Lodge for a longer stay.The rooms were large and super clean.Everything we needed including toothbrush & paste,tea,coffee making, safe,and good size bathroom(shower only).Beds are comfortable with good linen.There was a little noise transfer from the heavy doors to other rooms being banged but not unbearable.Our wake-up call was on time and we had a late breakfast.Very tasty, with all of the basics to satisfy,and the dining room was clean. Staff were very friendly and efficient
Reception staff were pleasant and very helpful.There is a really big pool which we had to ourselves in the morning.The Lodge is in a very quiet green area of Singapore that is easy walking distance to both Orchard Road or the Riverfront.This would be a great choice for a short stay and at a good price.Dont be put off by the thought of staying at the YWCA.This property has everything you need and does it better than some of the more upmarket hotels
that can make a visit to Singapore so expensive.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank famwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2012

The location is very convenient, very are close to Dhoby Ghaut MRT which connects to the red, green and yellow lines. You can walk to Orchard road with it's numerous malls with lots of shopping stores. You have the historical Fort Canning at your doorstep which allows you to explore anytime of the day. It is far from the maddening crowd yet near enough to walk to anywhere. I love that YWCA is in a quiet neighborhood yet a stone's throwaway fromeveryrhing.

We stayed in a triple room with a queen sized bed and a single bed. Room quite big, large enough to do exercises without disturbing anyone. Bathroom large as well, not cramped as other hotels. we had a mini fridge with free coffee and tea. The free breakfast was plentiful but would have enjoyed it more if they changed the breakfast fare everyday. We stayed 5days/4nights.

Staff are really nice and friendly once you start talking to them. I hope the hotel provides wifi in the rooms instead of an Internet outlet through a laptop.

I will most definitely return and stay here again and again.

Room Tip: Ask for their large rooms as YWCA has them. My daughter stayed in a single and she got a room with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Balletmania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Location is good, breakfast good enough but not too many choices. Room is clean though the building is quite old but at least well-maintained. Affordable and good for budget traveler since all day you will be out for shopping and sightseeing!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DNG6711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed 6 nights in this hotel . We found it via Tripadvisor website. It is very well situated near Orchard road and near Mrt Dhoby Ghaut station which is the ""central" station of Singapore : interchanges here are useful to visit all the city.It is also possible to walk around there : to go to Clarke Quay ... The room ( deluxe one) was large with simple but pleasant decoration, very clean, with confortable bed, quiet, with a nice view on the Fort Canning Park. One problem was the air conditioning : it was noisy (in our room). The swimming pool is large, clean too. The breakfast is served in a clean room, a nice buffet with a good choice. The staff of the hotel is efficient, very helpful. Very good quality hotel and perfect location ! It will be our next hotel to stay in Singapore !

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pf35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Singapore hotels are generally expensive, and the cheapest ones are in the Geylang area which is a bit far out from the tourist spots. I had limited budget on this trip but decided to go ahead with this hotel. I discovered that I was able to save on some expenses when I chose this hotel and I was generally happy and recommended it to others. Basically:

1. They had good free buffet breakfast included in the price which helped a lot to get us started
2. There were public buses to/from the airport which stopped near the hotel
3. We were near the Dhoby Ghaut MRT and some bus stops and the other tourist spots were just a short ride away, which translated into fare savings
4. There is a free shuttle to/from Resorts World Singapore which covered both Sentosa and USS
5. Free wifi
6. Orchard road is just a short walk

Other pros:
1. Good sized room
2. TV has some cable channels provided
3. Kettle provided
4. There is a good sized pool provided

There's not a lot of cons I see in the hotel - especially for the value provided by the price relative to Singapore standards.

1. There's not a lot of open restaurants at night, unlike the Geylang area which provides a number of cheap eateries
2. Each person checking in needs to pay a membership fee, unless you are a member of YWCA

Just note the easiest way to reach this hotel is through Park Mall near the Dhoby Gaut MRT station.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Warlocke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Hotel Fort Canning
#33 of 317 in Singapore
1,317 reviews
Hotel Innotel
#94 of 317 in Singapore
440 reviews
RELC International Hotel
#183 of 317 in Singapore
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kampong Glam
Santa Grand Hotel Bugis
Santa Grand Hotel Bugis
#128 of 317 in Singapore
1,024 reviews
The Quays
Robertson Quay Hotel
Robertson Quay Hotel
#240 of 317 in Singapore
896 reviews
Hotel Re!
#145 of 317 in Singapore
793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fort Canning Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fort Canning Lodge

Address: 6 Fort Canning Road YWCA, Singapore 179494, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #162 of 317 Hotels in Singapore
Price Range: $85 - $181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Fort Canning Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Owned and managed by YWCA of Singapore, Fort Canning Lodge is located beside Fort Canning Park, 275 m from Plaza Singapura. It features a swimming pool and air-conditioned non-smoking rooms with cable TV. Guests enjoy free parking. The Lodge is a 5-minute walk from the National Museum and 150 m from Dhoby Ghaut MRT Station. Changi International Airport is a 15-minute drive from the hotel. Most rooms offer views of the city, pool or park, and are equipped with a mini fridge and tea/coffee maker. Hot shower facilities and toiletries are provided in the en suite bathrooms. Guests can enjoy a stroll in the park opposite the lodge. Luggage storage facility is provided at the 24-hour front desk. The Coffee House serves a variety of local and Western dishes. A la carte menu options are also available. Dhoby Ghaut is a great choice for travellers interested in shopping, clean streets and convenient public transport. This is our guests' favourite part of Singapore, according to independent reviews ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fort Canning Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ywca Fort Canning Hotel Singapore
Ywca Fort Canning Singapore
Fort Canning Lodge Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing