We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not impressive ....”
Review of Fort Canning Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Fort Canning Lodge
Ranked #161 of 317 Hotels in Singapore
Reviewed September 4, 2012

The hotel is close to a beautiful park, the metro station and a huge shopping mall. However, it seem to far walking downtown. Room and breakfast are not impressive - ants in the bedsheets, and most of the food for the breakfast was too "exotic" for my taste. I would likely stay in a different place next time.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YR2008Ott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (779)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

337 - 343 of 780 reviews

Reviewed September 1, 2012

I stayed here for two nights and had a pretty good experience. The location is great - a few minutes walk to a big MRT station and from there you can get all around the city. It is also a few minutes walk from the National Museum and the Art Museum. Is it also right on the edge of Fort Canning Park.

The hotel was quite nice - there was an outdoor pool open until about 9pm. The rooms were nice and clean as was the bathroom. The only downside is that the bedroom walls seemed to be really thin as one night I was next to a noisy family and could hear everything. The breakfast is ok - not fantastic though.

Due to the location and the nice comfortable rooms I would recommend this hotel as it is good value for money - one of the cheaper places to stay in Singapore, which is quite an expensive city.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sarahlouisedd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Beds aren't all the comfortable, but after travlling for a while it was perfect. We stayed here one night on our way to singapore, and had a great buffet breakfast.

The bed wasn't that comfortable as mentioned before, but it wasn't the worst bed i have ever slept in either.

The hotel staff were friendly enough, and even gave my wife a glass of water after we had checked out and were waiting for a taxi.

Overall a good experience.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Glenn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2012

the location of the hotel was excellent, located really close to dhoby ghaut mrt, I previously stayed at hotel fort canning, this hotel is even nearer to the mrt station than the other one, hence this is the plus and advantage point. also because its just directly beside park mall, hence convenience to a shopping mall and eating places.

however, the rest of the facilities and amenities of the hotel is only average, the hotel definitely has all the basic necessity, clean enough toilet and bedsheets, comfortable enough bed for rest definitely. certainly not much of a view since nothing much around the area.
the air con and tv programmes are also good enough expecting from a budgeted hotel.

the down sides do include, I was surprised there's no dust bin in the room area and they only provide soap and shampoo (on top of towels). so its best to bring your own shower gel, conditional, toothbrush and toothpaste if you are staying here.

the lunch buffet and dinner buffet spread was excellent, more than what I had expected, they definitely had a wide range and variety of food for choice, food taste and quality was good and nice enough, there's even desserts and cold dishes for choice. the restaurant is probably lacking only in the service to provide serviette and utensils.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mingzhen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2012

For a Budget Hotel, this has a lot of plus: it's only a few walk away from the MRT Station. From the airport, I took the MRT, and just crossed twice and passed thru Park Mall. The hotel is just right behind it. Fronting the hotel is the Fort Canning Park - where you can jog. On the other side of the MRT station is Orchard Road, and right across is Plaza Singapura shopping mall. Location-wise, this is very good. Even though it's a budget hotel, their breakfast buffet (included when you check in) really exceeded my expectations: serving from fruits of the season and bread selections, a mini-salad bar with the greens that you need, fried rice, fried noodles, sausage, eggs, hash browns, congee, etc. At lunch, you can opt to spend it right there where they have a buffet mix of Singaporean, Japanese and Malay cuisine. They have salads, soups and noodles, even a wide selection of desserts to choose from. The room floor does not have a carpet - which I appreciate to avoid an allergy. Now here are some misses: aircon has a bit of noise but I was still able to sleep, some tiny ants on the desk and toilet - but they are harmless, the rooms are not sound-proof so you could hear the next-door room's water faucet knob clinking or the door slamming (good thing our neighbors aren't that noisy and it was still bearable, unless you would mind a bit of noise). Over-all, I'll definitely go back to YWCA because it's affordable and no-fuss.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the park gives a good, relaxing view, - unless a concert is happening at the park a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank W G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

I had stayed at this hotel for 2 nights and it was not really comfortable and worth the price. Here are reviews
(+): near Dhoby Ghaut MRT which is 2 station away from Orchard MRT, also near Singapura plaza
(-): old fashioned hotel with okay room, however, the toilet is not very nice, very old stuffs and smelly. Staffs are not friendly, I had to wait for hours to be checked in although I already informed my early check-in. Although it's near Dhoby Ghaut MRT but I had been told by hotel staffs that if you want to get to the MRT station, you have to go through the short cut which is a small park, and it's really dark and scary at night!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DanielTran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

This hotel is in a good location, walking distance to shopping centres, public transport , and more. Its clean and food is average. Very old fashioned decor, nice pool on roof of hotel. If on tight budget, this will do.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Doneb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Hotel Fort Canning
#33 of 317 in Singapore
1,319 reviews
Hotel Innotel
#94 of 317 in Singapore
441 reviews
RELC International Hotel
#183 of 317 in Singapore
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kampong Glam
Santa Grand Hotel Bugis
Santa Grand Hotel Bugis
#126 of 317 in Singapore
1,026 reviews
The Quays
Robertson Quay Hotel
Robertson Quay Hotel
#240 of 317 in Singapore
897 reviews
Hotel Re!
#146 of 317 in Singapore
793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fort Canning Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fort Canning Lodge

Address: 6 Fort Canning Road YWCA, Singapore 179494, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #161 of 317 Hotels in Singapore
Price Range: $85 - $185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Fort Canning Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Owned and managed by YWCA of Singapore, Fort Canning Lodge is located beside Fort Canning Park, 275 m from Plaza Singapura. It features a swimming pool and air-conditioned non-smoking rooms with cable TV. Guests enjoy free parking. The Lodge is a 5-minute walk from the National Museum and 150 m from Dhoby Ghaut MRT Station. Changi International Airport is a 15-minute drive from the hotel. Most rooms offer views of the city, pool or park, and are equipped with a mini fridge and tea/coffee maker. Hot shower facilities and toiletries are provided in the en suite bathrooms. Guests can enjoy a stroll in the park opposite the lodge. Luggage storage facility is provided at the 24-hour front desk. The Coffee House serves a variety of local and Western dishes. A la carte menu options are also available. Dhoby Ghaut is a great choice for travellers interested in shopping, clean streets and convenient public transport. This is our guests' favourite part of Singapore, according to independent reviews ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fort Canning Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ywca Fort Canning Hotel Singapore
Ywca Fort Canning Singapore
Fort Canning Lodge Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing