We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice option for yogis”
Review of Fort Canning Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Fort Canning Lodge
Ranked #157 of 317 Hotels in Singapore
Reviewed May 31, 2012

As others have noted, the rooms are simple, clean, and relatively affordable for SG. What I'd like to add is that if you're someone who travels with a yoga mat this is an especially good choice.

Inside my room (Superior twin) I had adequate floor space for my mat and the flooring is wood, kept quite clean, so you can practice comfortably (no carpet ickiness). Fort Canning Park is directly across the street so you can easily make it a habit to go there morning and night for a marvelous asana environment, changing your spots daily and always feeling safe while surrounded by natural splendor.

The breakfast buffet has very few vegetarian options but grocery stores are within walking distance and the room has a decent-sized fridge. The view from my floor-to-ceiling window was lovely.

I'll be back!

Room Tip: If you're a light sleeper request a room away from the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tadasana n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (788)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

362 - 368 of 788 reviews

Reviewed May 23, 2012

its a walking distance to plaza singapura and dhoby gaut mrt station, overall its a value for money,considering the hotel rates in singapore, i recomend this hotel for those on a budget travellers...
near convention and conference venue.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
2  Thank virginia t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2012

The location is perfectly convenient because it is near Fort Canning Park, Dhoby Ghaut train station which is an interchange for all transit lines, and just around 5 mins. walk to Orchard Road. Our room which was located on the 10th floor was just the right size for the 2 of us and clean and well maintained (I am a very meticulous person when it comes to cleanliness). Unfortunately we were not given a room with the park view but the front desk clerk (Benjamin Joseph) was very accommodating. The senior (Indian or Malay) man in-charge of the baggage storage was very, very nice and gave us a map to Plaza Singapura which he, himself, prepared showing a short cut route from the parking area. I felt sad that I was not able to get his name and thank him because he was not there on our last day. The breakfast buffet was good but choices were few. I will certainly go back to this hotel. I just wish they have a waiting sofa at the lobby.

Room Tip: Perhaps the park view rooms are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bing l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

The location of this Hotel makes it very convenient for Shopping and Sightseeing alike.
Walking distance from Orchard Road. Buffet breakfast included which makes it great value for money. The rooms are basic but as you don't spend a lot of time in them, they are quite o.k. and comfortable. There is a swimming pool on the property and also a laundry but at $10.00 per load plus soap powder was a bit exorbitant. Overall a good place to stay and enjoy Singapore without breaking the bank.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the swimming pool and not overlooking a car park as we had.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marty v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2012

This was a hostel converted into 175 rooms hotel. On the plus side, It's in a good location, across from Fort Canning Park and a few steps from the MRT (Dhoby Ghaut Station on the Purple Line) and two shopping malls (Park Mall and Singapur Shopping Complex). It is also close to the major shopping road (Orchard Road) that sells all the designer clothing. Amenities include a large outside pool, baggage storage area, a gift shop and a complimentary mediocre breakfast. Hotel staff was friendly and helpful.

On the negative side, the hotel had a large lobby but nothing to sit on! There's no free internet service. They do provide internet service in a non private area in the lobby at a premium charge. The room with two small twin beds was small and smelled of smoke though designated as a non-smoking room. They offered to spray the room but never did. There was a small desk and a small fridge but no drawers to put your clothes in. The bathroom had only a bath towel; when asked about the wash cloths and hand towels, they stated that they do not provide that. There was only one electrical plug in the entire room which was controlled by the key card to your room. So if you have more than one electrical device to charge, you'll have to wait until you are in your room to charge it and can only charge one at a time. We were told that we got upgraded to an executive room. If this is what you get for an executive room, I'd hate to see what you'd get for a standard room! There's no taxi pull in to this hotel. I told the front desk that I needed a taxi to the airport early morning. They indicated that they would book a taxi for me. The taxi meter registered $14.85 to the airport but the taxi driver charged me $32 stating that the difference of $17 is the booking fee!

Though I'd recommend this hotel for the location, I think it is overpriced for what you get. There are many surrounding hotels that offer better amenities for the same price.

Room Tip: Ask for a room farthest away from elevator as people are checking in and out of the hotel at differe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank islandgirl2244
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2012

The location is slightly away from Orchard Road which is slightly inconvenient for tourists. However rooms are clean and properly maintained. The total ambiance is like a hostel and one should not expect service like a hotel. The museum is in walk able distance. The tariff is possibly little high compared to the facility.

Room Tip: You might be able to find a more 'value-for-money' place in Singapore.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Royadip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2012

my family had a wonderful stay at your hotel. Its very clean, nice view from above.The skypark is very visible..The location is very near the mrt station and walking distance to Sacred Heart church...the staff are accomodating. My Kids loved the room we occupied. It's spacious and the bathroom is clean .However, we find the lobby so simple with no place to sit. I highly recommend your hotel to other travellers. For family of 5 get the executive room and you will never regret. Your stay in singapore will be a memorable one. Book now!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LizzelBomediano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Hotel Fort Canning
#35 of 317 in Singapore
1,344 reviews
Hotel Innotel
#97 of 317 in Singapore
450 reviews
Kampong Glam
Santa Grand Hotel Bugis
Santa Grand Hotel Bugis
#125 of 317 in Singapore
1,034 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Strand Hotel
#150 of 317 in Singapore
483 reviews
The Quays
Robertson Quay Hotel
Robertson Quay Hotel
#244 of 317 in Singapore
914 reviews
Value Hotel Thomson
#206 of 317 in Singapore
1,387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fort Canning Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fort Canning Lodge

Address: 6 Fort Canning Road YWCA, Singapore 179494, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #157 of 317 Hotels in Singapore
Price Range: $93 - $193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Fort Canning Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Owned and managed by YWCA of Singapore, Fort Canning Lodge is located beside Fort Canning Park, 275 m from Plaza Singapura. It features a swimming pool and air-conditioned non-smoking rooms with cable TV. Guests enjoy free parking. The Lodge is a 5-minute walk from the National Museum and 150 m from Dhoby Ghaut MRT Station. Changi International Airport is a 15-minute drive from the hotel. Most rooms offer views of the city, pool or park, and are equipped with a mini fridge and tea/coffee maker. Hot shower facilities and toiletries are provided in the en suite bathrooms. Guests can enjoy a stroll in the park opposite the lodge. Luggage storage facility is provided at the 24-hour front desk. The Coffee House serves a variety of local and Western dishes. A la carte menu options are also available. Dhoby Ghaut is a great choice for travellers interested in shopping, clean streets and convenient public transport. This is our guests' favourite part of Singapore, according to independent reviews ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Fort Canning Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ywca Fort Canning Hotel Singapore
Ywca Fort Canning Singapore
Fort Canning Lodge Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing