We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent accommodation at a budget price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Bencoolen - Bencoolen Street
Ranked #176 of 306 Hotels in Singapore
Lawrenceville, Georgia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent accommodation at a budget price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2014 via mobile

Staff was friendly and helpful. Rooms are clean but very cold. AC cannot be controlled from the room even though there is a control. Bathroom is clean and good size. 2nd floor has a nice & clean outdoor swimming pool. Internet in the room and breakfast is included.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Semolina12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

516 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    206
    162
    60
    38
See reviews for
113
113
61
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Ubud, Indonesia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2014

nice hotel absoloutly friendly staff. very nice spa area awsome pool. ok nearby a construction but thats not a permanent thing to claim. soap, toothburst, AC made some struggles but ok. price ok. clean, very very good location cheap for ERP (central singapore). room was small but thats normal in singapore

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HippieBackPacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2014

I'm suppose to travel and visit Singapore for the 2nd time this April 2014. I stayed at Hotel Bencoolen before last 2012. I'm very delighted with their hospitality and planned to stay again. My flight was cancelled this April 2014. I have a reservation and called Hotel Bencoolen to cancel the same day. Hotel Bencoolen was very very empathetic, considerate and very very very kind enough not to charge anything. I was never charged in my credit card. I'm very stressed, frustrated with what happen to my cancelled flight. Hotel Bencoolen tried their very best to do something much more to their guests. Definitely, Hotel Bencoolen is my first choice. Superb customer relations!

Room Tip: Very near and accessible to everywhere!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eau_chanel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2014

My girlfriend and I stayed at Hotel Bencoolen for 3 nights in March. In my opinion, the primary reason for staying at Hotel Bencoolen is the supreme location. It is literally 3-4 minutes away from the Bras Basah MRT and less than 10 minutes from the Dhoby Ghaut MRT, which is where 3 lines intersect. So, in terms of travel convenience, i don't think this hotel can be bettered.

The hotel itself is a small, homely affair with small, barebone rooms. The breafkast left a lot to be desired and the authorities are building an MRT station in front. However. The staff were all friendly and courteous, the rooms were clean and the water pressure in the bathroom excellent.

Hotel Bencoolen represents great value for money. For those who spend the entire day out and about like we did, you would find that the few hours you spend in the room is not at all taxing. Next time I go to singapore, if I were to have the same budget, I would not hesitate to stay here again.

Room Tip: Try to get a room not facing the Bencoolen street. They are building an MRT station there until 2018...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank luckystriker007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014 via mobile

The staff and people on reception couldn't do enough for you so helpful and friendly
Great location close to all metro station fabulous food court on the corner
Rooms were so nice only downside is the aircon got too cold so we turned it off and couldn't get it to turn on again
If u want to use the pool best to go early in the morning as from 2pm there is no sun

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JazSimons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune
Level Contributor
54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2014

I booked this hotel considering its location of the conference hall where I had to deliver a lecture. Of course initially I had to wait for nearly an hour before I moved to the room. Apart from this all the arrangements ,staff service, good breakfast having several veterinarian items . Since I used to go to the rooms small room does not matter for me. For evening stroll location helped me. I stayed here for five nights and found it comfortable for businesses trip.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mehtarasbindu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethel, AK
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2014 via mobile

Excellent location: Right near Dhoby Ghaut ("doby got") which connects to three different lines. I'd stay here again for the location. Staff was extremely helpful - we checked out at noon the day we were heading to KL and they allowed us to come back later in the day. The facility has a pool and workout area, but it's minimal and nothing special. Breakfast was present, but marginal (why would you want to eat breakfast at a hotel when Singapore has so many awesome food options?). In room WIFI was great.

As many mentioned, they're building a bencoolen station, so if you're a light sleeper, this place isn't for you. I'd stay here again should I find myself again in Singapore.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank dane4695
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
V Hotel Bencoolen
#165 of 306 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,259 reviews
Strand Hotel
#148 of 306 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
Kampong Glam
Santa Grand Hotel Bugis
Santa Grand Hotel Bugis
#116 of 306 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 979 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ibis Singapore on Bencoolen
#62 of 306 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,265 reviews
Summer View Hotel
#104 of 306 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
Hotel YAN
#57 of 306 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bencoolen - Bencoolen Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bencoolen - Bencoolen Street

Property: Hotel Bencoolen - Bencoolen Street
Address: 47 Bencoolen Street, Singapore 189626, Singapore
Phone Number:
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #176 of 306 Hotels in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Bencoolen - Bencoolen Street 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Bencoolen - Bencoolen Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bencoolen Hotel Singapore
Hotel Bencoolen - Bencoolen Street Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing