We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Interesting experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
RELC International Hotel
Ranked #177 of 306 Hotels in Singapore
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
244 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
“Interesting experience”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2014

This hotel is within a well-know regional language center, and it attracts groups and families of various age groups. Having previously been a long-term resident, I knew of this hotel but had never visited or stayed there ..so here was my opportunity to do so.

As a very frequent traveller with over 200 hotel nights/year ..you quickly get the gist of any hotel. The location of the RELC is slightly off Orchard Rd, yes you need to walk about 1km but its a nice residential street. The Front Desk was efficient and spotless. My room was large, in fact the overall layout of the hotel is very generous; furnishings were comfortable and cosy.

I have 2 grouches: The WiFi connection was quite erratic if not annoying.
Watch out using the bathroom - modern features yes, but the floor tiles are very slippery when wet; there is also a threshold when entering the bathroom ..quite unusual for a hotel ..and i tripped a few times at first ..then i discovered that the architect had stupidly raised the bathroom floor level above the main room level ..not acceptable for the older age groups.

I payed S$ 190 per night (via booking .com) , that is the same price as for the Traders Hotel which has far better amenities and a better location ...

Room Tip: Choose a higher floor for a good panoramic view of Singapore
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    116
    86
    18
    12
See reviews for
107
36
13
52
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
India
Level Contributor
96 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2014

The check in was easy with usual Singapore efficiency. Surprisingly, they had a porter taking the luggage to the room. The room was really huge. I was on the 11th floor with a view of the orange groove road from the room. Everything in the room was pretty standard except for the size.
The morning breakfast is OK, nothing really to write home about but sufficient and clean. The trouble is that the restaurant room is too small so a lot of people had to carry their breakfast outside to the banquet. I had to do this twice in the week long stay.
There was a strange smell in the bathroom. I had read about this in another review but constant flushing did not help in my case. I had to call housekeeping twice everyday to get rid of the smell for a while. But it always can back. The shower separation can be more efficient as in the present form the bathroom floor is bound to get wet while showering.
The staff is very helpful. I had read about a swimming pool in another review but did not find one here. The reception told me that they did not have one.
Another irritant is the Air Conditioner. I had a split AC in my room and it was really loud. It was almost impossible to hear the TV with the AC on. But the staff attitude & the room size made up for a lot of shortcomings. Location is perfect. Very close to Orchard but away from the din and bustle. I would recommend this for people who are repeat or frequent travelers to Singapore and are looking for affordable accommodation.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travel_Grande
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highton, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014

The hotel doubles up as a English Learning Centre.The rooms where large and clean. We had a family room on level 16 that consists of two queen size beds, bathroom with large shower & toilet, TV, microwave, basic crockery, cups & cutlery, bar fridge and complementary bottle water each day. Requests for extra pillows was very fast. Breakfast was down on level 2 a cafe and was very basic and busy. Needed to get their early as it became very busy with mature age students and tourists. You can walk to Orchard Rd shopping precinct easy or take a taxi.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RickB702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2014

The rooms are big and clean. The bathroom is decent though I think a bit more separation of the shower area is needed because the whole bathroom can be wet if you shower. The breakfast however is terrible. The breakfast cafe is too small so it is crammed for mornings, and the food is really bad. After the first breakfast we decided to skip the rest and have food outside. It is a little bit difficult to get anywhere from the hotel as it is quite a walk from the nearest MRT or bus stop. There are taxis but you will have to wait for one, and if it is a busy day the wait can be a while.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moshunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014 via mobile

The accomodation is satisfactory with a large room containing two queen beds to house a small family. The rooms are clean and modern enough. The location is not the best. Prepare to walk. You will need good walking shoes as you are situated a fair distance from Orchard Rd. This removes any thought that you may have of returning to your room for a mid day break to put your feet up for a rest. The breakfast here is the worst that you will ever encounter. I cannot stress enough that the breakfast is not worth setting your alarm for, it cannot be accepted as a selling feature to book accomodation here. Sleep in and visit Tanglin Mall if you want a proper breakfast to start your day.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank swiggo75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RELCIH, Front Office Manager at RELC International Hotel, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Dear valued guest

Thank you for taking your precious time to provide your feedback regarding our hotel.

I am disappointed that your stay with us was not all that it could have been.

RELC International Hotel has always been committed to providing good service at competitive prices for our guest and will continue to do so.

We recognize the concern raised and will work to improve the F&B quality and services provided.

We look forward to be of service to you again sometime in the future.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2014

One of the cheapest hotels we could find for a family of 5. We were booked in for 4 nights but our friend from Singapore offered us a room in her house so we only stayed there for a night. The lady in the receptionist is pretty good, she changed our bookings without any hassle, pretty polite too considering pretty much all the people who served us don't smile or greet us. Great staff. We were happy with the breakfast too- not much choices but it was enough the kids loved it. It's about 5 minutes walk from the bus stop and about 15 minutes or so walk from orchard street. The room was very spacious and very clean, but there was no much activities going around the hotel but thats fine- we were only there to sleep. Almost every taxi driver know where the place is, you don't even have to give them the address just say RELC hotel :) have a nice trip!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Queencess13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RELCIH, Front Office Manager at RELC International Hotel, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Dear guest

Thank you for taking the time to share your review about your recent stay with us.

We are delighted that you were happy with our service, hotel design and the location was convenient for you.

We look forward to welcoming you again so that we can pamper you further when your travel takes you back to Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2014

Small lobby but the staffs were okay. Room was big but not well design. Location is not very convenient since you have to walk quite far to get to Orchard road. Breakfast was terrible. Overall experience is just average and the price is also average.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CalvinHamit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Orchard Road
Hotel Supreme
Hotel Supreme
#275 of 306 in Singapore
3.0 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
Orchard Road
Orchard Parade Hotel by Far East Hospitality
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
York Hotel
#119 of 306 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,293 reviews
Orchard Road
Hotel Chancellor at Orchard
Hotel Chancellor at Orchard
#213 of 306 in Singapore
3.0 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
Hotel Royal Singapore
#241 of 306 in Singapore
3.0 of 5 bubbles 696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to RELC International Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about RELC International Hotel

Property: RELC International Hotel
Address: 30 Orange Grove Road Relc Building, Singapore 258352, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #177 of 306 Hotels in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — RELC International Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
RELC International Hotel is centrally located, just a 15-minute walk from the famous Orchard Road. There is also a bus stop within steps of the hotel. The hotel features spacious accommodation with a fitness centre, free parking and free Wi-Fi. Guestrooms feature modern interiors with carpeted flooring. Each room is equipped with a minibar, tea/coffee making facilities and a flat-screen TV with selected cable channels. The en suite bathroom comes with a rain shower. Laundry and dry cleaning services are offered on site. Luggage storage can be found at the 24-hour front desk. A currency exchange service is also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Fastbooking, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your RELC International Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relc International Singapore
Relc International Hotel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing