We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Con's outweigh the Pro's”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
RELC International Hotel
Ranked #175 of 308 Hotels in Singapore
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Con's outweigh the Pro's”
Reviewed April 15, 2014 via mobile

The accomodation is satisfactory with a large room containing two queen beds to house a small family. The rooms are clean and modern enough. The location is not the best. Prepare to walk. You will need good walking shoes as you are situated a fair distance from Orchard Rd. This removes any thought that you may have of returning to your room for a mid day break to put your feet up for a rest. The breakfast here is the worst that you will ever encounter. I cannot stress enough that the breakfast is not worth setting your alarm for, it cannot be accepted as a selling feature to book accomodation here. Sleep in and visit Tanglin Mall if you want a proper breakfast to start your day.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank swiggo75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RELCIH, Front Office Manager at RELC International Hotel, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Dear valued guest

Thank you for taking your precious time to provide your feedback regarding our hotel.

I am disappointed that your stay with us was not all that it could have been.

RELC International Hotel has always been committed to providing good service at competitive prices for our guest and will continue to do so.

We recognize the concern raised and will work to improve the F&B quality and services provided.

We look forward to be of service to you again sometime in the future.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    120
    87
    18
    12
See reviews for
108
36
13
53
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2014

One of the cheapest hotels we could find for a family of 5. We were booked in for 4 nights but our friend from Singapore offered us a room in her house so we only stayed there for a night. The lady in the receptionist is pretty good, she changed our bookings without any hassle, pretty polite too considering pretty much all the people who served us don't smile or greet us. Great staff. We were happy with the breakfast too- not much choices but it was enough the kids loved it. It's about 5 minutes walk from the bus stop and about 15 minutes or so walk from orchard street. The room was very spacious and very clean, but there was no much activities going around the hotel but thats fine- we were only there to sleep. Almost every taxi driver know where the place is, you don't even have to give them the address just say RELC hotel :) have a nice trip!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Queencess13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RELCIH, Front Office Manager at RELC International Hotel, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Dear guest

Thank you for taking the time to share your review about your recent stay with us.

We are delighted that you were happy with our service, hotel design and the location was convenient for you.

We look forward to welcoming you again so that we can pamper you further when your travel takes you back to Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
94 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2014

Small lobby but the staffs were okay. Room was big but not well design. Location is not very convenient since you have to walk quite far to get to Orchard road. Breakfast was terrible. Overall experience is just average and the price is also average.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CalvinHamit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed April 12, 2014

The hotel room was so spacious with two queen beds plus coffee maker, free instant coffee and tea, good wifi. Bath room was so clean with full toiletry. Humble breakfast but enough for every one , nice porridge , fish balls and chi cheung fun.

Too few and small lifts that were always packed in the morning since the hotel is part of RELC institute for English Language training. No MRT near by so that bus is the only choice apart from taxi,,just a few bus stop to Orchard by bus no. 190

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TammyWalsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RELCIH, Front Office Manager at RELC International Hotel, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Dear valued guest

Thank you for taking the time to share your review about your recent stay with us.

We are delighted that you had a pleasant stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you again so that we can pamper you further when you next travel back to Singapore.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2014

Stayed for 3 nights in a twin room during March's school holidays. We enjoyed the space and comfortable large beds. Did detect a little musty smell in the room as mentioned by another reviewer as one entered the room. However it wasn't something serious for us. Parking was free. Since we drove, the distance from other amenities was not a concern. Atmosphere was very much like a boarding school where foreign students hanged around the lounge outside the elevators. I would recommend this place to anyone who wishes to stay for some days, for its comfort and value.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tiek L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in room 1414. We slept on twin sized beds. Would have preferred to share a bed, but there is no single queen bed room available and the king suite is out of my budget. The room was immaculate, spacious, and included a microwave, fridge, electric kettle, flat screen TV, and lighting fast WiFi. We also experienced the sharp tack strip poking through where carpet meets tile. Be careful!

Breakfast is tasty but hectic. Classes (the first 6 floors are a language school) start near the end of breakfast hour, so finding an open elevator back upstairs to your room may be a 20 minute endeavor, as it was for us.

Orchard Road and MRT are a 15 minute walk away--an easy walk for a day of sightseeing, a really rough trek with luggage. A S$20 taxi ride to/from the airport is definitely worth the convenience. Note: Tipping is frowned upon in Singapore everywhere except at your hotel, where it's polite to tip at least S$2 per bag to your bellhop.

Reviewers say there's a swimming pool at the apartments. The same is not true for the hotel, alas.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Dianna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2014

Stayed here a couple times over the years. Last time a little over a year ago, the renovations were spectacular. The rooms have always been huge, now updated and really nice. Only a short hike to Orchard road, well worth it....

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ozzy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RELCIH, Front Office Manager at RELC International Hotel, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Dear guest

Thank you for taking your precious time to share your review about your recent stay with us.
I am delighted that you have found our hotel attractive and had enjoyed your stay with us.

RELC International Hotel has always been committed to providing quality service at competitive prices for our guest and will continue to strive for further improvement.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back again.

Andy Gan
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Orchard Road
Hotel Supreme
Hotel Supreme
#271 of 308 in Singapore
3.0 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
Orchard Road
Orchard Parade Hotel by Far East Hospitality
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
York Hotel
#117 of 308 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,307 reviews
Orchard Road
Hotel Chancellor at Orchard
Hotel Chancellor at Orchard
#213 of 308 in Singapore
3.0 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
Hotel Royal Singapore
#237 of 308 in Singapore
3.0 of 5 bubbles 700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to RELC International Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about RELC International Hotel

Property: RELC International Hotel
Address: 30 Orange Grove Road Relc Building, Singapore 258352, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #175 of 308 Hotels in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — RELC International Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
RELC International Hotel is centrally located, just a 15-minute walk from the famous Orchard Road. There is also a bus stop within steps of the hotel. The hotel features spacious accommodation with a fitness centre, free parking and free Wi-Fi. Guestrooms feature modern interiors with carpeted flooring. Each room is equipped with a minibar, tea/coffee making facilities and a flat-screen TV with selected cable channels. The en suite bathroom comes with a rain shower. Laundry and dry cleaning services are offered on site. Luggage storage can be found at the 24-hour front desk. A currency exchange service is also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Fastbooking, Cancelon, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your RELC International Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relc International Singapore
Relc International Hotel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing