We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
RELC International Hotel
Ranked #178 of 312 Hotels in Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A great hotel”
Reviewed December 16, 2013 via mobile

The RELC is a very affordable hotel closer to Orchard rd about a 15 minute walk..huge rooms and very quiet surroundings. Very helpful and courteous staff. My only disappointment was the breakfast..not all that varied especially for western tastes..however that aside a great hotel to say for a few nights where breakfast is not your major concern.

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    121
    90
    19
    12
See reviews for
110
37
13
53
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2013

Really bad stay! Room was poorly insulated.

Could hear people walking pass and banging of doors from other rooms.

But the worst thing was, our room's door had strange banging sounds throughout our stay which I could not fathom how it came about. We couldn't sleep much due to this banging sound and ended up having such a bad night!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank VionYeow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Singapore hotels

Surabaya, Indonesia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2013

The room is large and the bathroom is clean. I got a nice view of the city from my window. The room rate is a bit high (I think), but the service is OK. Orchard Road is nearby and need about 10 minute walk.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ephthera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
68 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2013

If you wanted an average hotel, located near Orchard Road, with an average price, RELC could be your choice. It is about 1km away from the Orchard MRT, so it is not too near, not too far. RELC is a language centre, so beware there might be students staying here, which at time could be noisy and the room is not well insulated from this. I have a bad experience on the noise till 2am, even with complaint to the front desk did not help. If it continue, I think calling the police will be the only choice.

However, this is the only hotel offering a family type room with 2 queen size beds, thus could fit 4 person very well. Breakfast is simple, not much choice, but no complaint. RELC is meant for the average joe, at an average location, with an average price, thus with average quality.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Siao Yuan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Male
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2013

I will start with the good. The only reason we took this hotel is because of its location, Orchard Road is just walking distance if you can take 5-10 minute walk. We did this and it was fun! This is very well delivered.

Over all, it is okay kind of hotel but do not expect a nice service cause they don't seem to care. Spacious indeed but I will say it was not used wisely. The balcony next to ours was a total mess. When we arrive, a man for sure who works for the hotel but I could not exactly tell if he was a guard or a bellman, came to us and instructed us to follow in a commanding tone, didn't even bother to say hello or how are you or perhaps offer to help with the luggage. It was really terrible, we were not kids walking into the hotel, we were paying guests. A simple hi and how are you or welcome to the hotel would have made us smile back at him!

So we were disgusted right from the entrance. Here comes the room, we got three single beds which was okay because it was what is really booked. Problem is only two beds were made up and only two towels were provided so we had to call reception. Two ladies went inside the room just walk right in without a word, fix the third bed and left then minutes later someone came knocking, they handed two small bottle of waters. We arrived at the hotel at 4 PM for goodness sake, they could have prepared everything before we came. Since the hotel has been paid and if we move to another place it will take time and could be more draining, we decided to suck it up and stay.

I was not happy with the service of this hotel at all. The only thing good is just the location. That's the only thing you paid for.

To conclude, if you want a budget hotel near Orchard and you do not seek good service then this is for you!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CherryTraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dhaka City, Bangladesh
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 16, 2013

The hotel was comfortable for our 3 night stay. The staff were quite helpful

We reached the hotel at 7 am in the morning and although check-in was at 2pm, the staff at the front desk was very kind to allow us to check that early. We were checked into our room at 7 in the morning with no extra cost or hassle. What more, the staff, seeing we are travelling with two children, upgraded our executive twin room to executive queen room. We were really impressed. Throughout our stay, staff was polite and helpful all the time.

The room - it was HUUUUGGGGEEEEE.....there were two queen beds plus house-keeping provided us with a cot for the baby.....the kids could actually run around and play in the room

The beds - the beds were comfortable.

The location - the location was ok. It was a 10 min uphill walk to the shopping hub orchard street but the walk was a quiet and scenic one and the area was quite serene. Getting a taxi is a bit of a problem but the hotel staff were always helpful in calling a taxi for us (which ofcourse included a booking charge for the taxi..but with kids, we didnt mind paying the extra dollars as opposed to waiting in the sun)

Although we had breaskfast included in the room rate, all 3 mornings we were too late to wake up to catch breakfast; only once I managed to get in minutes before they closes...the breakfast spread (from what was leftover when i went in) looked decent although there were only a few items

The bathroom was clean; there was initially some problem with the wash-basin but it was quickly resolved when i informed the matter to house-keeping

There was no swimming pool in the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SumaiyaH_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 3 nights and found the hotel to be pleasant and only a short 10 min walk to Orchard Rd. Staff were courteous and the room was spacious with very comfortable beds. Free wifi was a bonus. The only negative was an almost constant sewer smell coming from the bathroom drain which could only be solved by flushing. Hopefully this was just an isolated incident.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Nicholas N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Orchard Road
Hotel Supreme
Hotel Supreme
#276 of 312 in Singapore
380 reviews
York Hotel
#119 of 312 in Singapore
1,330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kampong Glam
hotel clover 33 Jalan Sultan
hotel clover 33 Jalan Sultan
#138 of 312 in Singapore
185 reviews
Orchard Road
Orchard Parade Hotel by Far East Hospitality
Orchard Road
Hotel Chancellor at Orchard
Hotel Chancellor at Orchard
#227 of 312 in Singapore
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to RELC International Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about RELC International Hotel

Property: RELC International Hotel
Address: 30 Orange Grove Road Relc Building, Singapore 258352, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #178 of 312 Hotels in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — RELC International Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
RELC International Hotel is centrally located, just a 15-minute walk from the famous Orchard Road. There is also a bus stop within steps of the hotel. The hotel features spacious accommodation with a fitness centre, free parking and free Wi-Fi. Guestrooms feature modern interiors with carpeted flooring. Each room is equipped with a minibar, tea/coffee making facilities and a flat-screen TV with selected cable channels. The en suite bathroom comes with a rain shower. Laundry and dry cleaning services are offered on site. Luggage storage can be found at the 24-hour front desk. A currency exchange service is also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your RELC International Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relc International Singapore
Relc International Hotel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing