We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
RELC International Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$314
$203
Panpacific.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$271
$191
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
One Farrer Hotel & Spa(Singapore)(Great Value!)
$186
$163
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$334
$176
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Park Hotel Clarke Quay(Singapore)(Great Value!)
$140
$98
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Swissotel The Stamford Singapore(Singapore)(Great Value!)
$195
$170
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$236
$181
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Crowne Plaza Changi Airport(Singapore)(Great Value!)
$159
$143
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Marina Bay Sands(Singapore)
$529
$312
MarinaBaySands
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore(Singapore)
$409
$243
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (292)
Filter reviews
292 results
Traveler rating
34
133
93
20
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
34
133
93
20
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbig roomorchard roadtwo queen bedsquiet areapublic transportbus stoprain showerbotanical gardensquick checkother hotelshotel is locatedchinese restaurantmrt stationmin walkpleasant staybuffet breakfaststevens
Filter
Updating list...
192 - 197 of 292 reviews
Reviewed November 22, 2012

Conveniently located minutes away from beginning of Orchard Road. Clean and big rooms featuring magnificient view of Singapore during night. In hotels is Regional Language Center where kids learn English and other languages and do not hesitate to book room in this hotel. Prices are lot cheaper than on Orchard Road hotels.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stipe_Radosevic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RELCIH, Front Office Manager at RELC International Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2012

Dear guest

Thank you for taking your precious time to provide your feedback to our hotel.

We are most happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay here with us.

RELC International Hotel will continue to provde good service and a quality product at competitive prices for our guest.

We definitely look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Andy
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2012

I took the risk of booking this hotel at short notice over the internet. The price seemed what you'd expect to pay for an average+ hotel but on check-in I had a sinking feeling of regret. The RELC is more like an upmarket backpackers than it is a hotel. (Its actually a language school that doubles as a hotel)
I was given a WiFi code and commenced to try to connect my iphone whilst still at reception. It failed and despite the front desks two attempts to reprogramme my phone it failed to work for the entire stay. (it worked everywhere else in Singapore)
The rooms are large and do seem clean, however this is a no frills hotel and you dont even get bottled water in the room, simply a jug of water in the fridge.
The floor of my room (15th floor) was also uneven, like walking on a wave which suggests some movement of the hotel.
There was also a noise coming from what seemed like the plumbing above the room which continued all night
The bathrooms are well tiled but the low flow shower head only prolongs the time you having to endure smelling the slightly odorous water coming from the taps.
The elevator takes forever and gets well packed with the many floors of budget travellers. On one ocassion it tripped the overload whilst only half capacity.
The staff do not help the dissapointment as I found them unfriendly and on one ocassion abrupt. The only time I experienced a smile was checking out, and I suspect this was only as he was hoping to get a tip.
If they were $US50 a night less it may have some value in that market

Room Tip: Choose a room in another hotel
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank sthpacificlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RELCIH, Front Office Manager at RELC International Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2012

Dear valued guest

Thank you for taking your precious time to provide your feedback regarding our hotel.

I am disappointed that your stay with us was not all that it could have been.

RELC International Hotel has always been committed to provding good service and quality product at competitive prices for our guest and will continue to do so.

The management recongnises the concerns raised and will work to improve the hotel quality and services ever consistently.

Please do not hesitate to contact me at andy.gan@relc.org.sg if i may be of any assistance to you in the near future.

Thank you.

Andy
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

this seems to be a language learning centre turned hotel, so it's main function is "Regional English Learning Centre" hence RELC. So many of the customers are in Singapore for various inter-governmental programs to do some "English learning". The hotel for public is a "sideline business" not it's main function. The space are huge by Singapore standards but location is not ideal. You do not go to Singapore for resort, it is too expensive for that. The room furnitures are bare minimum and also somewhat worn. Phones are old fashioned and wifi is free but sometimes works and sometimes not. Shower are slow and low flow, not efficient. You have to either walk or taxi to places, not close to MRT, not close to business or shopping. Getting taxi is a hassle. This hotel is next door to Shangri-La Hotel so I walked next door to pay for the expensive Shangri-la breakfast.

The front desk is semi-helpful but very stiff. It is housed in a glass enclosure with is de-tatched from the main lobby. You can easily tell this was NOT a hotel but the hotel business was added later on as an "add-on".

Somehow I got the feeling this is a government-owned or government-related premise.

I would not want to stay here again.

Room Tip: would not stay there next time
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Youngleungtung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

The hotel room is clean and very spacious. Reception is very accommodating. Free wifi, but Had a problem connecting to an iPad so I was not able to use the service at all. 20 to 25 mins walk to the main orchard road. Bus #190 will take you to the main orchard road with 2 stops only. Taxi is quite difficult and expensive. Overall, hotel was ok and I recommend for groups. The hotel is located just next to the Shangri-la hotel. Room also got balcony.

Room Tip: Higher floor away from the main lift.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnneHastie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Stayed here for 1 nights. Room was huge for Singapore hotel. The bed was 2 queen size bed if you take the twin room. Room was clean too. There's oven toaster in the room. The location was quite far from everywhere so you need to take taxi to go out. It would be a problem in busy hours in the morning. Would be perfect if they can offer shuttle to orchard.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Flyer0007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews