We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get what you pay for”
Review of Hotel Miramar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Miramar
Ranked #104 of 312 Hotels in Singapore
Cleethorpes, England
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Get what you pay for”
Reviewed March 10, 2011

This was a cheap stopover option on our way to Australia. The location was close by to Clarke Quay, and we found all the nearby bars and places to eat pretty pricey; so it was as cheap to eat and drink in the hotel if you didn't fancy going far. Orchard Road is the cheaper option to eat and drink, so you may wish to stay closer to there if that's a big part of your trip.

We were initially given a twin room upon arrival, that smelt pretty fusty. However, when we asked to be moved this was done immediately and the king sized bed room was fresh, clean and comfortable.

The staff were helpful and friendly, in particular the bar staff and the general view was that the Singapore Slings were much nicer (and more reasonably priced) than at raffles.

They had a free shuttle to Orchard Road in the day, so shopping was easy enough, although it must be said that taxis in Singapore are really cheap and easily available, so getting round isn't a problem.

All in all it's a reasonable hotel, perfectly adequate for a stopover - and yes you do get what you pay for.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank swampduckgy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

951 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    463
    227
    51
    24
See reviews for
164
449
70
94
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Folkestone, England
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2011

This is my third visit to the Miramar and it functions as efficiently as ever. Excellent hotel for a stop over as it is so well organised.It has on the 4th floor an excellent outdoor pool, which is a great attraction for myself and my wife. It is situated adjacent to Clarks Quay where many restaurants and bars are set. The food is good and i can recommend it. If travelling by Singapore Airlines and using the hotel as a stopover one gets on food a 50% reduction. In these times with a falling pound, not to be sneezed at.. The staff are friendly and efficient and the beds are comfortable
Alastair Craig
Folkestone.

Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Alastair Craig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2011

The hotel is in a great location near the river and about 10mins walk from Clarke Quay. The rooms are a good size, nicely furnished, well maintained and spotlessly clean. The staff were extremely helpful - we were given a river view room and a late check out until 2pm for no extra charge. The pool area is extremely nice, surrounded by trees and with a jacuzzi - my only complaint (and it's a small one) would be a lack of sunbeds. In terms of value for money this is an excellent choice as it considerably cheaper than other hotels of a similar standard nearby. I would definitely book this hotel again.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary_Bangkok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2011

Excellent service, within easy walking distance to MRT trains, nice walk along river to Clarke Quay, Food could not be faulted (breakfast) would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank collywollyWirral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
554 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 251 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2011

We stayed up on the 14th floor, with a view over the river and front entrance. There are no shops nearby but a petrol station just up the road for all small things/items you might want....including fresh milk and biscuits....the hotel supplies tea/coffee and powdered milk,... so fresh milk is welcome...The hotel has a laundry system but you have no iron, it is costly and they tend to describe the clothes as the more expensive item then what you put down...it cost us $78 for 5 items....3 pairs of trousers..one gents long..... two ladies 3/4 trousers and one of each tee/polo shirts....Interent access is $12 for 3 hours continuous.....so a bit on the pricey side...The staff are very friendly and helpful and the hotel did accommodate us for extra hours due to early arrival and late departure....but still at a price....There is a large swimming pool up on the 4th floor, which is very clean and fresh looking.....the dining area around reception is a little cramped and new people who have just checked in have to walk past you to get to the lifts with luggage....

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank babe33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi
1 review
Reviewed January 26, 2011

The hotel was very clean and the rooms are fairly spacious. While the location isn't ideal it does give good access to plenty of restaurants. The lack of free wi-fi in the lobby means you are stung for $28 per day! No free papers were provided either. Staff were very unhelpful to the point of being rude, particularly when personal items went missing from our room. Not very happy with the value for money and certainly would not stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeraldWiley2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2011

My partner and I stayed at Hotel Miramar for one week in early January 2011.

Upon checking in, we were pleased to have been given a room on the top floor, with exceptional views. However, just prior to being handed the room key, one of the employees suddenly switched our room and gave it to another guest. We were then given a room on a lower level with no views.

Whilst we can't be certain, we strongly suspect that our original top floor room was given to a "Local". Needless to say, we were extremely disappointed about the sudden change of rooms and we also couldn't help but feel that we were discriminated against.

Our room was a major disappointment, as it had an unpleasant mouldy/musty smell and was quite small (unlike the photos portrayed on the website).

On our second day, we left a number of long cotton threads and large clumps of cotton lint (from newly purchased clothes) on the carpet next to the bed. Remarkably, housekeeping never bothered to vacuum this mess and it stayed on the carpet for the remaining six days of our stay.

We also found the staff to be very unwelcoming and most of them ignored us completely, we truly felt uncomfortable and out of place. We even needed to hail our own taxis!

We’ve travelled extensively over the past 22 years, visiting over 14 countries for both business and pleasure. However, we have never had such a poor experience as we did with the Hotel Miramar.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RCBSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Furama RiverFront
#99 of 312 in Singapore
2,290 reviews
The Quays
Four Points by Sheraton Singapore, Riverview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Quays
Park Regis Singapore
Park Regis Singapore
#49 of 312 in Singapore
3,487 reviews
The Quays
Park Hotel Clarke Quay
Park Hotel Clarke Quay
#51 of 312 in Singapore
3,910 reviews
Furama City Centre
#263 of 312 in Singapore
2,621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Miramar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Miramar

Property: Hotel Miramar
Address: 401 Havelock Road Hotel Miramar, Singapore 169631, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#34 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#88 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Miramar 4*
Number of rooms: 346
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tower Hotel located in city center, within walking distance of Orchard Road & Chinatown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Fastbooking, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda, Ctrip TA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Miramar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Miramar Hotel Singapore
Hotel Miramar Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing