We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Holiday in Singapore”
Review of Hotel Miramar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Miramar
Ranked #106 of 308 Hotels in Singapore
Albury
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Holiday in Singapore”
Reviewed December 25, 2013

After spending 7 days in Phuket we had four days in Singapore. We stayed at the Miramar and found it to be excellent. The room was lovely, the staff so very obliging and the best part was the Buffet each night. We had planned to eat out but the food was so good we decided to eat in.

Room Tip: Any room overlooking the river would be good, interesting to watch the boats going up and down.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keentravellersAlbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

938 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    455
    224
    50
    24
See reviews for
162
444
69
90
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Quezon City, Philippines
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2013

Our international agency had its workshop in Singapore on December 16-20, 2013. There were about 50 participants from Europe & Asia although only a few were billeted elsewhere. Our daily activity starts with a buffet that literally "breaks the fast" with a wide assortment of western and oriental food. Just like noisy schoolchildren, the group would be fetched every morning from Hotel Miramar and brought to the Singapore General Hospital where the workshop was held; in the afternoon we were brought back. A Welcome Dinner was provided by the hotel on Day 1: again the buffet satisfied our hungry stomach from the day's work. It also brought the participants to a tour of River Safari in the afternoon of Day 4.
The Hotel provided shuttle services to the spectacular Orchard Road where everything in Singapore seems to revolve (and every department store offers its Christmas sale).

Room Tip: Choose rooms facing the Singapore River
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TEOFILO JR S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2013

We requested a non smoking room which we got checking in was not good we were early the they forgot us completely so in the end we had a long wait. the hotel is situated in a excellent position short easy walk to the river side restraints .we caught the tour bus which was good?You will need plenty of money as Singapore is very expensive.Plenty of taxi available at the airport to your hotel and cheaper than booking through a travel agent by half.Do make sure you more than double check your taxi on departure as it took 3 attempts to secure the booking as it was not booked in the first 2request!

Room Tip: We had floor 13 room 10 which is a non smoking floor and non smoking room and they said no 13 is ver...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2013

This hotel like the one I stayed in in Hong Kong has got to be the best ever!!Service second to none staff helpful warm friendly!rooms clean and tidy-nothing was too much trouble-they truly make you feel special!I would go back in a heart beat!!!!Excellent location to everything!!!

Room Tip: Just make sure you book
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shamusr07840
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bundaberg, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2013

My cousin and I stayed at the Miramar for three nights in November 2013. Initially we were booked into a smoker's room - it hadn't occurred to us that smoking in rooms was allowed, so we didn't think to request a non-smoking room. However, when we requested a room change, the staff was very obliging and prompt in transferring us to a more suitable room. The twin room was clean and quiet, despite overlooking a main road, and its size was perfect for the two of us.

We found the staff at the Miramar to be very professional, efficient and helpful. Their staff training is clearly directed at ensuring that all guests' needs are satisfied and they apply themselves to their work with courtesy and a smile.

The Miramar is not close to an MRT station. However, this is not a problem. A number 51 bus travels from near Clarke Quay (the nearest MRT) and stops outside the Miramar. This bus can be accessed across the road to take you to Clarke Quay. However, a more pleasurable trip can be had on a Singapore River Cruise. Walk across the overhead bridge which is outside the hotel. When you step off the walkway, turn right and walk around the buildings on your left. At present, there is a vacant allotment just before the traffic bridge which crosses the river. Walk through the allotment towards the river. Turn left and you should see a small kiosk advertising the Singapore River Cruise. Note that it opens at 10 am on week-ends, otherwise it's 9 am (I think.) For $3 you can travel down the river to Marina Bay, stopping en route at Clarke Quay. Delightful.

If you wish to go to Orchard Road, be aware that a free shuttle bus collects passengers from several hotels (including the Miramar) and delivers to Orchard Road. When we enquired at the hotel, we were advised to take the Hop-On bus ($33) for an overall tour of Singapore. We knew what we wanted and that was to visit Orchard Road - insist on the shuttle bus if that's what you want. It’s best to change currency in Orchard Road than in any of the hotels. You’ll get a much better exchange rate in Orchard Road.

(While thinking of shuttle buses, be aware also that you can be delivered to your hotel from the airport for $9 per person. Go to the Ground Transport desk when you clear customs.)

To get around Singapore, it really is worth buying a Singapore Tourist Pass from selected MRT stations. These range from $8 for one day; $16 for two days or $20 for three days. A $10 deposit is required but can be redeemed at any MRT within five days. This pass is also for use on public buses.

I've digressed from my review of the Miramar. However, the information I've given is from our experience gained while staying at this hotel.

Our travel agent stated that we'd been booked into four-star accommodation. When we saw the first room - the smoker’s room - we were quite disappointed. We would have rated it two-star by Australian standards. However, our next room was an improvement. We were both impressed by the cleanliness (a feint smell of bleach in the linen always impresses me!) The room did not have that musty smell that some motel rooms have.

Many of our fellow guests were Australians, so we felt quite at home. Breakfast comprised dishes to suit both Western and Asian tastes. We paid $26 for buffet breakfasts including fruit, eggs, toast, pastries and coffee. The hotel also has a bar that offers entertainment.

This hotel has a well-equipped gym (had we been inclined to want to work off our huge breakfasts) and a swimming pool in a delightful setting. Both are worth a look. If we'd stayed longer, we'd have taken advantage of the pool. In fact, we regret that we weren't booked in to the Miramar for the three days at the end of our stay.

We enjoyed our time at the Miramar. We felt safe at the hotel and when walking (and getting lost) in the surrounding streets.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a non-smoker's room if this is what you need.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank HHaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orpington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
136 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2013

We found this hotel very well located; we could walk to all sorts of places - Chinatown, the Skypark, Raffles, Fullerton hotel (to see its colonial architecture) etc.

We arrived late afternoon and after an intial hiccup - (we had not thought to specify a non-smoking room and initially got a room which stank of smoke, but the porter arranged our move to another room very quickly and moved our luggage for us) - we got straight into the super hotel pool and jacuzzi.

The first night we were annoyed that we could not pull the curtains but the next day found another
pair of curtains hidden behind the decorative ones which we could pull right across.
We didn't eat in the hotel as we had an excellent value meal in Chinatown one day and had Raffles High Tea the next.

Singapore was very hot while were there and the hotel readily gave us use of a courtesy room to shower and change before we travelled to the airport at the end of our final day.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StellaCaroline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockhampton, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 3, 2013

We had a party of 6 and stayed for 7 days. Travel agent did not request non smoking room for us and we were booked into smoking rooms, but hotel staff managed to place us in non smoking. Comfortable beds , lovely showers, helpful friendly staff. We found the restaurant had good food and we received a discount for being guests. Great position on the river with lots of eatery places across the road down on the river. Easy walk to China Town and Clark Quay. Bus stops in front of hotel . Shuttle to MRT. Staff booked attractions for us and we even got a discount.
Jenny M. Qld. Aust.

Room Tip: Make sure you tell your travel agent to book non smoking if that is what you want and then after boo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 768Jennifer_53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Furama RiverFront
#104 of 308 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,219 reviews
The Quays
Four Points by Sheraton Singapore, Riverview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Furama City Centre
#274 of 308 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,494 reviews
The Quays
Park Hotel Clarke Quay
Park Hotel Clarke Quay
#49 of 308 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,772 reviews
Peninsula Excelsior Hotel
#115 of 308 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4,246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Miramar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Miramar

Property: Hotel Miramar
Address: 401 Havelock Road Hotel Miramar, Singapore 169631, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#34 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#88 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Miramar 4*
Number of rooms: 346
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tower Hotel located in city center, within walking distance of Orchard Road & Chinatown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Fastbooking, Agoda, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Miramar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Miramar Hotel Singapore
Hotel Miramar Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing