We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, friendly staff and fabulous food”
Review of Hotel Miramar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Miramar
Ranked #107 of 316 Hotels in Singapore
Reviewed October 16, 2013

I was very impressed with the cleanliness of the hotel . The rooms were a good size. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Nice pool. The only negative thing I would say is it is a little far out and there is no MRT near by so lots of walking or taxis - but they are very cheap to use so we managed to get around no problem

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
Thank pippaodm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (963)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Miramar
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

488 - 494 of 963 reviews

Reviewed October 15, 2013

We stayed here 2 years ago and as we would have limited time (overnight only, from 6.30 pm till airport shuttle at 5 a.m.) decided to go with what we knew. Clean, functional, very cheap as part of Singapore Stopover Hotel special which included airport shuttle and 50% off hotel restaurant meal. Service very good, 3rd bed not in room at checking but fixed immediately, safe locked closed but also attended to immediately.Beds super comfortable and while sheets had a few marks on them it was clear they were clean.Ate buffet meal which was great at half price.Didn't use wifi, too expensive for such a short stay. Disappointed that pool closes at 7 which meant after long flight from London we only had 30 minutes. Bathrobes and slippers cute. Didn't have breakfast. Room nice and quiet. If we had such a short transit again I would probably use Changi Transit Hotel so we can use pool immediately and for longer.

Room Tip: Had room 905 facing pool.quiet and good airconditioning
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hotelpools46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

This was a typical city hotel with its focus seeming to be on making money not necessarily providing great service. It's location is ok but it is a reasonable walk to the closest MRT stations.

Without telling us we were put in a room on a smokers floor. The room stunk of stale smoke. When we asked if we could change to a non smoking room our request was dismissed.

The restaurant was expensive so we out and had dinner each night in China Town where the food was excellent and cheap.

Room Tip: If you are a non smoker try to not get onto a smokers floor!
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rousesonholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Hotel was functional and clean and tidy, but suffers from the typical city hotel. Expensive bar and restaurant, although staff very helpful. Singapore was wonderful, but surprised by how expensive it was. The locals are fantastic and the city wonderful, but hotel distinctively average

Room Tip: Go to the local bars for a drink
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank witney78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

When this hotel was booked it was Grand prix weekend and the prices were very high. Five star prices for 3 star hotel. The entrance was very nice, but the staff looked like they had passed down uniforms which didn't fit very well. Reception was average. The room was very disappointing, carpet must have been 30 years old, very dark and dirty. Bathroom was very dated but very clean, the housekeeping lady was really great and looked after us very well.
I cant believe in this day and age no FREE wifi, I had arrived after travelling in Europe and the UK for two months and this was the ONLY hotel where wifi was not free. The Restaurant in the hotel was very over priced, fortunately there were plenty of cafes etc along the river, a five minute walk away.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brook12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

I have been very happy with the service at the hotel. Across the road is a great little cafe to have breakky and a good coffee at a good price on the river front.The pool is clean and great for lapping. I booked thru an agency and I got a good pice. All staff are friendly and it's very clean. Close to Chinatown which is a delight early morning if u don't like crowds. 30'minute walk to Orchard Road if u like to shop.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
4  Thank huntinginthejungle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Have stayed here a week and would comment as follows:
Location is excellent and the staff is very friendly and nice.The MRT transport is only about 15 minutes walk to Chinatown and there are beautiful walks down the river side to Clarkes KeyMRT too.
Breakfast - Unvarying and not particularly good, even when it wasn't so busy they constantly ran out of bowls and plates.
Internet we believe was a total rip off. Although they advertise Wi Fi there is nowhere in the hotel to get it free. We paid S$80 extra to have it in our roomfor the week and then found we were restricted to only one device at a time and the connection kept dropping. Took forever to download anything and when we complained we were told just to look under the desk and switch the router off and switch it on again - this did not improve the service of course. Even coffee shops have free wi fi these days and a hotel like this you would expect to have it somewhere but it was not the case, you had to pay and the service was rubbish when you did. One step up from the old dial up connection - bit like the hotel.
The sheets although clean often had holes and rust marks, towels very thin. In the pool area they often ran out of beach towels and you were left with the old threadbare room towels.
To come in and out - you've to walk through the restaurant and that includes with your cases as the elevators are at the end of the restaurant.
The pool area and garden surrounding it is really beautiful but no easy service for drinks or snacks. Both shower units by the pool were so stiff they couldn't be turned on so you always had to walk back to the changing rooms to rinse off. Little things but so many mount up to make the hotel less attractive.
The bed was firm but we like it that way and slept very well, nice pillows.

Room Tip: We had a highfloor facing the road but we were not disturbed and slept very well.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Angie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
The Quays
Four Points by Sheraton Singapore, Riverview
Furama RiverFront
#97 of 316 in Singapore
2,385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Quays
Park Hotel Clarke Quay
Park Hotel Clarke Quay
#56 of 316 in Singapore
4,132 reviews
The Quays
Studio M Hotel
Studio M Hotel
#185 of 316 in Singapore
2,286 reviews
The Quays
Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Miramar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Miramar

Address: 401 Havelock Road Hotel Miramar, Singapore 169631, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#34 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#91 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range: $132 - $417 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Miramar 4*
Number of rooms: 346
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tower Hotel located in city center, within walking distance of Orchard Road & Chinatown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Fastbooking, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Miramar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Miramar Hotel Singapore
Hotel Miramar Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing