We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good choice in Singapore”
Review of Hotel Miramar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Miramar
Ranked #119 of 319 Hotels in Singapore
Reviewed June 10, 2013

This was our second stay at the Miramar. It is a pleasant hotel with clean rooms and friendly staff. Having a fridge in the room is a bonus. The hotel is within walking distance (along the river) to many restaurants. There is also a restaurant on site. There was a lively wedding reception on the ground level when we were staying, but we could not hear anything in our room. There are 2 hospitality rooms so that you can have a shower if you have a late flight. The only down side is that the beds can vary from soft to very hard depending on the room. For those preferring a particular type of bed it would be a good idea to check out your allocated room before unpacking your luggage.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank station
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (986)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

559 - 565 of 987 reviews

Reviewed June 7, 2013

Quite a tired hotel, our room was okay, only up side was the kimono style gowns that were supplied. Won't stay again!! Singapore is very expensive we went with the intension of spending money on less expensive gadgets but they are a lot less in the UK. This is not a cheap destination......

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sstewles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Have stayed here on stopovers to New Zealand, providing you don't travel Chinese new year
when it is very booked you can usually get into your room about 8 am (check in usually 2pm)
which is very handy if you arriving on an early flight and tired. Restaurant serves good breakfast, lunch and dinner or eat out. Pool and spa always clean, check out is usually 12 noon, but you can leave your luggage with the porter if you have a late flight, and still use
the Hotel facilities even the pool, as there is a hospitality suite where you can shower etc, free!
We have used this when we have had a late night flight. Rooms are clean, huge beds! Staff
are excellent.

Room Tip: Overlooking the pool is nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank RoyLBexhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

This hotel is very conveniently located with good restaurants inly a 3 minute walk along the river.The rooms are on the large size which is nice with comfortable beds and modern facilities,The HOHO bus stops right outside the hotel too

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kathleen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights in May 2013, like other reviews, I agree it looks a little tired. But our room was clean and attended too each day. Booking in was good, they let us in about 10.30, they could have made us wait till 14.00. They don't advertise any offers they do - other reviews have suggested half price breakfast if you flew with Singapore Airlines and a shuttle bus into Orchard RD, but we didn't see this advertised. We could have asked, the staff were quite approachable, but we made use of the short walk to the MRT.
Right next to hotel, is a petrol garage with shop, the shop is great for everyday drinks and snacks. It is cheaper then the 7 11 convenience stores you will see dotted around. There was a small fridge in room, with tea and coffee/kettle. But if your a coffee lover, take your own 2 in 1 sachets- theirs not so good. No hair dryer in room. A large enough safe in room free of charge.
Internet is $10 SGD for 3 hours, or a 24 hour pack - unsure of price. The connection was good, we had an ipad mini with us.
You will need a credit card on check in, they reserve $50 SGD against it.
The tour guides are helpful, have a variety of tickets - we bought our cable car tickets to Sentosa Island from them for only $2 SGD above the price, their commission if you like and it meant we beat the queues - worth it for this.
If you cross over road, you can either turn right and walk to the Quay front, this side has few restaurants/shops on route or cross over road and walk over the bridge then turn right, walk along the riverside, which is very pleasant, within minutes you reach the first restaurant at bottom of bridge, then a parade of restaurants. Carrying on walking for another 15 minutes, you reach Quayside, a village of entertainment- restaurants/bars/pubs with a plaza called Central which has all the shops you might need. This area is expensive be warned.
There are plenty of ATMS and most places take card. Even the taxis take card now, for a small admin fee.
The MRT station is here too, although they are building another closer to the hotel called Fort Canning- this will cut your 15-20 minute walk to MRT to a 5-10 min walk - great!!!!
The MRT is $1.20 SGD for a single short trip- be aware you must buy a single trip ticket from the machine and try to have correct change, often they don't give change. The MRT is very easy to use, see if you can get yourself a little map as it is very busy down there in your normal rush hour times, staff were happy to help, but it was quite a queue to be told to go and queue for the machine- never mind.
If your a chocolate lover, try Laurent Bernard Chocolate Cafe- cross over bridge it's on this side, walk for 10 minutes- just the best.
We didn't do breakfast or food here so can't comment on this.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank chuffie_echo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

We stayed for two nights in early May and were very happy with the decor, the view from our room, the pool, and the proximity to the river and quays. We appreciated the understated but excellent Singapore service, hospitality and style.

Staff were very helpful, especially the bell hop and porter, who patiently weighed and stored our luggage to be collected later in the day when we returned for a shower and freshen-up before our late evening flight - all part of the service.

Room Tip: Level 14 back a bit but facing the river was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Philippa U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

This hotel could do with a coat of paint on the exterior but provides good value for money if you can get a rate that includes breakfast. The staff are fine particularly the concierge who is very helpful. Not an exotic stopover base but practical and workmanlike. The deluxe rooms are adequate and cleaned very well. The restaurant staff will offer a la carte breakfast choices but go for the buffet if you want value for money.

Room Tip: High floors front, have a good view of the Singapore River.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2_Romantics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Tiong Bahru
Link Hotel
Link Hotel
#141 of 319 in Singapore
313 reviews
Furama RiverFront
#96 of 319 in Singapore
2,574 reviews
Kampong Glam
hotel clover 33 Jalan Sultan
hotel clover 33 Jalan Sultan
#149 of 319 in Singapore
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Re!
#147 of 319 in Singapore
801 reviews
The Quays
Four Points by Sheraton Singapore, Riverview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Miramar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Miramar

Address: 401 Havelock Road, Singapore 169631, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#35 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#100 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range: $110 - $427 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Miramar 4*
Number of rooms: 346
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tower Hotel located in city center, within walking distance of Orchard Road & Chinatown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Fastbooking, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Miramar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Miramar Hotel Singapore
Hotel Miramar Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing