We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Summer View Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Summer View Hotel
Ranked #97 of 304 Hotels in Singapore
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Convenient location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Location was good but hotel bedroom was very poor. Room for 3 adults was very cramped with no window which was disappointing! We were so tired after our flight fro London we were too tired even to complain about the room. Staff where excellent very helpful and could not do enough for us.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank EilishN64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    176
    123
    19
    19
See reviews for
129
107
34
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Thank you Mel and Sitti for making our stay at Summer View Hotel a memorable one! They treated us like family from the day we checked in till our final stay. Room was always clean. Location is near MRT, taxi stand is in front of the hotel and the bus station is just across. Bugis is 2 blocks away . Air con functioning well!

Room Tip: look for Mel to assist you and give you tips and ideas on touring Singapore and for best finds. Even...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jb B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caboolture, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

My husband, 11 year old son and I stayed here for two nights. We booked for a queen bed plus a single and ended up with 3 single beds. As another advisor mentions, the Windows don't open so you have to have the aircon on all the time. The building is fairly old and dated but it is located right near Bugis Markets which is good.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NYC082013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Level Contributor
281 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

The property is old but location is outstanding. Rooms are generally larger than average Singapore hotels. Fairly clean. A tea coffee maker. Airconditioning works well. TV in all rooms. Breakfast is simple but gets you going.

Staff is very friendly

Room Tip: Request a room on the higher floors with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank roundtabler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon City, Philippines
Level Contributor
48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

A good place to stay if you're planning to stay in Singapore. You can walk from the nearest train station to the hotel, and there's a bus stop just in front of it. The shuttle going to Universal Studios also stops in this hotel.

Buffet breakfast serves delicious food. The dining area is small but is tolerable.
Hot/cold shower is available. The bathroom is well maintained.
The room size is adequate, minimalist. A good number of outlet available. Wi-fi is also available.
Very good ventilation, though our room has no windows. I guess it's normal there.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bloodydel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Great hotel, such friendly warm and hospitable staff, great welcome, even from the doorman!
A lovely roomy KS room, good facilities, would recommend.
Tariff includes breakfast, very reasonably priced.
No trouble storing some luggage for us! Will be back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tammyholmes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

We stayed at Summer View Hotel to break up the long flight from Greece to Australia. We arrived at Singapore at 5:00am, exhausted and frazzled from the heat and humidity, and expected to have to wait in the lobby until our room was ready. Official check-in is at 2:00pm, but to our surprise and great delight, we were allowed to take our room immediately, at no extra charge. It was such a relief and we couldn't thank the most friendly desk clerk enough. He and all the staff at the hotel were so helpful and accommodating. Absolutely wonderful service.

The location of this hotel was ideal for us, within walking distance to Orchard Road and the Little India district, train stations and bus stops. The Lemon 3 Thai restaurant next door (owned by the hotel) is reasonably priced and serves good food.

The hotel is old and the rooms smell a little, but it was neat, clean, air conditioned, and the bed was very comfortable with crisp white sheets. Perhaps a little overpriced, but the location and definitely the service we received (and early check-in!) more than makes up for this.

There was a certain charm about this place, including a gorgeous little souvenir shop in the lobby stacked high with all sorts of bizarre and wonderful curios.

We had a very enjoyable stay here.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa_333999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
0.0 mi away
Ibis Singapore on Bencoolen
Ibis Singapore on Bencoolen
#61 of 304 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 stars 5,863 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel YAN
Hotel YAN
#76 of 304 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 stars 170 reviews
0.1 mi away
BIG Hotel Singapore
BIG Hotel Singapore
#108 of 304 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 stars 1,183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Arcadia Hotel
Arcadia Hotel
#143 of 304 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 stars 28 reviews
0.2 mi away
V Hotel Bencoolen
V Hotel Bencoolen
#170 of 304 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 stars 1,137 reviews
0.3 mi away
Strand Hotel
Strand Hotel
#149 of 304 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 stars 357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Summer View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Summer View Hotel

Property: Summer View Hotel
Address: 173 Bencoolen Street Summer View Hotel, Singapore 189642, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore > Rochor
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #97 of 304 Hotels in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Summer View Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, ACCOR, Fastbooking, Odigeo, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Summer View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Summer View Singapore
Hotel Summer View
Summer View Hotel Singapore
Summerview Hotel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing