We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place, but watch your timing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Metropolitan YMCA Singapore
Ranked #68 of 223 Specialty Lodging in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great place, but watch your timing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

I lived in Singapore for 11+ years and return often.

The Metro Y is my favourite place to stay. It gives good value for money, is in a brilliant location (handy to the main drag and also to places like the Botanical gardens) and the facilities are adequate to my needs. The staff are accommodating and helpful.

Be warned though. The Y is presently under renovation. That means no swimming pool (apart from the tiny pool over at the apartments) and bothersome noises from contractors, drilling etc.

Something else to watch: the cheaper rooms have no window (that suits me fine) but others may find it off-putting.

Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank davidaburke51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine L, General Manager at Metropolitan YMCA Singapore, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear davidaburke51,

Thank you for penning a review of your recent stay.

I would like to thank you for your kind support all along, and I am greatly encouraged that you named us your favourite place to stay. Your gracious comments will be shared with the team.

The swimming pool is currently closed for inspection and preparation for a total rejuvenation. Our guests can look forward to a brand new aquatic experience by 2nd quarter 2014. We thank all of you for your kind patience and understanding.

I am also pleased to inform that the refurbishment work on the corridors (3rd and 4th guestroom floors) have been completed. I am truly sorry for the disturbances that you might have encountered.

Thank you once again, for your support. And I look forward to welcoming you back to The Y very soon!

Regards
Catherine Lee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    63
    23
    8
    7
See reviews for
44
19
16
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Caloundra, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

We enjoyed our 8 day stay at the Metro YMCA. Staff were friendly, helpful, knowledgeable. Food was good. We thought the accommodation was good value for money, particularly as it included breakfast and free internet. Rooms were quiet, clean and comfortable, though I did find that I struggled with not having a window. You could prob find somewhere closer to hub of activities, but a free bus runs into town quite often, and taxis are cheap. We enjoyed being close to the botanic gardens and visited them regularly. Overall, our accommodation felt safe, relaxed and comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kym m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine L, General Manager at Metropolitan YMCA Singapore, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Kym M,

Thank you for choosing to stay with The Y during your recent visit to Singapore, and also for taking the time to pen a review of you stay.

We are encouraged by your positive review, and it was our pleasure to be of service to you. Indeed, all rooms at the Metropolitan YMCA (Hotel) is inclusive of breakfast, to let our guests start the day on the right mode! Complimentary WIFI network is available throughout the building and in the guestrooms, I am glad that you find this helpful.

Thank you once again, and we hope to see you once again soon!

Regards
Catherine Lee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

We stayed for 18 nites in a family room that is equipped with kitchen facilities including fridge, microwave and a washing machine. Good size apartment for a family with young kids.

Location - close to Orchard Road, accessible by public transport or u can even hop on to the complimentary shuttle bus service by the hotel at designated times.

In-house restaurant serves a variety of food and the swimming pool and the gym are all well-maintained. Buffet breakfast has a good spread, both western and eastern food to cater for everyone!

The only thing that I observed was the apartments are not really soundproof. We could hear flushing of toilets from neighbours or even when they bash their doors at the middle of the nite. :(

The stove in my apartment was not in a very good working condition and hence we were not able to cook much. That is not a big problem for us since we eat out most of the time.

Overall, I am happy with the level of service given by hotel staff and they will go the extra mile if u need something extra. For example, hotel manager was more than happy to provide a non-slip bathroom mat for my young baby at no cost for. Kudos to that!

I would recommend this hotel to a family who is after a more homely place to stay with all the basic kitchen facilities thrown in if staying in a hotel room with the young ones is not an option. It is home away from home.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AsamJawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine L, General Manager at Metropolitan YMCA Singapore, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear AsamJawa,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your stay at our Metro-Y Apartments.

Our apartments are designed to be a cozy home environment, so I am really glad to hear that your stay was comfortable. Our guests staying at Metro-Y apartments is able to use the facilities and restaurant situated at the Metropolitan Y hotel, and its great that you find that convenient for you and your family.

Hope that the non-slip mat was helpful, the essence of our service to make your stay most pleasant as possible. It is regretful that the stove was not working well, my technical team has looked at the issue and will be replacing it.

Thank you once again for choosing to stay with us, and your recommendation to others. I look forward to welcoming you back to The Y very soon!

Regards
Catherine Lee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights and was lucky enough to have a great stay. We had one of the bigger rooms with 3 beds and a little kitchenette/dining area. I was quite comfortable with my bed and pillows. The hotel itself seems a bit aged but it is very clean. The swimming pool is very well maintained and only guests with keycards (which you can only get from the front desk) are allowed access to the pool area.

We had the buffet breakfast in the hotel every morning as part of the room package. Although it is not something one can rave about, the food selection is quite sufficient. There were always plenty of fresh fruits on the table so that was more than good enough for me.

The hotel is not far from Orchard Rd. The bus stop is only a short distance away from the front side of the building. We only had to pay S$1.10 per trip. You must have exact amount as bus drivers will not give change. By taxi, we only paid around S$6-$7 each way.

Jerous from the front desk was very helpful and assisted us each time we asked for his help. He certainly made us feel very welcome and at home at Metro Y. Our sincere thanks to him.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine L, General Manager at Metropolitan YMCA Singapore, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Hi Janet M,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. Your gracious comments are deeply appreciated, and passed on to Jerous and our team.

I am especially glad to hear that Metro-Y was like a home to you! We work hard to create a friendly and warm environment, comfortable for our guests like yourself. It is our great pleasure to serve you as well, and we look forward to your return soon.

Regards
Catherine Lee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

I stayed at this 3 bedroomed serviced apartment for 2 weeks. The staff were very helpful, the apartment clean with good facilities. I would thoroughly recommend this as a sort term stay. Very close to Orchard Road (by bus or taxi). Only downside is no shops or restaurants within walking distance.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John1234294265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine L, General Manager at Metropolitan YMCA Singapore, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Hi John1234294265,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay with our Apartments.

The Metro-Y Apartments and The Metropolitan Y hotel, next to each other, is actually 7mins walk from the nearest supermarket and restaurant (at 383 Bukit Timah Road). I am so sorry if this was not made known to you during your stay.

Apart from this, I am glad to hear that your stay was comfortable. Thank you for making us your choice of accommodation, and I look forward to welcome you to the Metropolitan Y once again.

Regards,
Catherine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rarotonga, Cook Islands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

Combining membership of Asia and Oceania Regions, with over 100 delegates and presenters, our choice of Metropolitan YMCA was indeed fortunate, The conference facilities were excellent, and the staff were so co-operative and helpful, and always checking on the satisfaction of the participants and presenters. The rooms were very well prepared and appointed - bathrooms very clean and functionally maintained. The meals were very generous and priced well, and again, the dining staff were most attentive and friendly. Most of all, the reception staff were welcoming and so helpful - not only with people for whom English was not their strong language, but also in their offers of guidance in using local transport systems and good tips with shopping and bargain-hunting. Definitely I would recommend the MYMCA for conference and accommodation and we will certainly be looking to stay there again for personal visits to Singapore.

Room Tip: Our delegates were spread throughout the 3 floors of accommodation and everyone was pleased.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine L, General Manager at Metropolitan YMCA Singapore, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Hi Tim W,
Thank you for taking the time to write this beautiful review!

Indeed, it was a great honor to be chosen as the venue for this prestigious Conference Week, and we are very pleased to hear that it was executed well.

Many do not know of our conference facilities, so do tell more people about us!

Your gracious comments are passed on to our staff members, and it was our pleasure to be of service to you and your delegates. Thank you once again, and I look forward to welcoming you back to The Metropolitan Y very soon.

Regards,
Catherine Lee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makati, Philippines
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

I stayed here from Oct 16-19
Just one bus and you can catch Orchard Center

My room is 322, wifi is suck, too weak...may be because me room in the conner...
Just yellow light, so will be a bit hard if you wanna read...

Buffet for breakfast is so so, not so good, not many foods, but fill immediacy when it's empty

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ThaoMK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine L, General Manager at Metropolitan YMCA Singapore, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Dear ThaoMK,

Thank you for choosing to stay with The Metropolitan YMCA in October 2012 and taking the time to review your stay.

Firstly, please accept my apologies that the WIFI signal was weak in your room, we have since looked at the connectivity and rectified this shortfall. Your feedback on the room lighting and breakfast were also noted and we have keep these information in view for our next upgrade.

Indeed, we are actually just a 5 mins ride away from glitzy Orchard Road! Thank you for pointing that out. I hope that during your next visit to Singapore, we will continue to have the honor to be your choice of accommodation.

Till then, best regards,
Catherine Lee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
1.9 mi away
No photo provided
Hotel 81 Fuji
#284 of 306 in Singapore
3.0 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
2.0 mi away
YMCA One Orchard
YMCA One Orchard
#23 of 223 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 902 reviews
2.3 mi away
Blanc Inn
Blanc Inn
#40 of 223 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
ABC Premium Hostel
ABC Premium Hostel
#93 of 223 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
9.2 mi away
Punggol Ranch Resort
Punggol Ranch Resort
#10 of 77 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
2.5 mi away
Blissful Loft
Blissful Loft
#178 of 223 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metropolitan YMCA Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metropolitan YMCA Singapore

Property: Metropolitan YMCA Singapore
Address: 60 Stevens Road, Singapore 257854, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 223 Specialty Lodging in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Metropolitan YMCA Singapore 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just a stone's throw away from dazzling Orchard Road and nestled amidst refreshing greenery just minutes away UNESCO World Heritage Site The Singapore Botanical Gardens, The Metropolitan Y is sure to delight you during your stay in Singapore. 98 Well appointed rooms and 27 apartments/suites, you are sure to find one to meet your needs. Friendly and knowledgeable Front Desk agents are ready to help you co-ordinate your stay in fabulous Singapore! We are a non-profit social enterprise, all our proceeds goes towards our community work locally. When you stay or dine with us, you help us in our greater purpose! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Metropolitan YMCA Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropolitan Ymca Singapore Hotel Singapore
Metropolitan Ymca Hotel Singapore
Ymca Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing