We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$132
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
Agoda.com
$107
View deal
Vio.com
$104
View deal
Priceline$147
Trip.com$117
eDreams$132
View all 14 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (225)
Filter reviews
225 results
Traveler rating
81
92
33
10
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
81
92
33
10
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mrt station few minutes walk memorable stay comfortable stay food court stevens apartment orchard retreat renovation kitchenette quarantine convenience laundry chinese
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
159 - 164 of 225 reviews
Reviewed October 19, 2012

This was our second stay at the YMCA within 6 weeks.
I will only go into details about major differences from the first review.

I have to mention the first time we stayed at a basic room, now we had a deluxe room as all basic rooms were booked.

Unfortunately it already started no so good when we were greeted with a weird look from the receptionist. After my initial "Hello, we have a reservation." he answered with "Today?". Still we managed to check in. Now for our 220 SGD including tax room per night, no one showed us the room or bothered to help with the luggage, which they did the first time.

The unconfurtable part started during the second night. First our room neighbours were pretty loud until about midnight. The big problem was that the started shouting again around 7 am in the morning, so I did call the reception to complain. They told me to send someone up to have a look. The result was more shouting and phone ringing for the next 30 minutes. When we went downstairs for breakfast, we saw that it was not other guests but the cleaning stuff who made the noise. At the reception no one looked at us, said something or bothered about an excuse.

As we had a flight later that day we packed up and checked out. Just when leaving the hotel, a women came up to us and introduced herself as the Customer Relations Manager and asked if we would fill out a review form. We agreed and told her that we have to go to the airport and she said it won't take long and she will just go and grap the forms. After 5 minutes waiting for her, we left and went to the airport.

We are not sure what changed in this 6 weeks between the two stays but it felt like two different hotels.

Date of stay: September 2012
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
9  Thank Berickus
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

For the price, you are getting good value. Clean rooms. Decent breakfast. Good location. Helpful staff. Excellent WiFi speed. But beware if you are a light sleeper. Sounds travel and the rooms are very close to each other. Bring earplugs.

Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Laila H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

We stay the the YMCA for 4 nights beginning of September after 1 month India. We were so happy that we got this place.
A bit off the main roads which means quiet in the morning it was the perfect spot.

As already mentioned it is only 5 stops from Orchard Rd and they offer a free shuttle service to Orchard in the morning which is great.

Pros:
- Perfectly working wifi
- Pool in the backyard
- Good washing machines and dryers (a bit expensive but still ok)
- Good breakfast buffet
- Great lunch and diner buffets
- Really friendly and helpful staff

Cons:
- After midnight you have to walk or take a taxi to get back
- Shuttle bus only in the morning

We had a good time there and were able to wash all our clothes within half a day ourselfs with dryers and ironing (if needed). The rest of the time we enjoyed the time in Singapore.

Date of stay: September 2012
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
2  Thank Berickus
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

I stayed in this hotel for 6 nights between 3/9 and 9/9 2012. The triple room is quite large with resonable price, and the toilet is good and large. Overall speaking is clean and neat.
This YMCA is near Orchard Road where lead you to everywhere in Singapore. Shuttle bus provided from hotel to Orchard Road, departs every hour on the hour, but only in the morning until 12 noon.
The buffet breakfast is just ok, good enough for a simply start in the morning.

Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kendy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

I was at this hotel for 5 night while looking for an apartment to live in Singapore (job related). It is only 3 bus stops from Orchard Rd., the buses run very often and they are cheap ($0.65). You will at least half of what you would normally pay on Orchard. The hotel is often used by group tours from China, Thailand or Vietnam so the staff lacks western "refinement" but nevertheless they are very helpful. The hotel is clean, the room are efficiently large, large breakfast is included. They also have serviced apartments (about $3000 per month). I would stay there again.
They have a pool and a gym but the former is used by the kids in a swimming program and the latter is rather simple. Not a hotel to spend time at the pool - this is a place to explore the city. Hop on the bus, you are on Orchard and from there you can go allover by the subway.

Date of stay: August 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jacektravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews