We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location but needs some refurbishment”
Review of York Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
York Hotel
Ranked #120 of 316 Hotels in Singapore
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Good location as very close to Orchard road and subway: 5 min to walk.
Rooms seem a little bit boring but functional.
Breakfast area: skip it and go directly to Starbucks. Just simple stuff and just too many people: many tourists and groups.
Staff is professional and friendly.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
Thank Stefan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,359)
There are newer reviews for York Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

552 - 558 of 1,359 reviews

Reviewed November 2, 2013

I stayed at the York for 3 nights on my way to Norway. The hotel is looks to be recently renovated and is very clean if not a bit sterile. Room size was great and bed comfortable with high quality linen.

Breakfast had a good variety of choices and frequently replenished though both the tea and coffee were horrible. No other meals taken at hotel.

Location is great. Walking distance to Orchard road with lots of shopping malls and eateries that the locals seem to dine at. Also close to stop for the hop on hop off bus.

My only criticism is that the staff could be a bit more friendly. They were very stand offish and with the exception of the food service staff, only gave assistance when asked. The other thing is their charging for internet usage at inflated prices. Overall, a good stay and I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carmel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013

Stayed here on the way home from Australia. Huge rooms... studio suites, really. Very clean and comfortable. Great location, stunning views. Not too much chance of a leisurely breakfast as it gets VERY busy. Would definitely return.

Room Tip: Great view from higher floors
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LibertiesBelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2013

We spent five nights here in October 2013. I was staying with my twin daughters (aged 6) and my mother. The family room is HUGE and our room was in an L-shape. We put my daughters into the double bed (which presumably normally mummy & daddy would use) and my mother and I took the two single beds. The room price included breakfast for 3 people.
There was free basic wifi which was fast enough to read email - remember you have to sign in every 24 hours as it doesn't remind you and you start wondering why it's not working. We asked and easily got extra pillows and quilts. We all thought the beds were comfortable.
There was Cartoon Network on the Cable TV which was very much appreciated.
The two drawbacks that I had with this room were, one: the 2 single beds and the lighting for the 'tea & fridge' are are connected, so we could not turn off the lighting for the fridge without also turning off the lights to the 2 single beds, which meant it was impossible for us to read in bed (we had to get up and switch off the lights across the room). THe other drawback was there was no 'night' light or dimmer switch in the bathroom. That's why I've not given a 5 start rating because of these two points. It was a bit annoying each night to do this.
Apart from that, the actual room was great.
The breakfast runs for a long time (6:30am - 10am) and we thought it was pretty good with mild variations daily.
We swam twice in the pool which was really lovely. It had sun in the afternoon and wasn't crowded.
The location of the hotel is excellent, just a 5 minute walk and you are in Paragon Shopping Centre on Orchard Road (which has an amazing food court if you like checking those out). Taxis are always waiting outside and when we left it was a 20 minutes ride to the airport.
The concierge team only seemed interested in selling tours to us. We found out it was cheaper to go in a taxi to the zoo than to take a package as recommended.
Overall I would definitely stay here again and recommend it to others that are travelling with children.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bbchris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

My family stayed in this hotel for 5 days last October 2013. The receptionist that greeted us upon arrival wasn't that welcoming, it felt like something/ someone was bothering him. Probably he was frustrated at something perhaps.

The family room was big, clean and cozy but I did not like the pillows because they were too thick. The location was great since it was very close to the shopping malls and restaurants were everywhere.

One time my family wanted to go to melaka malaysia

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kara Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

1) Situated very close to Orchard Road .. Singapore's main shopping district.
2) Value for Money .. SGD 225 to 250 ++ inclusive of B/F and Wireless Connectivity - when compared to any Hotel on Orchard Road which has SHD 400++ price tag
3) Basic but spacious Room
4) Neat and Clean
5) Breakfast - nothing to complain but again very basic

Room Tip: Take a Higher Floor - Non-Smoking Floor
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gajaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

A bit far from MRT stations, a slight walking distance from Orchard which is a bit trying for my lazy Jakartan feet. But a good experience once I get to the bedroom because of its size and comfortable bed.

When hungry and can't be bothered to travel by feet to the nearest mall, order the room service. Their char kwey tiauw and fishball noodles do not disappoint. Ideal in-room pleasure!

Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Ruby S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Orchard Road
Concorde Hotel Singapore
Concorde Hotel Singapore
#79 of 316 in Singapore
3,181 reviews
Orchard Road
Orchard Parade Hotel by Far East Hospitality
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Royal Plaza on Scotts
#47 of 316 in Singapore
4,435 reviews
Orchard Road
Mandarin Orchard Singapore
Mandarin Orchard Singapore
#73 of 316 in Singapore
10,091 reviews
Orchard Road
Orchard Hotel Singapore
Orchard Hotel Singapore
#74 of 316 in Singapore
3,502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to York Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about York Hotel

Address: 21 Mount Elizabeth York Hotel, Singapore 228516, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#69 Family Hotel in Singapore
#98 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range: $135 - $244 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — York Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 406
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your York Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
York Hotel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing