We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good central location, not quite 4 star...”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of York Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
York Hotel
Ranked #119 of 306 Hotels in Singapore
Ulsan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good central location, not quite 4 star...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

The location of the hotel is nice a central to orchard road, but I feel that the hotel rooms are getting a bit dated and could do with a renovation to keep up with the 4 stars, the room is ok, it can be a bit noisy as I was next to the lifts. The rooms need a good deep clean as it is slightly grubby, but not too bad that you wouldnt stay. The restaurant was pretty good I expected slightly more from a 4 star hotel but still good. Staff a helpful and friendly Though.

Stayed on business when I was there but it wouldn't be my first choice of hotel in Singapore if I'm on vacation.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CNLIALROKC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,293 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    209
    589
    350
    89
    56
See reviews for
536
244
65
179
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
95 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is terribly dated. It does not look like a 4 star hotel at all. The bellman serves as the concierge also. I was not impressed with service or look of this hotel. Food for breakfast was very average. Restaurant in a bad location on a wide corridor leading to elevators. It is a 10 min walk to Orchard St. I would definitely not stay here again until they refurbish and renovate entire hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheTravelerDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Singapore hotels

Murwillumbah, Australia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

I've stayed at the York on and off over the years and this trip realised it's getting tired. I was up graded to a deluxe room, which I appreciated, however it simply was a larger room with less furniture to put luggage on than the regular rooms.
Our room Queen bed was aligned so that the TV is on the wall on the right of the bed - not directly in front of it. There is a single tub chair in front of the TV - but where does the Husband sit???
The room was also not cleaned very well and if someone had previously stayed on the top floor of this hotel and are missing their socks, I have them.
The York always been a bit of a bargain due to it's reasonable tariff and closeness to Orchid road. This trip - looking at what else we could have stayed in for the same rate, it's not the value it once was.
However the front desk service has IMPROVED! I previously had allocated at least 1/2 hour to check out of this hotel due to the long que in the morning. It's been pleasantly surprising to say this is no longer the case.
The restaurant is well priced and the food good. Staff are very attentive during service and quick to ensure you have all your needs.
Yorks Laundry staff continue to ensure you have what you want when you need it - even if you were late with the bag. If you use their laundry, suggest you call them to pick up directly.
We will not be back to the York - The Elizabeth across the road is a much better hotel and within the same price range.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank organicanni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northumberland
Level Contributor
55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

This hotel has a great location, 5 mins from the main shopping area on Orchard Road. It is a good choice for a family of 4 who want to share a room and keep costs down. The hotel is rather dated and tired. The rooms were large with good panoramic views. The beds were comfortable and we had a good night's sleep, but I would urge the management of this hotel, if they are reading this, to improve the cleaning of the rooms. Our room (1702) smelt fusty, the bathroom shower curtain was sour so smelt of pee and the bathroom needed a much better clean generally (dreadful black sink overflows reflected in the mirror, hairs in the bath). The windows were covered with sticky finger prints and smears which look awful at night and the carpet had some nasty stains by the window and needed a better Hoover in the corners. This is basic housekeeping and can easily be addressed.
Despite this, we had a decent stay here. The staff were friendly. If you have a late flight you can use the pool changing rooms to change and shower which is helpful and towels are provided even after checkout. Breakfast was a lacklustre affair, but omelettes were nice. All in all, it's an average hotel that could be made so much better by some simple improvements in housekeeping and catering.

Room Tip: Good views on high floors. Families can share rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mstraveller_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aiken, South Carolina
Level Contributor
343 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

The York Hotel is located near Orchard Road, the popular shopping district which is just a five-minute walk away. Also the subway station is near-by which makes it a accessible to almost everywhere in Singapore. The rooms were clean and tidy and were quite spacious. The staff was very helpful. Although my room did not include breakfast and breakfast was expensive, there were a couple of coffee/breakfast shops nearby.

Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Dale L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Jakarta Raya, Indonesia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

I was traveled with 3 of my cousins, and we stayed in a family room. The room was very spacious - more than enough for us, clean, and modern elegant type of room. Although we had a problem with the air conditioner (and it still hasn't worked until we checked out), but the staff was really helpful. The location was great also, near Orchard road, but you still have to walk 10-15 minutes. All of the staff we've met were helpful.

Room Tip: Frankly, I don't have much information about any other type of rooms, but my recommendation when...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank varnsz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

From the foyer to the room everything was great. We had an interconnecting room with 2 teenage boys. The rooms were fairly small but having 2 rooms made it easier. Friends had the family room and it was huge. The family room was actually cheaper than the 2 rooms and was bigger, so if happy to share with the kids the family room would be ok.

Room Tip: Choose a family room rather than interconnecting. The family room is heaps bigger and still works ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maggie0507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Orchard Road
Concorde Hotel Singapore
Concorde Hotel Singapore
#78 of 306 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,817 reviews
Orchard Road
Orchard Parade Hotel by Far East Hospitality
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Orchard Road
Mandarin Orchard Singapore
Mandarin Orchard Singapore
#74 of 306 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 9,309 reviews
Orchard Road
Grand Park Orchard
Grand Park Orchard
#90 of 306 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,708 reviews
Orchard Road
Holiday Inn Singapore Orchard City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to York Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about York Hotel

Property: York Hotel
Address: 21 Mount Elizabeth York Hotel, Singapore 228516, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#69 Family Hotel in Singapore
#95 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — York Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 406
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your York Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
York Hotel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing