We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good location with renovated rooms”
Review of York Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
York Hotel
Ranked #121 of 312 Hotels in Singapore
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Very good location with renovated rooms”
Reviewed May 25, 2013

I stayed for 3 nights at York Hotel. Rooms are spacious and comfortable completely renovated.
Is a very quite albeit central location and ideal if you have to go to Mount Elisabeth Hospital.
Internet connection is fast and the staff friendly.
Good Hotel for business, health related visits or as a tourist. MRT is a stone throw from the Hotel which is a pleasant wall if your bag o bars are not heavy. Surprisingly not so difficult to get a taxi there. Through the back Scotts Road is also very near. It was my first time in this Hotel and surely I will return.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JArrigorri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,338 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    218
    606
    361
    92
    61
See reviews for
559
251
67
185
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Breckenridge, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
390 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2013

The York is a nice hotel with a pool. Conveniently located near the Orchard Rd shopping and restaurants. The breakfast buffet was very good. Friendly staff, especially Rosemary who was very helpful.Near to the ION mall and the other malls. Can arrange sightseeing tours of the city.

Room Tip: Try to get one of the suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SiriusSkier23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paranaque, Philippines
Level 6 Contributor
233 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2013

I booked this hotel via Agoda at a little less than half the price. Thus, I was expecting $300+ a night service and value. I got my $150 a night service.
I chose the hotel for its location on Orchard and its free wi-fi. My family of 5 are heavy users. Unfortunately, they do not offer airport pick-up so we opted to take the train. The walk to the hotel from the MRT station did not take long but it was uphill. So brace yourselves. The rooms were not ready when we arrived there at 1:30. We had to leave the luggage and just come back after lunch.
I was a little disappointed with the concierge. Singapore has a law that forbids more than 4 passengers in a cab so the concierge hired a maxicab for us. It turns out that it was a fixed price cab that charged a pricey 45 Sing dollars per trip. I wish we were warned. Going back to the hotel after lunch, we took 2 metered cabs and spent all of 30 Sing dollars for 2 cabs.
Anyway, the rooms were ok but our only view was the adjacent buildings. They were clean and the towels were changed daily in spite of our hanging them up for re-use. I didn't particularly like their soap and shampoo. I was sort of expecting something more for the published rates of the hotel. At least the bathroom was big. There were not enough English channels available (only 5). In general. It did not really encourage staying in.
The elevators always smelled of the restaurant. Hotel business happened through the back entrance (along Mt. Elizabeth St.) and not the much prettier front entrance. The reception staff was all business and not enough niceness...but then again, this is Singapore.
Would I stay here again? Probably not. Lots of other hotels in Singapore.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank purplepinay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

We paid $1200 for 3 nights and chose the York because it advertised free wi-fi, something our family needed during our stay. The check-in staff seemed totally uninterested and offered no tips for getting around the area while we waited for our room to be ready.

Once we were in the room, wi-fi would not connect and whenever it did, the connection was lower than 100kbps and even simple pages like the Google homepage, Gmail and Bing were unable to load because the connection was SO SLOW. We called the reception and after we proved to them that they were forcibly throttling our connection, they suggested we pay for "premium" internet. This was after 2 and a half hours of "diagnosing" where they asked the same questions and repeatedly tried to blame all 3 of our laptops instead of their unbelievably slow connection.

The duty manager was sarcastic over the phone and completely dismissive when we went down to the lobby. For a city like Singapore with lightning fast internet at every corner, the speed in the hotel and the staff's cold and downright rude demeanor was a total turn off and one of the many reasons I wouldn't recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Pick a different hotel. You'll be glad you did.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jackson G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Singapore hotels

Adelaide, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

First impressions of the hotel weren't great - reception staff did not seem interested in being at work and when we approached the desk to check in, we were told to go to the other side of the desk to check in. This was a little bit ridiculous given the desk clerk was a metre away from 'the other side of the desk'. The bellboys didn't bother to take our bags so we ended up lugging them to our room ourselves.

We had a deluxe room on the fourth floor - the first thing that struck us when we got out of the elevator was the smell. It was the overwhelming odour of stale cigarettes and mildew. Unfortunately the smell didn't dissipate our entire stay.

The room was very spacious and the bed very comfortable. Wifi was generally ok for doing small things like checking emails. Location was fantastic - only a 5-10 minute walk to orchard rd.

Breakfast buffet was terrible - officially the worst I've ever had. Who makes mushroom scrambled eggs? Even the pastries were unappetising. I recommend not paying to have breakfast included and having a brunch somewhere on orchard rd.

Wouldn't stay here again as there are far better hotels in good locations with similar pricing.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jocus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2013

The rooms are large - and that is the only positive thing I can say about this hotel.

If you are used to the standards in Asia of the Shangri-la, Hyatt, Mandarin, Marriott, Ritz Carlton or any of the 5-star hotel groups you will be horrified by this hotel.

Bathrooms cannot have been renovated since the 1970s. There is no stand alone shower - you have to stand in the bath-tub.

The most striking thing about the room (and the bathroom) is how incredibly bare it is - and not in a sleek, minimalist way. Just bare. The walls are crying out for a painting, the surfaces for a single objet d'art. But there is nothing. The surfaces, such as the bedside tables, and the walls are 100% bare. The room looks like someone entered your room and stole everything moveable just before you checked in.

The final extraordinary thing is the TV, which is on the wall BESIDE the bed. Yes - BESIDE the bed. When I saw it I presumed it would swing out on some extension so as to be watchable from the bed - alas not. In any event the hotel has almost no cable channels, so you are not missing much even if the TV was in a position to be watched.

I can only imagine the positive reviews on this website are from large families of tourists who want the size of the rooms to squeeze in extra beds and plan to spend no time in the rooms whilst awake.

If you need to be in the room whilst awake - stay elsewhere. There are much better hotels at similar prices.

Room Tip: Unless you need a large room - stay elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BillM1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2013

Our family of 5 (2 adults, 3 young children) stayed for 4 nights. The family room was excellent value. The room was large and spacious. The extremely comfortable beds accommodated our horde well (they don't mind sharing). The bidet amused the children for a while. Location was great - just a short walk from the main shopping areas in Orchard road.
The staff were friendly and allowed me to use the business room computer and printer free of charge so we could check in and print our return tickets.
The breakfasts were the standard hotel buffet (eggs, bacon, cereal, etc) but with a twist. Each day there was a interesting new culinary experience to try (fried carrot cake was interesting).

We found the room needed dusting in the higher areas (our items placed on the top shelf of the wardrobe were covered in dust when we removed them) and there was no DVD player or movies for the kids.
Free Wifi was slow but adequate. There was an option to purchase higher speeds for S$12. We found connection was limited to one side of the room unfortunately.
Watch out for the added taxes and charges at checkout. We had $100s added to our bill from the booking figure. Another family checking out at the same were struggling to cover the extra as they had not expected it.
Just to stress - the Beds were extremely comfortable. The best we have experienced for a long time.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pacem_KT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Orchard Road
Concorde Hotel Singapore
Concorde Hotel Singapore
#76 of 312 in Singapore
3,040 reviews
Orchard Road
Orchard Parade Hotel by Far East Hospitality
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Royal Plaza on Scotts
#46 of 312 in Singapore
4,355 reviews
Orchard Road
Mandarin Orchard Singapore
Mandarin Orchard Singapore
#71 of 312 in Singapore
9,564 reviews
Orchard Road
Orchard Hotel Singapore
Orchard Hotel Singapore
#70 of 312 in Singapore
3,410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to York Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about York Hotel

Property: York Hotel
Address: 21 Mount Elizabeth York Hotel, Singapore 228516, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#69 Family Hotel in Singapore
#96 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — York Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 406
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your York Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
York Hotel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing