We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location ok, breakfast not good, rooms ok”
Review of York Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
York Hotel
Ranked #127 of 317 Hotels in Singapore
Reviewed September 23, 2012 via mobile

Went during the F1 so the prices were to the sky. Location wise is just ok, 7 minutes from orchard road and the orchard Metro. The breakfast was a big disappointment for a 4 star hotel. Not only there is a small selection of food but at the same time there were some dishes that were just not good. In general next time I will not stay in orchard. Marina bay is far better. York hotel is a quite old hotel that they had a renovation in order to keep the 4 star. I wouldnt go again.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pickypick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,384)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

746 - 752 of 1,384 reviews

Reviewed September 19, 2012

I chose the York because of its proximity to Mt. Elizabeth Hospital. However, I discovered that the Marriott (Scotts Road and Orchard Road) is closer and not on top of a hill like the York.

The hotel was very busy, with a lot of package tours. My room was OK, but showing its age. The bed was comfortable. The bathroom was small as were the towels. Only one (large) free bottle of drinking water supplied. Guests have to buy replacements but to be fair, Singapore is one of the few places in Asia where you can drink the tap water.

Limited selection of TV channels and no BBC which was surprising.

The breakfast buffet was mediocre and on my first morning, I was scolded by the omelette chef for queue jumping. It turns out I was in the "sunny-side up" queue and not the "omelette" queue. Only in Singapore!

The York has an obviously popular dining promotion - Penang Hawker food. This is a drawback for hotel guests because the large number of people, plus the design of the restaurant, makes for an incredible noise level. This is the only hotel where I have ever changed my mind about dining-in and have gone elsewhere.

It's a long walk up the hill from Orchard Road or Scotts Road and very tiring in the heat.

I won't stay there again. There are better choices.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mycroft47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

after the flight from London a family of 4 wants an easy check in and access to your room - even at 8am, this was provided and the room size and facilities were a credit to the hotel. Could do with some more English language tv channels but that's a minor point. The pool, spa and gym area were great - clean, good facilities and private despite the closeness to the road. Being a couple of minutes walk to Orchard Road gives you peace and quiet while also having that convenience.
We only eat breakfast in the hotel, and the international selection on offer was impressive. Would use again and would recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Palmytaff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Our initial dealings with the hotel where a bit awkward: 2 minutes after booking the room my credit card got charged for a non refundable night. Don't get me wrong, I don't oppose to this as the hotel needs to manage bookings and no-shows. However it stings a bit if you book 4 months in advance and they charge you for a no-show. Shortly after I got charged a second time but after some emails everything got quickly resolved.

The hotel staff is very friendly and our room was spacious, clean, slightly outdated but overall value for money. Location is convenient, close to orchard road and paragon shopping mall. Breakfast is ok with a good choice of Asian and continental food. As I was traveling with a baby, the stairs at the entrance proofed quite difficult but I believe a lift was under construction.

Room Tip: Not applicable as I got an upgrade due to an financial error of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Macroen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

Family of 4 stayed in a premier family room for 2 nights. I asked politely for early check-in, and received the room at 9am - very nice after a long flight. Room was large, comfortable and clean, staff were friendly and helpful. Proximity to Orchard Road was a plus, and far enough away to be quiet. The pool area looked inviting.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Synergy2506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

York Hotel is an excellent value for a Hotel so close the Orchard Road strip. My staff and I were attending a Food Expo and we found it a great place for Women business travellers to stay. It's close to Tangs, Takashimaya, Ngee Ann City and other great stores - fantastic after a day's work for eating or shopping. Breakfast in the Hotel is the standard fare, we ate breakfast at a Cafe most days.
Rooms were fine - some of my crew shared a room and had no complaints, plenty of room for 2 girls and there makeup!
As a seasoned visitor to Singapore have now made this Hotel my preferred choice. It's really value for money.
However, checking out is a pain. Make sure you leave at least 1/2 hour

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank organicanni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

York Hotel is quite close to Orchard Road and the big malls there, just a few minutes walking distance. That's a big plus. It's a bit uphill, but not bad. And the prices are OK, compared with all the other prices in expensive Singapore. On the whole, the house earns three and a half points.The staff is friendly and efficient. The rooms are big enough and on the whole they are clean, a bit dated, the view is that of the surrounding skyscrapers, but what do you expect? We didn't try the restaurant, but it looks nice. Breakfast was good, with a lot that is offered, it covers both European and Asian needs and wishes.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WalkaboutGermany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Orchard Road
Concorde Hotel Singapore
Concorde Hotel Singapore
#74 of 317 in Singapore
3,397 reviews
Orchard Road
Mandarin Orchard Singapore
Mandarin Orchard Singapore
#72 of 317 in Singapore
10,405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Orchard Road
Orchard Hotel Singapore
Orchard Hotel Singapore
#78 of 317 in Singapore
3,687 reviews
Orchard Road
Orchard Parade Hotel by Far East Hospitality
RELC International Hotel
#183 of 317 in Singapore
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to York Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about York Hotel

Address: 21 Mount Elizabeth Street, Singapore 228516, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#53 Family Hotel in Singapore
#101 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range: $126 - $235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — York Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 406
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your York Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
York Hotel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing