We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“ALL IS FINE BUT WHY PAY FOR WIFI ?” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Singapore

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Singapore
Ranked #62 of 304 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Bodegraven, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
105 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“ALL IS FINE BUT WHY PAY FOR WIFI ?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

All is fine in the Hilton Singapore.
Just the one question is why pay for WIFI ?
At the checkin I was suggested to go to the lobby area for free WIFI.
But I do get free electricity, water, airco and a toilet in my room and don´t have to go to the lobby for that. WIFI nowadays is an equally elementary traveller´s need and supposed to be free like in many other (much cheaper) hotels, McDonalds, StarBucks and the like.
When is Hilton (not just Singapore, many places) finally stopping this policy of milking out the customer? Please go back to hospitality marketing basics. Customer needs is what it´s all about................

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tejostr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    863
    896
    325
    74
    33
See reviews for
347
528
243
865
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (314)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We stayed 3d 2n in this hilton hotel. From beginning we checked in everything very smooth.
Our room nice, not big but not too small. they provided fruits near the lift, first day orange second day green apple.
reception very nice and professional and keep smile

Room Tip: This hotel in orchard road, buy Ezlink to use MRT instead of use taxi
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sourcity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We holidayed in South East Asia using Singapore as our base. On the way in we stayed at The Fullerton and on the way out The Hilton(to get a feel for different hotels). We were very underwhelmed by out experience at The Hilton. There really wasn't anything noteworthy other than the location. Room was small, bathroom was small, lobby area small but we half-expected that given that it is on Orchard Road, the prime shopping district in Singapore. However we expected the service to be much better given that it is the one factor that is within the hotel management's control. We had an early flight to catch and had asked for a car to be booked for early hours the next morning. We were even prepared to pay for a hotel car for the convenience. However, there was none! The hotel hasn't got it's own fleet of cars and we were simply told to flag down a taxi the next morning. This might not have been a problem usually, but as in our case, it was 6am on a Sunday morning. Needless to say, we had difficulties getting any taxis to stop and it caused unnecessary stress with 2 young children and our many bags in tow. The concierge ordered a taxi and when it came, we had another incident as another guest who been waiting claimed the taxi as his and it wasn't pleasant for all concerned.
In summary, unless you're planning on a shop-till-you-drop expedition, stay clear. Pay a bit more and head to The Fullerton. Lots of bars and restaurants and it's a nice stroll along Clark Quay.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ixxy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fishersville, Virginia
Level Contributor
182 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

What can I say? The staff is so well trained........always a smile and wonderful manners! I am a customer service person and it is at it's best here at the Hilton. It is an older hotel but well maintained, clean, convenient and near shopping. Having lived in Singapore 20 years ago, this is a yearly return trip and it's like coming home. It only gets better each year. If you have never been to Singapore, you are missing a wonderful place, the best food in the world and friendly service beyond compare!

Room Tip: We like the front of the hotel overlooking Orchard Road. Any room for us is fine!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PoppyC64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasschaat, Belgium
Level Contributor
74 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Since 10 years about, when I come to,Singapore I will stay at the Hilton Orchard Rd, good Pool, Gym, restaurant and very close to a good shopping area....
Very nice hotel indeed,
Well located, all facilities..
All staff is quite service minded, if you have a problem they will sove it ,!
I recommend,
Anthony Durot

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSingapore, General Manager at Hilton Singapore, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear Mr. Durot,

It is our pleasure to be your home away from home!

Your continued patronage is important to us and we are pleased that you have felt well-looked after for all these years. Thank you for your kind recommendation, we continue to be at your service and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Yours sincerely,
Alain Mahillon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

The service and rooms there second to none . We were really impressed with the staff who seemed genuinley friendly and always so polite ans willing to help . the location is great , lots of very nice restaurants nearby , and great shopping . Our room was well appointed , very nice ensuite , we reccomend highly

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank miles c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Stayed 2 nights prior a cruise. Traveling with 2 girlfirends, so we opted for the 1 bedroom suite with twin beds and a rollaway in the living room. We arrived late at night from our flight. Unfortunately despite the request for sleeping for 3, the room was not set up that way. Once we organised the rollaway, extra cups and glasses, robe etc it was fantastic. A really good choice for what we needed.
As we were on the club floor, breakfast and evening refreshments were complimentary. You could also use main buffet for breakfast comp. This did provide a greater choice but was much busier. Evening snacks were limited but OK. Actually, having stayed at the Singapore Conrad, I would say that the Club food was much better, but this hotel was more suitable with regard to the room.
Staff were friendly, particularly those assisting with cabs at the front. All in all a great stay and would definitely recommend to others travelling in a similar situation.

Room Tip: Confirm what you want several times prior arrival
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank auntynell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Orchard Road
Singapore Marriott Tang Plaza Hotel
Orchard Road
Pan Pacific Orchard
Pan Pacific Orchard
#22 of 304 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 stars 1,732 reviews
Grand Hyatt Singapore
#30 of 304 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 stars 2,381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Orchard Road
Mandarin Orchard Singapore
Mandarin Orchard Singapore
#72 of 304 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 stars 8,271 reviews
Orchard Road
Four Seasons Hotel Singapore
Orchard Road
Orchard Hotel Singapore
Orchard Hotel Singapore
#57 of 304 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 stars 2,827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Singapore

Property: Hilton Singapore
Address: 581 Orchard Road Hilton International Singapore, Singapore 238883, Singapore
Phone Number:
Location: Singapore > Singapore > Orchard Road
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#33 Business Hotel in Singapore
#39 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#43 Family Hotel in Singapore
#58 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hilton Singapore 4.5*
Number of rooms: 421
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Orchard Road, Singapore's popular entertainment and shopping district, Hilton Singapore is close to both ION Orchard and Takashimaya shopping centers. This award-winning Singapore hotel is a convenient 20-minute drive from Singapore Changi International Airport and close to Singapore's popular attractions. Try the Opus Bar & Grill's prime-cuts that are dry aged in-house for 14 to 36 days and grilled over an open-flame charcoal grill, or sip on a cocktail inspired by Asian food at the bar. For authentic Italian cuisine, il Cielo is known for its high culinary standards using organic produce. Perched on the 24th floor of the hotel, the Sky Bar is the perfect oasis to relax over drinks while taking in sunset views of the city. Revitalize with an organic juice and healthy lunch from the Glow Juice Bar and Cafe. For the sweet-toothed ones, the D9 Cakery offers an impressive six-meter showcase of delicious cakes, pastries and more. Enjoy shopping in luxury boutiques without leaving the hotel in the Shopping Gallery. Stay active during your stay at this Singapore hotel. Swim laps in the rooftop pool, work out in the fully equipped fitness center or indulge in rejuvenating beauty treatments. Make business easy at the Hilton Singapore hotel. Stay connected with colleagues and catch up with work with contemporary business amenities and secretarial services. Hold business meetings or conferences in our versatile meeting rooms accommodating 18-550 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Odigeo, Travelocity, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Hilton Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Singapore Hotel Singapore
Hilton International Singapore
Singapore Hilton International

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing