We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heartless hotel”
Review of Hilton Singapore

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Singapore
Ranked #66 of 314 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Heartless hotel”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

I stayed here for 3 days,for location,I stayed here because I know the reputation n it's worldwide...N I saw in it was recommended also by trip advisor.In my mind this hotel would treat the cust well..
2 days of staying everything runs well...
At my last day, on 29 Oct at 4.00 am,while my family was sleeping, I heard an alarm ringing...I am with my family, 2 senior age 65 above,my sis,her husband,1 nephew,1 niece n last me...
We were very shock so as I know we should go to the fire exit n never use lift...so I use stairs..I only bring my passport..N we were divided into 2 groups because my sister has to rescue her mom in law n dad in law, so I bring my niece down from 16 to basement...
At the basement,I found an officer and he said that it was a false alarm.he said it's there's no fire, it comes from the water pump...somethings wrong in it.
What I feel dissapointed and heartless hotel is because, they even didn't offer us drinks or anything,we are very shock at that time, mostly senior.in the lobby I also saw there's an older man fall down because after going through several level to rescue himself...the crew hotel only him to wake up n sit...n actually all we need is not only saying sorry,in that situation, after tired, we also feel dizzy and a lil very thirsty almost dehaydrated.when we want to go back to our room, the crew was not helping much,they only say wait...we wait for almost half an hour to get us back to our room.when we arrived at the lobby from the basement,we saw the crew was very calm...I was so regret, even if it's the false alarm,even in the fire exit there's no hotel crew there.what happened if there's someone injured there...
I was really dissapointed with what happened..it seems like the hotel just taking us as customer as granted. I hope with the 5 star hotel reputation, they should serve us better n more with heart...please take care of your customer well..

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margareath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSingapore, General Manager at Hilton Singapore, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear Margareath,

Thank you for staying at Hilton Singapore, it was a pleasure having you and your family with us.

We sincerely regret the inconvenience you experienced from the false alarm, which affected an otherwise pleasant stay. Your feedback is very important to us and has helped us identify what we can improve in such situations.

The safety and well-being of all our guests is of the utmost importance to us. At the same time, we recognise that the communication after the “All Clear” message could have been handled better. We have since reviewed our processes and are retraining our team members to be sensitive to the needs of our guests.

We appreciate your honest review and hope that we will have another opportunity in the future to extend the true and warm Hilton hospitality that we always strive to deliver. Thank you once again for staying with us.

Yours sincerely,
Alain Mahillon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,672 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,086
    1,064
    394
    88
    40
See reviews for
459
636
288
1,042
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (381)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2012

The location is good, a couple of minutes walk away from the underpass at Wheelock to get to Orchard MRT.

Upon arrival, luggage was swiftly collected, and check in was quick. Upgraded to a club floor room.

The room was super clean; and was kept that way. Beds are super comfy, but as others have mentioned, the bathroom is small. I dislike the tub&shower combo, but got used to it after awhile. At least, I prefer this over shower-only hotel rooms; sometimes we'd like a relaxing soak over the weekend! The toiletries are of great quality, and you can see, they really try to make the best of the bathroom- the marble is beautiful, but nothing can be done with the size, as the structure is old and built in the 70s. Water pressure is acceptable, but not the best.

My room was on the upper floors (club), but it still had traffic noise.

Room service is prompt, and the food is good. Yes, it is expensive; but on par with other 5-star hotels in Singapore. Had buffet breakfast in the coffee house during a weekend and it was a madhouse- food was below average for a 5-star hotel. I retreated to room service for the other mornings, and they were always served with a smile.

The experienced staff members are great- you can see that they are slightly senior, and must have been with the hotel for a long time. Polite and efficient.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fredd0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSingapore, General Manager at Hilton Singapore, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear fredd0,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Hilton Singapore, we are glad that you had a pleasant stay with us.

It is good to know that you were happy with our room and quality of our room service. My Food and Beverage team have noted your comments regarding our breakfast buffet and will take steps to review and ensure the high quality of our food offerings.

My team are grateful for your kind feedback on their warmth and friendliness, and look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Singapore.

Yours sincerely,
Alain Mahillon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Hilton hotel always makes me comfortable regardless of where I am. In this hotel, the location is good, along Orchard Road. Its a bit old, but nice and efficient. walking distance to shopping malls. There are other otels in this area, but my choice is Hilton. Regards, Virginia Goh.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Virginiagoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSingapore, General Manager at Hilton Singapore, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Dear Ms Goh,

Thank you for making Hilton Singapore your hotel of choice in Singapore. It is a pleasure knowing that you always enjoy comfortable stays with us.

We really appreciate your continued patronage and look forward to being of service to you again when you next return to Singapore.

Yours sincerely,
Alain Mahillon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

The plug sockets in the hotel didn't work, the internet was extremely overpriced, the staff was complacent... Luggage took hours to find its way to our rooms. Was a stressful experience. Definitely will not be staying in the hilton again! Was not worth the convinience to orchard road at all!! Go stay in one of the boutique hotels or the fullerton hotels or marina bay and hop on the mrt. Hilton was shocking, customer service was extremely poor.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wonderappetite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSingapore, General Manager at Hilton Singapore, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear suyincook,

I am very sorry to learn that your recent experience at Hilton Singapore was disappointing for you.

Your feedback is very important to us and I wish to assure you that my team are doing their utmost to uphold the high standards of the products and services expected of a luxury hotel. We do indeed recognise the importance of due attention that must be given to all our guests and this is being heavily reinforced in our process reviews and on-going training programmes.

Thank you for staying with us. Whilst you have indicated otherwise, we hope that you will grant us another opportunity to extend the warm hospitality and exemplary service that we always strive to deliver.

Yours sincerely,
Alain Mahillon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

I have stayed at this hotel about three dozen times in the past 10 years, including five or six stays this year alone. As a frequent business traveler, what I appreciate most about the Hilton Singapore is that I feel very welcome here, like a home away from home. Yes, the hotel is older than some others in Singapore but everything seems to work well and is clean. Sure, the prices can be high but this is Singapore we are talking about, not Kansas City. And this is a Hilton, not a Four Seasons so you should not arrive with that level of expectation. Still, I find the staff goes out of their way to make the guest experience a happy one and most people I talk to seem to enjoy the hotel and its location. If you are a business person traveling alone, the room size and bathrooms are just fine. As a frequent guest in the Executive Lounge, I would say it's a very nice facility and the only recommendation would be for either a greater selection of foods or more variety in the rotation of food selections on a daily basis.

Room Tip: If you need a taxi at a certain time, be sure to book one through the hotel staff. If not, you will...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon5839
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSingapore, General Manager at Hilton Singapore, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear Jon5839,

Thank you for your continued patronage at Hilton Singapore. It is our pleasure to be your home away from home!

My team are very encouraged to learn that their warm and friendly service has contributed postively towards your stay experiences with us. We have noted your feedback on the food selection in the Executive Lounge and will duly address this point.

We look forward to seeing you again when you next return to Singapore.

Yours sincerely,
Alain Mahillon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

My wife and I travel to Singapore twice a year for business. We've stayed at the major hotels on Orchard Road, and Marina Bay. The Hilton is just OK. We stay here only when our client runs conferences at this hotel, because it's convenient. But our favorite hotel is the Pan Pacific Marina Bay.

The Hilton Orchard Road rooms are small and a bit rough around the edges. Cramped bathrooms definitely in need of an update. Wifi is expensive, even on the exec levels - US $20 per person.

We stay on one of the executive levels and use the executive lounge every day. The breakfasts are adequate. Nothing special, but good enough for a quick morning coffee and a light breakfast. They play monotonous pop music all day, so I find it very distracting to work in the executive lounge.

The meetings room are nice, though. And the staff is cordial. Not especially gracious, but nice enough.

In the evenings, the lounge is a nice spot for cocktail before dinner.

Speaking of food, it's not so great here. We've ordered room service a few times, and always regret it. During our conferences, we have lunch in the Checkers Brasserie on the ground level. They have a fairly good buffet with a variety of hot and cold options.

We swim a mile every day, and the 20 meter pool is good for laps. I believe it's a saltwater pool because I never notice a chlorine smell.

Overall, the Hilton average for a Singapore hotel. It's a good location on Orchard Road, but I'd opt for the Pan Pacific across the street. Much nicer rooms, better food, and a big pool.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JohnSturtevant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSingapore, General Manager at Hilton Singapore, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Dear JohnSturtevant,

Thank you for sharing your experience at Hilton Singapore, it was a pleasure having you and your wife with us.

We really appreciate your insights on the hotel, our service and facilities because they help us identify areas that require improvement. Please be assured that my team are using your feedback to address the issues you have brought up, so that all our guests may enjoy seamless stay experiences with us.

With regards to internet access, we understand the importance of this service for our guests. In addition to paid internet access in the guest rooms, we offer complimentary WiFi access in our Executive Lounge and public areas. Moreover, in recognition of their loyalty, our Hilton HHonors Gold and Diamond members benefit from complimentary WiFi internet access during their stay.

We are pleased to note that you were happy with our meeting facilities and enjoyed cocktails in our Executive Lounge and the buffet spread at Checkers Brasserie.

We look forward to welcoming you and your wife back in the future, whether for a conference or holiday. My team would be delighted to extend the warm hospitality and exemplary service that
they always strive to deliver.

Yours sincerely,
Alain Mahillon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Hey, if you want comfort, accessibility to everything, a friendly staff and a good breakfast, this is your place. Walk to food, shopping, bars, and anything else you need. ATM's are tough to find in this area, but if you walk out and turn left to the corner then left again there is a Citibank up on the right or across the street is Orchard Towers and there are ATM's in there up the steps the left. I found the staff to be smiling and helpful and the rooms are well done. Taxis are usually waiting outside for patrons to take you to your favorite destination.

Room Tip: Ask for a room opposite Orchard Road. Overlooking the road it can get a little buzzy with some of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brewski00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSingapore, General Manager at Hilton Singapore, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Dear Brewski00,

Thank you for staying at Hilton Singapore, it is always a pleasure to know that our guests have experienced a pleasant stay with us.

It is most encouraging for my team to receive your compliments and to know that you felt well-looked after during your stay. We certainly look forward to seeing you again when you next return to Singapore.

Yours sincerely,
Alain Mahillon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Orchard Road
Singapore Marriott Tang Plaza Hotel
Grand Hyatt Singapore
#43 of 314 in Singapore
3,072 reviews
Orchard Road
Pan Pacific Orchard
Pan Pacific Orchard
#29 of 314 in Singapore
2,465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Orchard Road
Four Seasons Hotel Singapore
Orchard Road
Mandarin Orchard Singapore
Mandarin Orchard Singapore
#71 of 314 in Singapore
9,827 reviews
Marina Bay
Conrad Centennial Singapore
Conrad Centennial Singapore
#19 of 314 in Singapore
4,400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Singapore

Property: Hilton Singapore
Address: 581 Orchard Road Hilton International Singapore, Singapore 238883, Singapore
Phone Number:
Location: Singapore > Singapore > Orchard Road
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#33 Business Hotel in Singapore
#39 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#43 Family Hotel in Singapore
#60 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hilton Singapore 4.5*
Number of rooms: 421
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Orchard Road, Singapore's popular entertainment and shopping district, Hilton Singapore is close to both ION Orchard and Takashimaya shopping centers. This award-winning Singapore hotel is a convenient 20-minute drive from Singapore Changi International Airport and close to Singapore's popular attractions. Try the Opus Bar & Grill's prime-cuts that are dry aged in-house for 14 to 36 days and grilled over an open-flame charcoal grill, or sip on a cocktail inspired by Asian food at the bar. For authentic Italian cuisine, il Cielo is known for its high culinary standards using organic produce. Perched on the 24th floor of the hotel, the Sky Bar is the perfect oasis to relax over drinks while taking in sunset views of the city. Revitalize with an organic juice and healthy lunch from the Glow Juice Bar and Cafe. For the sweet-toothed ones, the D9 Cakery offers an impressive six-meter showcase of delicious cakes, pastries and more. Enjoy shopping in luxury boutiques without leaving the hotel in the Shopping Gallery. Stay active during your stay at this Singapore hotel. Swim laps in the rooftop pool, work out in the fully equipped fitness center or indulge in rejuvenating beauty treatments. Make business easy at the Hilton Singapore hotel. Stay connected with colleagues and catch up with work with contemporary business amenities and secretarial services. Hold business meetings or conferences in our versatile meeting rooms accommodating 18-550 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hilton EMEA, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Singapore Hotel Singapore
Hilton International Singapore
Singapore Hilton International

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing