We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Large room, but needs updating”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
PARKROYAL on Beach Road
Ranked #81 of 317 Hotels in Singapore
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Booked 3 nts as a Mystery Deal on Wotif. The Deluxe room on the 3rd floor looked more like the Superior rooms I had seen photos of. The room was very large with two double beds joined together. Had a direct view of the noisy building construction at the rear of the hotel. The free Wifi Internet access was excellent.

I found the location didn't suit my needs. I tried using the hotels free Shuttle Bus service, but the early morning shuttle never came. The Concierge was extremely apologetic and wanted me to pay for a taxi there and back and bring back receipts and I would be reimbursed, but I felt that defeated the purpose of providing a free shuttle service for guests. I walked or used the bus stop out front of the hotel. Nicoll Highway MRT Station was also about a 10minute walk via a little lane way beside the hotel.

I enjoyed having a very spacious room, but the decor really needs to be modernised to suit the taste and needs of modern travellers.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Avanti_SG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_PBeach, General Manager at PARKROYAL on Beach Road, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2013

Dear Avanti50,

Greetings from PARKROYAL on Beach Road, Singapore!

Thank you for your review.

We took note of your comments with reference to the construction noise you experienced during your stay with us as the hotel is undergoing a major renovation of its meeting facilities to enhance guest experience. We apologize for the inadequate service of our shuttle bus and the concierge department has been informed accordingly on the time service schedule.

We will endeavour to continue to provide excellent customer service in creating a memorable stay and guest experience at the PARKROYAL on Beach Road.

We look forward to seeing you back at the hotel again soon.

Yours sincerely,



Mark Losi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,529)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,736 - 1,742 of 2,529 reviews

Reviewed March 13, 2013

The location is great. Just a very short walk to MRT and you can get anywhere on e island. If you do not mind a walk it is I lose to Orchard road. Across the road and down side streets are excellent little cafe style places. The rooms. Outdated decor, tired and in need of update. There were two single beds and they were rather high off the ground..do not know why. There was scratches, dents and the berth room door had damage. Little things add up. The staff were excellent. It was more a three and a half. After staying in a four/four and a half you can really tell the difference. If you want to get around Singapore this is a great base. But is notfour star luxury. The charge for buffet breakfast at $33 was too much.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wwhom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_PBeach, General Manager at PARKROYAL on Beach Road, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2013

Dear Wwhom,

Greetings from PARKROYAL on Beach Road, Singapore!

Thank you for your warm compliments of the hotel locale and overall guest service experience you had during your stay with us.

We took note of your comments with reference to the scratches and damage to our bathroom door, the respective Engineering department has been informed and will rectify the areas of concern accordingly.

We will endeavour to continue to provide excellent customer service in creating a memorable stay and guest experience at the PARKROYAL on Beach Road.

We look forward to seeing you back at the hotel again soon.

Yours sincerely,



Mark Losi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

Nice hotel located in downtown Singapore. Very close to MRT stations and other prominent downtown attractions! The gym facility is extremely good. Food is good but a little on the pricey side. However, lots of other eating alternatives close by including a very nice Indian restaurant. Little India is about 15 minutes by walk.

Room Tip: Pick a room in the 4th or 5th floor. The 2nd floor rooms do not have a flat screen TV.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank raj_sundar7252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_PBeach, General Manager at PARKROYAL on Beach Road, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2013

Dear raj_sundar7252,

Greetings from PARKROYAL on Beach Road, Singapore!

Thank you for your warm compliments of the guest room, hotel locale, gym facility and overall guest service experience you had during your stay with us.

We will endeavour to continue to provide excellent customer service in creating a memorable stay and guest experience at the PARKROYAL on Beach Road.

We look forward to seeing you back at the hotel again soon.

Yours sincerely,



Mark Losi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

Pros
1. Location.

2. Two subway stations nearby.
Nicoll Highway - One stop away to Promenade station is the Singapore Flyer
Two stops away to Bayfront Station is the Marina Bay Sands Mall and casino. If you like shopping, this place has all the stores. There is also a nightly fountain show at this mall.
Nighttime views of the skyline were incredible with a short walk from either stations.

3. Rooms were spacious and clean.

4. Comp drinking water

5. Incredible breakast. Dim sum dumplings, eggs any way you like it, sushi, pancakes, waffles, yogurt, fresh fruit, bread, cheese, juices, cereals. Whole array of Asian foods (at least seven dishes to choose from.) which includes three types of curry dishes and noodle soups made to order.

6. Desk and office chair with good WiFi service.

7. We had requested a room overlooking the front as from TripAdvisor reviews, the rooms to the back were noisy due to construction. They didn’t have any rooms overlooking the front available at the Superior rate so they upgraded us to the Deluxe room at no extra charge overlooking the back. However, it didn’t matter anyway, as our stay was during the Chinese New Years and there was no construction work being done so I can’t comment whether it would have been noisy.

8. Sufficient amount of drawers and closet space.

9. Friendly service. Especially the doormen. As soon as they see you approaching, they are right there with a smile to open the door.
On New Year’s Day, we returned to our room to find a couple of oranges with a the traditional “Red Envelope”. This was a nice touch.


Cons
1. No view except to look at the side of another building. Unfortunately, this will not change in time. But then, why would anyone spend time in their hotel looking out their window?

2. The bed was a little bit firmer than what I’m accustomed to. However, I didn’t toss and turn all night

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ProsaicTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_PBeach, General Manager at PARKROYAL on Beach Road, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2013

Dear Nipper100,

Greetings from PARKROYAL on Beach Road, Singapore!

Thank you for your warm compliments of the guest room, hotel locale, WIFI network, staff services and overall guest service experience you had during your stay with us.

We will endeavour to continue to provide excellent customer service in creating a memorable stay and guest experience at the PARKROYAL on Beach Road.

We look forward to seeing you back at the hotel again soon.

Yours sincerely,



Mark Losi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Wonderful hotel to stay at, was upgraded to their Orchid room, a pity I wasn't in it much to enjoy it to its fullest extent. The time that I had in it though was good, room was spacious and clean.

The staff were immensely courteous with the porter immediately insisting that he lift my luggage up the steps when I arrived.

A short roughly 10 mins walk from the Bugis MRT station, its close to several shopping centres such as suntec 15 mins away.

Overall, a great hotel and I would use it again when I'm in the area again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Soon Theam K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_PBeach, General Manager at PARKROYAL on Beach Road, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2013

Dear Soon Theam K,

Greetings from PARKROYAL on Beach Road, Singapore!

Thank you for your warm compliments of the guest room at the Orchid Club, hotel locale, staff services and overall guest service experience you had during your stay with us.

We will endeavour to continue to provide excellent customer service in creating a memorable stay and guest experience at the PARKROYAL on Beach Road.

We look forward to seeing you back at the hotel again soon.

Yours sincerely,



Mark Losi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

We had a wonderful one-night staycation at the hotel. The room was clean, and bright. The bed was also very comfortable. While there was some construction occurring in the area outside our room, it was not too noisy. Check-in was smooth. We were sorry to find that the hotel pool was closed for renovation but my son and I had fun just relaxing in the room.

We heard many recommendations for the restaurants at the hotel and was not disappointed in our experience at the Plaza Brasserie during both the dinner buffet and the breakfast buffet. The maitre de - an Indian gentlemen whose name escapes me - found us a table for the excellent dinner buffet when he found out that we were only staying for one night even though we did not have reservations and the restaurant was rather crowded. There were many food options available and the food was delicious.

I would recommend this hotel and would love to visit the hotel again especially after the pool renovation.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jlc81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_PBeach, General Manager at PARKROYAL on Beach Road, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2013

Dear jlc81,

Greetings from PARKROYAL on Beach Road, Singapore!

Thank you for your warm compliments of the guest room, food served at Plaza Brasserie, staff services of Morgan our restaurant supervisor, and overall guest service experience you had during your stay with us.

We are glad that the construction noise did not disrupt your recent stay with us. We will endeavour to continue to provide excellent customer service in creating a memorable stay and guest experience at the PARKROYAL on Beach Road.

We look forward to seeing you back at the hotel again soon.

Yours sincerely,



Mark Losi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Booked by company to stay at this hotel for business meeting and stayed there for 5 days. It is very convenient, across the street many great restaurants and taxi is easy to get. Always make my trip to Raffles City for shopping by cab. The 4th Floor is conveniently attached to the lift plaza that have Watsons, Bakery, Laundy and minimart on lower ground. The food is wonderful especially laksa for lunch delicious.

Room Tip: Choose room at the 4th Floor, the aroma of spa really comforting
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RozanaOch4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_PBeach, General Manager at PARKROYAL on Beach Road, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2013

Dear RozanaOch4,

Greetings from PARKROYAL on Beach Road, Singapore!

Thank you for your warm compliments of the guest room, hotel locale, surrounding eateries within the building, staff services and overall guest service experience you had during your stay with us.

We will endeavour to continue to provide excellent customer service in creating a memorable stay and guest experience at the PARKROYAL on Beach Road.

We look forward to seeing you back at the hotel again soon.

Yours sincerely,



Mark Losi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
PARKROYAL on Pickering
#26 of 317 in Singapore
3,107 reviews
One Farrer Hotel & Spa
#17 of 317 in Singapore
1,199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Orchard Road
Pan Pacific Orchard
Pan Pacific Orchard
#37 of 317 in Singapore
2,526 reviews
Naumi Hotel
#18 of 317 in Singapore
2,359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to PARKROYAL on Beach Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about PARKROYAL on Beach Road

Address: 7500 Beach Road The Plaza, Singapore 199591, Singapore
Phone Number:
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#46 Family Hotel in Singapore
#58 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#67 Business Hotel in Singapore
#73 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range: $141 - $277 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — PARKROYAL on Beach Road 4*
Number of rooms: 346
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discerning travellers will enjoy the hospitality and warmth of our 346 rooms and suites. Spacious yet intimate, this Singapore accommodation is perfect for relaxing after a busy day of getting to know the city. Take in the charming views of quaint shophouses and ethnic shophouses from your room. For your utmost comfort, you'll find a range of handy amenities for all your needs - enjoy the in-room entertainment, which includes cable channels and complimentary in-house movie channels, or share the best of your day with family and friends via high-speed broadband Internet access. Let us pamper you whenever you stay in PARKROYAL's stylish hotel rooms in Singapore. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Pan Pacific Hotels Group, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your PARKROYAL on Beach Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parkroyal On Beach Road Hotel Singapore
Parkroyal On Beach Road Singapore
Park Royal Singapore
Park Royal Hotel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing