We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not for business travelers”
Review of Oxford Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Oxford Hotel
Ranked #245 of 312 Hotels in Singapore
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Not for business travelers”
Reviewed September 21, 2011

This hotel might be acceptable for budget travelers visiting Singapore for fun, but definitely not for anyone there on business. I was in town to attend a conference at the Suntec convention center and this was my experience: The internet signal in the hotel is very weak and I wasn't able to get online most of the time. The front desk wasn't able to give me an adapter for my laptop charger, saying they were all rented out. The safe in my room wasn't working, and it took three phone calls to the front desk before someone told me they wouldn't be able to get anyone to fix it until three days later.

The hotel staff are genuinely nice, but clueless. When I complained about the internet, I was told just to "keep trying." After my first few hours at the hotel I thought seriously about leaving and checking into another hotel, but decided it would be too much hassle trying to find another room during a busy week in Singapore.

Wouldn't recommend this hotel. Singapore is very expensive but it's worth it to pay an extra $100 to stay in a place where things generally work.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cajunasian80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    19
    42
    26
    32
See reviews for
33
21
12
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 10, 2011

I stayed at the Oxford Hotel during a 1 week conference I had in March. The hotel is located really well not far away from the National Museum, Singapore Art Museum and Little India. The MRT station is just 300 yards away. The room rates are very affordable, breakfast in the morning was really good and the hotel staff was nice and helpful. Overall a great hotel to stay at...i´ll definetly come back when I´m in Singapore!!!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank worldcitizen87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2011

As a traveler, my travel buddy and i have stayed at the best and the worst hotels.

Oxford hotel, despite its good location, is UNACCEPTABLE, UNHYGIENIC, and was the worst hotel (if it even deserves to be called a 'hotel') we've ever stayed at.

Rooms were awful, It was dirty, carpets were stained, walls looked even worse than the building's exterior ones.

As for safety, there is only one person at the Lobby in the evening.

There is only one elevator, with only 8 (eight) floors to cover, and yet you have to wait FOREVER to reach your floor.

The breakfast is served cold all the time. It does not matter what time we go down to have breakfast, they're always served cold.

One cannot get any decent sleep in this hotel. Just as one is about to go into deep slumber you can hear people banging on the walls in the other room, people going in and out of the room, loud music, and people screaming. (at 2AM??)

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank george_d_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Singapore hotels

Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2011

I stayed here for an extended business trip (~3 weeks). Room was small but cozy with study table and complimentary internet (which was very useful). Sometimes lighting seemd to be insufficient. Bathroom was decent.

Breakfast choices were basic. More international choices could have been better. Basically hotel primaily caters to Chinese tourist groups.

Situated at the heart of the city with walking distance from MRT stations and bus stops.
Absence of other activities at hotel was missed (like swimming pool/ gym etc).

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TrotGlobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pasay
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2011

if you are in a budget the hotel is in a nice location near the train station, orchard street and chimes. The breakfast is ok its the same everyday fried rice, boiled eggs, beans and so on it taste nice. The main problem is there room we occupied two rooms the room of my aunt and her son is ok its clean and well a bit small for 3 people while our room is bigger but there is this disgusting odor that every time we came in its there and we need to open the window so it will disappear and the bed of my uncle has also that odor so the three of us end up sleeping in one bed because of that and there wifi has a fee 2 Singaporean dollars per hour. if i will go back again?? i think not.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank icymargie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sri Lanka
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2011

This hotel has seen its better days But the staff still does a fantastic job to keep it running properly
They serve a Breakfast which is adequate but not big and anyway its free. They Provide in room internet by the hour If you buy 5 hours for SGD5 you can use it for 7 days they count only the time you spent online. Rooms are small and faded but they are clean and kept tidy.
Front office staff and restaurant staff is always courteous and helpful. This is one hotel where I never had a problem with salt shaker which indicates the amount of effort restaurant staff put on to keep everything in proper order Hotel is at the end of Queens Road and next circle line MRT (This is the new line) Walking distance to Bugis street, Orchard Street. About 1.5 Km to Marina
You have food courts Shopping all around this area. Since rooms are bit small may be uncomfortable for a family but they do have family rooms I do not know about them

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ratna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2011

The first thing that hits you is the tall matchbox like building which is as colourful like the city. The service at the front desk is swift, but if you are lucky then you'rs special request will be heard (asked for a adaptor for the plug - never heard back from them!!).
The rooms are really small with a very small toilet & shower sqeezed in.

The best thing about this Hotel is its location, which is near to a number of tourist attractions (like the Musuam, Arts Centre, Raffels Sq) and if you are adventerous enough to try the local metro/sub the Bras Basha MRT/Metro station is right there within 50 mts.

The Hotel do have a restrurent - which is highly avoidable since there are numerous food coutrts and joints across this area. The famous Bugis Red Dot Market is within the walking distance.

The breakfast is one of the worst I have found in any such Hotels - you have to manage with a very standard one with No/Little choice.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nabarunr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Strand Hotel
#145 of 312 in Singapore
448 reviews
Hotel Kai
#106 of 312 in Singapore
232 reviews
Grand Pacific Hotel
#117 of 312 in Singapore
1,162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Royal at Queens
#167 of 312 in Singapore
736 reviews
V Hotel Bencoolen
#160 of 312 in Singapore
1,306 reviews
Downtown Core
Beach Hotel
Beach Hotel
#208 of 312 in Singapore
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oxford Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oxford Hotel

Property: Oxford Hotel
Address: 218 Queen Street Oxford Hotel, Singapore 188549, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore > Rochor
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #245 of 312 Hotels in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Oxford Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Oxford Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oxford Hotel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing