We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overcrowded & below par”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
PARKROYAL on Kitchener Road
Ranked #93 of 306 Hotels in Singapore
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Overcrowded & below par”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

Stayed here in August when I was in Singapore for Work. It is full of noisy Indians as its in Little India or serangoon street. The hotels check in at 2 pm causes lot of problems as many people are left waiting in the lobby. It is a hit with the Indians as its located next to Mustafa and they make sure they make the most noise. The service could be better from the staff but unfortunately they cant. The non smoking rooms also smell smoky and the food is below par. I prices however aint cheap and it could help if they were more reasonable

Room Tip: Dont select this hotel, stay at Orchard Road instead
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shantanu P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary M, General Manager at PARKROYAL on Kitchener Road, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear Shantanu P, you were clearly disappointed with your stay for various reasons. I am sorry if we let you down. I understand that waiting until the official check in time of 2pm to check in can be frustrating if you arrive at the hotel much earlier. You will see though from many other reviews that we do check guests in earlier if we can but at times it is simply not possible. Regards, Gary Moran.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,676 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    786
    1,168
    449
    159
    114
See reviews for
1,028
597
147
579
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (653)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

I stayed in ParkRoyal for two weeks during November 2012. The hotel is fairly good, but the restaurants could have been better. The options for food are restricted. The swimming pool is quite deep, moreover there are no options for a drink by the poolside. The location is slightly congested. Moreover, many travel agents choose this hotel for group bookings, which make it a difficult experience, if you want a quiet breakfast. Otherwise the hotel is good, and can be recommended for repeat stay.

Room Tip: Nice place to stay if you want an experience closer to India
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DebasishChoudhury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary M, General Manager at PARKROYAL on Kitchener Road, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear DebasishChoudhury, thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts following your stay with us last year. It is good to read that you are happy to recommend the hotel albeit there were clearly aspects of your stay which were not to your satisfaction. Incidentally we do have a pool bar serving drinks at the poolside. Thank you again and all the very best. Regards, Gary Moran.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
198 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 306 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

We visited this hotel in August 2008 & booked a couple of rooms for 3 nights. The breakfast was good, staff attentive & rooms clean. The day views are not spectacular but we did not mind it as we were out most of the day. The rooms were tastefully decorated & the services offered were good. It is a good hotel for business meetings & entertaining clients.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harsha_Pilapitiya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary M, General Manager at PARKROYAL on Kitchener Road, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear Harsha P, thank you sir for your very kind words. It is very nice to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. Regards, Gary Moran.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jodhpur, India
Level Contributor
147 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

We were eight people who stayed there for 2 wonderful days. Mustaffa and many Indian food joints are only 2-3 minutes walk, just at the back of hotel. The MRT is close by and so are other places. Rooms, services and breakfast was good. It is undergoing some renovation which after completion will provide better services. I would recommend this hotel for everybody but the best place for Indians.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KHManager1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary M, General Manager at PARKROYAL on Kitchener Road, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear palboss, thank you very much for your recommendation and for your very kind words regarding your recent stay. it means such a lot to everyone here to receive such praise. Thanks again, Gary Moran.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

My family of 8 stayed here for 3 days and had a grand time. My parents are disabled and had the accessible room that met their needs, very spacious room and accommodating bathroom. The rooms the rest of my family stayed in were clean, comfortable and spacious. We had the free breakfast that was offered, lots of internation foods to choose from. Staff helpful and friendly. Ideally located within walking distance of shops, malls and restaurants and cafes. Hop on and off bus located close by made it easy to tour the city. Would come back and stay again.

Room Tip: Great stopover hotel ideally located for shopping and city touring
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marjorie d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary M, General Manager at PARKROYAL on Kitchener Road, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear marjorie d, thank you so much for putting a smile on my face. It was such a pleasure to read your review. I am delighted that we looked after you so well. Kind regards, Gary Moran.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai, Tamil Nadu, India
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

Let me state my review in bullets below,

Pros:
1) Close to Little India (Mustaffa is just 5 mins walk)
2) Indian restaurants are plenty in and around

Cons:
1) This place provides water only for its residents. As after my check-out when I requested a glass of water in the restaurant I was told water is available only for hotel guests!! WTH!!
2) The hotel is packed with tourists and looks like it is running a "little India" all by itself
3) As said above, I was told by the agent that this hotel has couple of floors only for "Indians" and these have dirty carpets and carry a foul smell. (Reason for this racial discrimination is that "Indians" are too loud and unclean!!
4) The reception staffs were too mechanical and did not bother to even throw a smile. Anything you ask comes with a stern reply!

Overall, I would give this hotel a miss if my priority of visiting an International Destination is to experience a different culture and hospitality. If you don't mind to stay in those cheap rooms as long as you have access to Indian restaurants and shopping, this is your place!

Room Tip: No use, if your an Indian. They'll know what room to offer!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vishlak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary M, General Manager at PARKROYAL on Kitchener Road, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear Vishlak, I read your comments with great interest. For anyone to suggest that the hotel is racist or that we keep certain floors just for Indian guests is the most ridiculous thing I have heard in a long time. I would be very happy for you to contact me seperately to let me know which agent is spreading such nonsense. We pride ourselves on our reputation within India and on the number of our guests who come from India. We have excellent relations with so many leisure companies and travel agents based in India. No hotel is perfect, I know that we are not but we run a very good hotel and try to deliver the best possible service and experience for each and every guest wherever they are from. Gary Moran.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

I stayed here during my friend's wedding weekend courtesy of her so I can't comment on the price. It is perfect for visiting friends who live around the area (City Square Residence for example). The hotel is within walking distance to the MRT station, as it is very close to Little India you may expect a lot of Indian food and restaurant that opens up til late. There is also a 24-hour shopping center Mustafa nearby.

The room is relatively spacious and is very modern and clean. The bed is comfortable. The reception and service in general was not very friendly however they do get things done. Shower is also good. For leisure travelers, don't worry about it located in Farrer Park, since Singapore is not very big, it is easy to commute with MRT trains from Farrer Park to other locations such as Orchard or Marina Bay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marvelenah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary M, General Manager at PARKROYAL on Kitchener Road, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear Michelle A, I was very happy reading your feedback until you mentioned reception. I am so sorry that the reception team came across as unfriendly. I have already passed your feedback to the team leader. Apart from this you seem to have enjoyed your stay with us and I do thank you for your positive comments. Regards, Gary Moran.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
One Farrer Hotel & Spa
#11 of 306 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 802 reviews
Furama City Centre
#70 of 306 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kampong Glam
Village Hotel Bugis by Far East Hospitality
PARKROYAL on Beach Road
#67 of 306 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,160 reviews
PARKROYAL on Pickering
#19 of 306 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to PARKROYAL on Kitchener Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about PARKROYAL on Kitchener Road

Property: PARKROYAL on Kitchener Road
Address: 181 Kitchener Road, Singapore 208533, Singapore
Phone Number:
Location: Singapore > Singapore > Little India
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#58 Business Hotel in Singapore
#59 Family Hotel in Singapore
#64 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#82 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — PARKROYAL on Kitchener Road 4*
Number of rooms: 534
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Within close proximity to Singapore's Central Business District and adjacent to the ethnic quarter of Little India, the hotel is a 2-minute stroll from Farrer Park MRT station. Tastefully furnished, it is ideal for both business and leisure travelers. Soothe away frazzled nerves in the hotel's spa while the brasserie and restaurant offer sumptuous dining experiences with a wide array of culinary specialties. Enjoy the entertainment in the bar and lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Pan Pacific Hotels Group, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your PARKROYAL on Kitchener Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parkroyal On Kitchener Road Hotel Singapore
Parkroyal On Kitchener Road Singapore
New Park Hotel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing