We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
PARKROYAL on Kitchener Road
Ranked #93 of 312 Hotels in Singapore
Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very pleasant experience”
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Although this hotel is not located adjacent to the popular Boat Quay on the river bank or facing the harbour, the access to the MTR just across the road makes all public transport very easy and quick.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Jesper M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary M, General Manager at PARKROYAL on Kitchener Road, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear Jesper M, it was a pleasure to read your review of your recent stay with us. As you say our location makes access to all parts of Singapore very easy. Thank you, Gary Moran.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,778 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    810
    1,206
    472
    166
    124
See reviews for
1,085
613
151
596
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (677)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Longpont sur orge
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013

A nice hotel with a small swimming pool.
The service is very good, it is very safe, and apparently the resto as well.Indeed friday evening the resto is full. A good place for a diner. The breakfast is various.
Close to the hotel you have a quarter with a lot of shops, and restos (you cross the road in using the bridge).
If you have time you can walk to the city, it is not so far.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Franck91310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary M, General Manager at PARKROYAL on Kitchener Road, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear Franck91310, many thanks for finding the time to post your feedback as regards your stay with us in July last year. It is always very nice to receive such positive comments both in terms of the hotel location and the service we provide. Thanks again, Gary Moran.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathmandu, Nepal
1 review
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Hotel was very good. Singapore is overall quite expensive so comparatively rate is also very good. Value for money... Location is perfect.. variety of Indian food easily available in walking distance.. In proper market area.. I simply enjoyed my stay in this hotel..

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sneha111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary M, General Manager at PARKROYAL on Kitchener Road, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear Sneha111, thank you so much for your very kind words as regards your stay here at the hotel last November. You clearly took advantage of our excellent location. Thanks again, Gary Moran.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

We have checked in only today i.e 26th March 2013 and the check in experience was just horrific.
Travelling with daughters and wife and this type of attitude not at all thought of in Singapore where people are just very good, Verr very rude staff and even one was pointing to his name badge and almost threatening us to complain against him. Praying to God that the next four nights turns out nice,
Madhusudan Ajitsaria

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Madhusudan66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary M, General Manager at PARKROYAL on Kitchener Road, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear Madhusudan66, I was very disappointed to read your comments. I understand that this was in connection with the availability of a connecting room. I do hope that overall you had a very enjoyable stay with us. Kind regards, Gary Moran.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013

We stay here every time we visit Singapore. It is next door to Mustafa's and Little India so easy access to shopping and food. Service is good and quality of the room was good, however starting to show wear.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AshisAus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary M, General Manager at PARKROYAL on Kitchener Road, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Dear AshisAus, I was very pleased to read your positive comments, particularly that you stay with us every time you are in Singapore. Thank you so much for taking the trouble to post your feedback and for your continued custom. Kind regards, Gary Moran.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
89 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013

I love Singapore...the food, the shopping, the civilization of it all, but I've had my fair share of overpriced, overrated accommodations in Asia, and ParkRoyal fits just the bill.

We stayed here, not by choice, but as part of an organized event chosen by a travel agency. Our first night, the hotel was completely booked; therefore, our nonsmoking option was not an option. So, the smell of the smoking floor and smoking room instantly put me in negative mode, especially since we were three generations traveling.

We had requested a family room but we ended up with a small (I think they call it deluxe) room with two twin (not the usual Asian twin and a half) beds and a roll-away shoved into the corner against the grungy curtains. They made no effort to remove the furniture, so the room was overcrowded with three of us in it and additional furniture, not to mention they actually charge S$80/night for this "upgrade."

Rather than go off on all kinds of negative tangents, here's a list of why I gave it 2/5, my lowest rating to date for a hotel:
-smoking room--unacceptable when traveling with a child
-overcharged for extra bed in an already crowded room
-rooms in desperate need of remodeling--dated furniture, curtains, and carpets, really grungy carpeting and curtains
-roll away didn't have any kind of mattress pad between mattress and sheet--yuck!
-mildew and body hair in the shower (time for new grout)
-unhelpful staff overall--there were a few friendly staff, so I shouldn't generalize, but one very unhappy concierge and several unhappy front desk staff and even more unhappy restaurant staff
-breakfast buffet was fair, ambience was cafeteria-like
-location...there is much better in Singapore.

Honestly, shop around. Check out hotel deals. My favorite place to stay in Singapore is The Intercontinental, and you can get some great rates. Had the service or even the pool area been a bit nicer, I might have given this a 3/4 (like I did Traders in Singapore because they have a lovely pool and breakfast area).

I won't be returning nor will I recommend.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BruyereinHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary M, General Manager at PARKROYAL on Kitchener Road, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Dear Hongkong P, as you would expect I am of course very, very disppointed to read your feedback and particularly the heading. I can understand your frustration as clearly there were many aspects of your stay which you were not at all happy with. I am very sorry that we did not leave you with a better impression. You will see from many other reviews that in the main we do deliver much better service but I will share your thoughts with my team, who I know will be as disappointed as I am. Kind regards, Gary Moran.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
100 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2013

I stayed in hotel in business. It is near to Little India and subway station. There is a new shopping mall (City Square ) opposite the hotel. However, it is nothing much as it is still new. There are BreadTalk, Sushi Tei, Fast Food, at least you have some choices for dining.

The hotel service is great and efficient. The meeting is cold and nice arrangement.

Overall the hotel is comfortable to stay. However, there were kids running around the corridor, so it was a bit noisy late night. I smell a very light hair smell on the pillows, unsure whether they change it often.

The wifi is provided everywhere in hotel boundaries, it is great for business.

The breakfast is ordinary, if you stay more than 1 day, you will feel not much choice but still filling.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShaneLean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary M, General Manager at PARKROYAL on Kitchener Road, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Dear ShaneLean, thank you for sharing your thoughts as regards your recent stay with us. I was particularly pleased with your comments as regards service overall, the meeting arrangements and the wifi availability. I have also noted a few areas of possible improvement.
Thanks again, Gary Moran.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
One Farrer Hotel & Spa
#13 of 312 in Singapore
892 reviews
PARKROYAL on Beach Road
#68 of 312 in Singapore
2,258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kampong Glam
Village Hotel Bugis by Far East Hospitality
Furama City Centre
#268 of 312 in Singapore
2,578 reviews
Furama RiverFront
#101 of 312 in Singapore
2,258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to PARKROYAL on Kitchener Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about PARKROYAL on Kitchener Road

Property: PARKROYAL on Kitchener Road
Address: 181 Kitchener Road, Singapore 208533, Singapore
Phone Number:
Location: Singapore > Singapore > Little India
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#58 Business Hotel in Singapore
#59 Family Hotel in Singapore
#64 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#81 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — PARKROYAL on Kitchener Road 4*
Number of rooms: 534
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Within close proximity to Singapore's Central Business District and adjacent to the ethnic quarter of Little India, the hotel is a 2-minute stroll from Farrer Park MRT station. Tastefully furnished, it is ideal for both business and leisure travelers. Soothe away frazzled nerves in the hotel's spa while the brasserie and restaurant offer sumptuous dining experiences with a wide array of culinary specialties. Enjoy the entertainment in the bar and lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Pan Pacific Hotels Group, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your PARKROYAL on Kitchener Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parkroyal On Kitchener Road Hotel Singapore
Parkroyal On Kitchener Road Singapore
New Park Hotel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing