We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best location and service!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Inn at Temple Street
Ranked #173 of 317 Hotels in Singapore
Reviewed June 5, 2013

The location is great. Very near to markets and food stalls. A few minutes leisurely stroll would bring you to Clarke Quay.

There were 9 of us and I reserved 4 twin rooms. I specifically requested for twin beds for more flexibility. I was informed via email that they only have 3 twin rooms for the days that we will be there and that the other room would have a double bed. I said ok to this. Imagine my surprise when we were checking in when Bernard gave us 5 rooms for the price of 4! This was an awesome gesture and great customer service.

Great service plus great location = The Inn at Temple Street.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tonypet1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (353)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

157 - 163 of 353 reviews

Reviewed May 23, 2013 via mobile

As the title says, the hotel rooms are extremely dusty . The carpets don't look like they've been vacuumed for ages. The aircon filter on the ceiling is thick with inches of dust. The smell of stale air laden by old carpet smell is the first thing you will be welcomed with as you enter your room. My mum was ill during our visit and it got worse because of the dust. She even attempted to do some room cleaning service herself and gathered huge layers of dust on her tissues. We had to request them to clean the filter. My mom watched the cleaning guys clean the room and as suspexted they don't vacuum. They sweep instead... sweep..... carpet....... The dust is so bad that i developed eye allergies again and wake up everyday with swollen eyes and blocked nose. If you are sensitive to dust and have asthma.... please stay away!!

Apart from the dust, the hotel itself is mediocre. There's no lift... so you will have to carry your own heavy luggage up flights of stairs. Don't expect voluntary help with your luggage. It's a 3 star hotel according to some sites ... but it really is a deceiving rating as you don't get any 3 star service. The only commendable service is the staff politeness and friendliness. The interior is unique. Apart from that the hotel is nothing but a dusty room for you to stay in with no other additional amenities and features. My review would be less negative if the hotel was given a 2 star rating in the first place.

All in all, i can't recommend this hotel to anyone. There are better ones just nearby.

2  Thank Sean W
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed May 16, 2013

Location is the best, just 200 m from the prominent Chinatown MRT (can walk even with wheeled baggage- we had 4!), which is connected to every part of the city's sights by MRT/ bus. The hip Clark Quay is about a 5 min walk away.
The rooms are clean, have a window and all essential facilities. For the price, and the location (right on temple street), it is a great pick for solo, family, or backpackers. Enough free literature available at the reception and quite efficient staff, though not too inclined for friendly banter, unless required!
Eating out is a dream (though an expensive one compared to other parts of SE Asia!), with a hundred options of varying budgets all around. Plus, the Pagoda Street and Smith Street are right adjacent (shopping), as are Food Street, Mariamman Temple and the Buddha Tooth Relic Temple (a must see, including its museum on 3rd floor).
No lift (but it has rooms just on 1st and 2nd floors), but well indicated on the hotel website.
Small rooms, but packs everything in that space efficiently; plus it's the centre of Singapore, so can't expect huge rooms for that price!
Ask for rooms with windows, which show you the Singapore skyline (though not much of it shows from the small window and packed area!). First floor better for lesser climb (no lift, remember!).
You can also leave your baggage at the reception after you check out, in case required, to walk around some more.

Room Tip: Choose rooms on first floor if you have difficulty climbing stairs or if you have a lot of baggage...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shyamnambiar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2013

As many people before me pointing out how small the room is, and yes it is very small compare to European room size! But is a good stay for a budget traveler. Near the MRT and market. The staff speak and understand english. It has AC, refrigerator and you who complain about the TV only have 3 channels. Who visit another city/country just to watch TV? Well i did and it has more than 3 channels as far i can remember. Would pick another season and more money to get a better hotel next time though.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank janguke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2013

After past experiences in other hotels in Singapore, this time we spent (just) one night here while in transit to Bali the day after. This very nice hotel, well renovated, is located in Temple Street in the heart of Chinatown. The MRT station is only a few meters far, so if you are looking for a quick accommodation (one or two nights) in the city, the Inn can be in my opinion good value for money considering that a good hotel in Singapore means not a cheap solution!
The rooms are small but so deliciously furnished and in any case quiet, the bed was comfortable. Bathroom equipped with needed amenities and with a quite large shower!
Tea & coffee maker included. AC working well. The only little problem is the absence of an elevator in the building.
We fly often to Singapore and will surely come back to the Inn due to its excellent position.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoanneTorino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2013

I travel to Singapore regularly & have always wanted to stay in the Chinatown area, so stayed at The Inn at Temple Street last year.

The location is great - all the restaurants & shopping right at the door & also only a couple of minutes walk to Chinatown MRT.

The rooms are small but very nicely furnished/appointed, clean & have all the amenities that you would want. The front desk staff are really friendly & helpful.

I would recommend this hotel & will be staying here again in December.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NettsG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

The hotel is well located near the MRT in Chinatown and good eating places. Rooms are small but clean. Staff is nice and helpful. Hotels are more expensive in Singapore than somewhere else in Asia so quality for the money is not the same.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank harvesteri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Chinatown
Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen
Chinatown
Jinshan Hotel
Jinshan Hotel
#269 of 317 in Singapore
381 reviews
Chinatown
Hotel 81 - Chinatown
Hotel 81 - Chinatown
#236 of 317 in Singapore
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
Park 22 Hotel
Park 22 Hotel
#280 of 317 in Singapore
198 reviews
Chinatown
Bliss Hotel Singapore
Bliss Hotel Singapore
#88 of 317 in Singapore
684 reviews
Chinatown
Hotel Mono
Hotel Mono
#118 of 317 in Singapore
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Temple Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Temple Street

Address: 36 Temple Street, Singapore 058581, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore > Chinatown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #173 of 317 Hotels in Singapore
Price Range: $71 - $157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Inn at Temple Street 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perankan styles boutique hotel with intricately carved wooden furniture, antique artifacts, & well painted murals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Fastbooking, Hotels.com, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Inn at Temple Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Temple Street Hotel Singapore
Hotel At Temple Street
At Temple Street Singapore
Bed Breakfast Singapore
The Inn At Temple Street Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing