We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value great location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel 1929

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel 1929
Ranked #127 of 308 Hotels in Singapore
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good value great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014

For a good price got a decent size room. Staff were pleasant and the breakfast was nicely prepared and presented. This is a happening area of Singapore and it was easy to get around from here. Can't fault it really.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JonSimLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UnlistedCollection, Sales Executive at Hotel 1929, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear JonSimLondon,

Greetings!

Thank you very much for your kind review of Hotel 1929. It was certainly a pleasure for our team to have had you with us and to know that you had enjoyed your stay.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again the next time your travels bring you back to Singapore. In the meantime, do check out our Unlisted Collection properties in London namely, One Leicester Street, 196 Bishopsgate and The Townhall Hotel which house restaurants such as the Corner Room and Viajante just to name a few.

Yours,
Lyndel Joyce
Unlisted Collection: Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

556 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    254
    125
    39
    26
See reviews for
26
226
133
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

We stayed here twice on our way to and from other places.

Staff are great and the location is pretty good, in the middle of china town and close to lots of restaurants, bars and the MRT.

The rooms are pretty small, but the beds are comfortable, airconditioning is great and the showers are good.

The chairs scattered around the hotel, reading matter in the room off the foyer and the teddy bear that moves around chairs made us smile. There's really good coffee just around the corner.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stuartnjane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UnlistedCollection, Sales Executive at Hotel 1929, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear stuartnjane,

Thank you so much for your time in writing a review of your recent stay at Hotel 1929. The team is very delighted to hear this compliment of them.

As Hotel 1929 is housed in a sensitively restored building, we recognise that our rooms are spatially challenged. Nevertheless, we are glad our quirky furniture made you smile.

We hope to welcome you again soon!

Keep well and safe travels!

Cheers,
Lyndel Joyce
Unlisted Collection: Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
167 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013

For those on a less than astronomical budget Chinatown is a great place to stay and the Keong Saik Road area now has a host of wonderful uber trendy restaurants as well as the street and hawker food. It is also easy to walk and use the MRT to anywhere. This hotel is in a great location and has all you need or want for a short break or longer if in a suite. All the staff were smiling, helpful and responsive to any request. Breakfast is good in the Ember restaurant, which is popular for evening meals.

For a couple of nights the funkily designed rooms are fine though small. As we were here for a week we upgraded to a larger room with its own roof terrace and outdoor bath, which was superb. We loved sitting up there in the evening watching people at the Hindu temple or heading for the restaurants nearby. Free water, juices, cokes and yoghurts is a nice touch.

We made use of their sister hotel's excellent gym and pool most days for free and only 2 minutes away. This added 5 star value to our stay. Wifi is good and I am typing this on a tablet lent by the hotel.


Overall, this was an excellent hotel at a good price in a great location. Highly recommended but do expect small standard rooms.

Room Tip: Ask for a rooftop suite if space is needed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank michael p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UnlistedCollection, Sales Executive at Hotel 1929, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
Dear michael p

Greetings from sunny Singapore!

Thank you very much for this lovely review of your recent stay with us!

The team is very delighted to read your compliments and trust that you enjoyed the services and amenities that we have so lovingly prepared. As a boutique hotel, our guests are able to enjoy an intimate setting and personalised service. We are also very glad that you had a superb time in our Terrace Suite equipped with an outdoor bathtub and a private patio. Indeed, our sister hotel, New Majestic Hotel, is located a road away and has facilities such as a gym and pool.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again the next time your travels bring you back to Singapore.

Cheers,
Lyndel Joyce
Unlisted Collection: Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
816 reviews
144 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 267 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2013

Found this write up quite difficult as I had to balance the plusses against the minuses and it came out a DRAW! Hotel is in a great location on the edge of Chinatown. As such it is near restaurants, eating stalls, bars, cafes. Its biggest plus is that it is 5 mins stroll to the MRT!!!!

The hotel looks very nice from the outside - oldie Singapore. The staff on reception are the best I have encountered in a very long time - smiling, helpful and interested. We arrived at 1am and the reception was just great and check in very fast.

We had room 201, a pizza slice shaped room (it acually had 7 sides), that overlooked the main road. Room had 2 windows with secondary glazing with a "queen?" sized bed against the outside wall. It was VERY compact and I mean compact. Space is optimal but very well used. There is really no laying out space - it is a small shelf and limited hanging space. Below the bed was 2 drawers on wheels that could be used for storing clothes and it was also where the safe was. The bed was comfy but cosy!! Room has a large TV, tea/coffee makings, efficient A/C, free WiFi. Cases can be stored under the bed - however, if you arrive with a lot of cases it would be a problem.

At the point of the room wedge is a combined shower/toilet wet room with a glass front (the bottom of it is opaque - for modesty). Shower is rainfall type with a hand extension. It does get wet in there and you usually have to dry the toilet seat before using it.

Breakfast is pretty basic and was passable but not great (the croissants were good) - it was included in our deal. In reception there is free nibbles, water and soda.

We spent 5 days there and by the end of it were not that sure about the smallness of the room. Yes , price wise - it was good value for Singapore but it was the smallest room I have stayed in , in a very long time. The noise from the street was not bad during the day but at night around 2-3am the noise woke us up every night and I wear ear plugs!. It was the dustmen and their 76 piece orchestra!!!

So you can see why I have mixed feelings - having to balance out location versus room space and noise.

On balance if I could, I'd have moved.

Room Tip: Any room not facing the main roads and the side lanes!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Honisoiquimalypense
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UnlistedCollection, Sales Executive at Hotel 1929, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear Honisoiquimalypense,

Thank you so much for taking time to write a very detailed review of your stay with us. We sincerely appreciate your feedback. The staff are very delighted to hear your compliments to them. We hope you enjoyed the complimentary snacks corner stocked with nibbles and non-alcoholic drinks.

We are indeed located just a stone's throw away from the train station which enabling travelers to commute to Singapore's places of interests very easily. Situated along the fringe of Chinatown, guests can enjoy the many restaurants and bars peppered along the quaint Keong Saik Street.

Housed in a conservation shophouse, we recognize that some of our rooms are a little spatially challenged hence, every space is optimised. Having said that, we also want to address your comment on the noise disturbance. The streets can be a little bustling at night, and we would be glad to offer and assist with a room change if we do have an availability facing the back lane. Please accept our apologies for any inconvenience caused.

If your travel brings you back to Singapore, do try our sister hotels New Majestic Hotel located one road away from Hotel 1929. With bigger room space and facilities such as gym and a swimming pool, we reckon you might enjoy it.

We hope that you would allow us the opportunity to welcome you back.

Till then, keep safe!

Cheers,
Lyndel Joyce
Unlisted Collection: Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kununurra, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2013

Really enjoyed my stay at Hotel 1929 as a single person in a double room with a balcony overlooking the street. The little balcony was lovely and I did not find the street particularly noisy. Also liked the early bells from the Indian temple. It is in Chinatown but far enough away from touristy Pagoda Street to not be over-crowded. The wonderful Tong Ah restaurant is just up the road. The room had a comfortable bed and very good internet. Needed to do work on my computer but floor space was too small to sit at ledge/desk on the chair so I put the computer on a pillow on the bed. Even though the bathroom was small the fittings were good and I found the shower handle easy to manage. Yes it is glass but it is frosted in the significant areas. Singapore is so expensive if you want a room with a window. I am willing to compromise on the space to stay somewhere with a window provided I can work. Enough floor space to sit at the desk would have been good. Liked the free bottled water and the lovely helpful staff. Coffee was quite good at breakfast but not as good as the Kopi-C Kosong at Ah Meng at the Zoo!
There was no fridge for the milk I need for my first coffee of the morning. Can buy it at the 7/11 close by but it goes off if you don't use it fast enough. Singapore does not seem to have the current staple of outback Australia, UHT milk, and I don't like the coffee whitener supplied. On only one day out of seven there were lovely noodles at breakfast. The congee was quite nice but no other rice was on offer. It would be good if they offered were real Singapore specialities. However you can skip the breakfast and walk to the Chinatown Complex just down the street where there is a wonderful cornucopia of possibilities at very cheap prices. It was good that the hotel had the Straits Times in the morning as I found lots of things to do listed in the "Life" section.

Room Tip: I like being able to see the street and did not find it noisy even though others did. I was tired af...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nambijin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UnlistedCollection, Sales Executive at Hotel 1929, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear nambijin,

Warm Greetings from Singapore!

We appreciate you taking time to share this review for all of us here at Tripadvisor. Sounds like you’re a frequent traveler to Singapore and you know your Kopi-C Kosong well! We are very delighted to have hosted your stay and that you had the opportunity to enjoy the services and facilities around the hotel. Indeed, we are located along the fringe of Chinatown where one can bask in the old world charm and rich history of Keong Saik Street. I’m sure you must have enjoyed the popular local coffeeshop, Tong Ah, where we locals indulge in our morning Kopi and Toast!

Your compliments for our staff make us feel proud to be doing what we’re doing. We also hoped you enjoyed the snacks bar at the reception where guests can help themselves to unlimited traditional Singapore biscuits and non-alcoholic drinks. Housed in a conservation building, we recognise that some of our rooms are compact. Perhaps we could have you try our sister hotels New Majestic Hotel located within the Hotel 1929 vicinity and Wanderlust Hotel in Little India in your next visit. We reckon you might enjoy it too!

Till then, safe travels

Warm Regards,
Lyndel Joyce
Unlisted Collection: Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Level Contributor
61 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2013

Lovely boutique place. Good value for notoriously expensive SG.
Only 5-6 mins walk to MRT.
Lots of local restaurants & bars nearby

Points to be aware of
1. My room, a standard , so small that the bed only place to open my case. Floor space at a premium.
2. My AC placed directly above bed head so either shiver or sweat was my choice. Your room may be different.

Staff nice and helpful but the above points have driven me to the sister hotel Wanderlust for my next trip.
Review to follow.

Room Tip: Try to avoid rooms over the ® body road out front. It's a night time entertainment area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EOCBrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UnlistedCollection, Sales Executive at Hotel 1929, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Dear EOCBrighton,

Greetings from Hotel 1929!

Thank you for your time in writing this very honest feedback. Housed in a conservation shophouse, we recognize that some of our rooms are a little spatially challenged. Having said that, we are very pleased to hear your comment about our wonderful staff. Indeed, they are our valuable assets.

We reckon you might love Wanderlust Hotel if you are into quirky fun accommodations located in a colourful bustling Little India. We hope to have you stay with us again soon!

Till then, safe travels.

Cheers,
Lyndel Joyce
Unlisted Collection: Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

The Pluses - Excellent location. Located at a district undergoing a major renaissance. where the old and the new marry amicably. Free snacks, water and soda. Hotel design is minimalist and no frills, but works for me. The balcony is real cute and gives you a good view of the street. The front desk staff were pretty good and attentive. Good price by Singapore standards.

The Minuses - The rooms are very small and a little tired. Not for the claustrophobic. The combined bathroom within a very small space didn't quite work for me. Power tripped in the room originally allocated, but was changed a room within the next 15mins. Air conditioning was noisy and musty. The walls are not insulated from sound so be prepared to wake up to rowdy neighbours in the middle of the night.

Room Tip: Rooms facing Keong Saik Road has cute balconies that overlook the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tanbernard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UnlistedCollection, Sales Executive at Hotel 1929, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear tanbernard,

Greetings from Hotel 1929 and thank you for your detailed feedback.

It is heartening to know that you enjoyed our location, peppered with restaurant and bars. The front desk staff will be delighted to know this compliment of them.

Housed in a conservation shophouse, we recognize that some of our rooms are a little spatially challenged. Perhaps you can swing by our sister property located just one street away, New Majestic Hotel, which might provide a more viable option for your future stay.

Once again, thank you for your valuable comments and we hope to have another opportunity to be of service to you.

Kind Regards,
Lyndel Joyce
Sales Executive
Unlisted Collection: Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Chinatown
Naumi Liora
Naumi Liora
#97 of 308 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 794 reviews
Chinatown
The Scarlet Singapore
The Scarlet Singapore
#55 of 308 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,466 reviews
Chinatown
Keong Saik Hotel
Keong Saik Hotel
#110 of 308 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
Bliss Hotel Singapore
Bliss Hotel Singapore
#83 of 308 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
New Majestic Hotel
#81 of 308 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 699 reviews
Little India
Wanderlust
Wanderlust
#93 of 308 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 1929? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 1929

Property: Hotel 1929
Address: 50 Keong Saik Road, Singapore 089154, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore > Chinatown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #127 of 308 Hotels in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel 1929 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a city incandescent with modernity, in a town jiving with culture and on a street steeped in history, Hotel 1929 beckons with a whimsical mix of old world architecture and a nouveau chic interior.The hotel consists of fiver conservation shop-houses built in 1929, and features 32 individually designed rooms decked in a mix of classic designer and retro vintage furniture. 1929 is conveniently located near the Chinatown MRT station, a short walk away from the buzzing clubs and restaurants located at Club Street, and a 5 minute taxi ride from the heart of the business district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel 1929 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel 1929 Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing