We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“China Town Living” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel 1929

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel 1929
Ranked #127 of 308 Hotels in Singapore
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
135 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“China Town Living”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

Located very conveniently near the subway but still definitely part of China Town. Some design touches make it quirky. I did not like my room without any windows, or shall I say ones I could not see out of (skylights). Modern walk in wet room is nice. Very nice Asian/Continental breakfast with most friendly staff. On international rating, I say 3 stars, but somehow this establishment has extra character.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the first or second floor, they have a view of the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PartrickL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UnlistedCollection, Manager at Hotel 1929, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Dear partrick I,

Hellos from Hotel 1929!
Thank you for your great review.

We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Although all our rooms are fitted with windows, some of the ones on the top floor are only fitted with skylight windows. For a room with a view, do request for a room on the lower floors the next time you are back with us.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon!

Best regards,
Joanna Ortega
Assistant Sales Manager
Unlisted Collection: Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

556 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    254
    125
    39
    26
See reviews for
26
226
133
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

I booked the Terrace Suite because I was attracted to the hotel's concept of having a bathtub outdoor at the suite itself. However, to my great disappointment, the surrounding buildings can actually look at whoever's using that bathtub! No privacy at all! I checked with the hotel receptionist and she just replied that all the outdoor bathtubs are like that. Well, with the amount of $300 plus for this kind of suite, I can easily find another better one.

The room itself is small, and sometimes the heater doesn't really work. Service is good though, but breakfast is limited and taste normal.

With the disappointment I have, I don't think I will consider staying in this hotel or recommend it to my friends.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rainabelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UnlistedCollection, Manager at Hotel 1929, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Dear Rainabelle,

Greetings from Hotel 1929!
Thank you for your valuable feedback.

We are disappointed that you had a less than satisfactory experience staying with us. Both our Terrace Suites have open-concept outdoor bathtubs set out on the terrace. Perhaps you may like to try our sister property, New Majestic Hotel, instead. With bigger rooms and more facilities, you may find it more to your liking. Additionally, our Premier Garden rooms in New Majestic Hotel each have their own private veranda that is furnished with a vintage cast-iron bathtub.

We hope that you will allow us another opportunity to be of service to you.

Best regards,
Joanna Ortega
Assistant Sales Manager
Unlisted Collection: Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Singapore hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Brisbane
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

We had one night at the 1929 and found the hotel to be small and very comfortable. We had a corner room with enough room to open our bags and spread out. No problems with the wet bathroom and the wash basin on the outside wall as we have had both of these things previously in Thailand and Laos. Loved the location a nice walk to Club Street. When next we stay over in Singapore we would definitely stay here again as it had all the things we liked for a short stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MTMTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UnlistedCollection, Manager at Hotel 1929, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear MTMTravellers,

Warm hellos from the team at Hotel 1929!
Thank you for your great feedback.

We are glad that you had a comfortable stay with us, and that you enjoyed the hotel's central location.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Best regards,
Joanna Ortega
Assistant Sales Manager
Unlisted Collection: Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

I was recently at this hotel for our honeymoon ( 5 day trip ). Location, service, amenities provided are all really good for the money. It was one of the few hotels in our research that provided breakfast and Free Internet Wi - Fi in the package and at a really competitive price.
The staff is very hospitable ( esp this one lady at breakfast ) and cheery. The service at the hotel is good too.
There are only a couple of cons to this place which is i think a problem with most 3,4 star hotels in Singapore - the SIZE of the room. The rooms are tiny, really tiny but packed with everything you need. Make sure you dont travel with too much luggage and it would ideally be a 1 person room but 2 is the MAX.
WE luckily had a balcony in our room, which was especially nice when we need some air, Be sure to get one with Balcony.
But overall, good place, good people, conveniently located to the MRTs. Good Stay!

Room Tip: Rooms are tiny, get one with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sandra2503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UnlistedCollection, Manager at Hotel 1929, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear Sandra2503,

Greetings from the team at Hotel 1929!
Thank you for your valuable feedback.

We are pleased that you had an excellent time staying with us. We hope to be of service to you again soon.

In the meanwhile, safe travels!

Best regards,
Joanna Ortega
Assistant Sales Manager
Unlisted Collection: Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

I am not kidding the room ends as soon as you step into it. The hotel was really nice and cozy and the staff are quite friendly and helpful as well. Breakfast was pretty decent too, though it gets boring after a couple of days cause the menu is the same everyday. But the rooms are really really small, I guess that's just the way it is in many hotels in Singapore. Overall except for the size of the room, I would definitely stay again at this hotel. They do a have a nice little patio as well that served complimentary local flavored icecreams that were quite delicious. to add they also provide complimentary WiFi. All in all its a good deal for what you pay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
1 Thank DLEE2107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UnlistedCollection, Manager at Hotel 1929, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear DLEE2107,

Greetings from Hotel 1929!
Thank you for your feedback.

We recognize that some of the rooms are rather petite in size; perhaps you may like to request for a larger room the next time you stay with us. We are also glad to note that the team was helpful and friendly, and that you appreciated the complimentary treats that were provided.

We hope to welcome you back soon!

Best regards,
Joanna Ortega
Assistant Sales Manager
Unlisted Collection: Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

Upon check in the staff could not have been friendlier. They always went out of their way to greet us each time we saw them, even the cleaning staff, which made us feel very welcome. We had a standard room which was small, especially with large amounts of luggage, but we expected that and its fine as long as you are happy to pop the suitcases back under the bed once you've finished with them. The tiny mini bar was refilled each day with two complimentary bottles of water and two soft drinks. The included breakfast was great in the adjoining restaurant which included continental foods as well as a full cooked breakfast with eggs of your choice. The bed was pretty comfortable, and the room was very modern and clean. The air conditioner was extremely effective, although a little bit noisy at night, but after walking around Singapore all day we didn't have any trouble sleeping. The bathroom is surrounded in glass, so make sure you are VERY comfortable with the person you are sharing with. There is a shared outdoor patio with lounges where you can have a free ice cream each day which was a cute touch. There are cheap places close by to eat, including the main Chinatown strip only about a 5-10 min walk away, and a 7 Eleven just down the street which is pretty handy. If you are planning to walk everywhere as we did you may want to find somewhere a little closer to the river and the main attractions, and if you are staying longer than just a two night stop over I would probably look for a hotel with bigger rooms and more amenities. But for a short budget stay I would highly recommend Hotel 1929.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hails123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UnlistedCollection, Manager at Hotel 1929, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Dear hails123,

Hellos from Hotel 1929!
Thank you for your wonderful compliments.

We are pleased that the team was welcoming and amiable, and that they made your stay all the more enjoyable and memorable. We are also happy to note that you appreciated the complimentary mini-bar in your room, as well as the complimentary ice-cream available in the patio area.

Housed in a conservation building, we admit that the rooms are rather compact. Perhaps you may like to request for a bigger room the next time you are with us.

We look forward to having you back with us soon!

Best regards,
Joanna Ortega
Assistant Sales Manager
Unlisted Collection: Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
126 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012

Fantastic Location which is near the subway and China Town. The hotel was transformed from an old Chinese building into the modern chic design that it has today. You will love the feeling that you are not staying in a standard cooperate hotel. The receptionist was exceptionally helpful. What's great is the minibar is free! The only drawback that I have is the room (well, I booked the smallest one) is a bit small so I'd strongly recommend that you don't go for the smallest room type. Other than that, it's really nice. Try to get a room with the balcony because it will definitely bring you back to what it was like 50 or 60 years ago!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Antony_Yiu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UnlistedCollection, Manager at Hotel 1929, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Antony_Yiu,

Greetings from the team at Hotel 1929!
Thank you for your generous review.

We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel. Hotel 1929 does indeed embody the unique heritage of Chinatown, whilst providing modern comforts to the traveller.

We are also happy to note that the team was especially helpful to you during your stay, and we look forward to being of service to you again soon.

Best regards,
Joanna Ortega
Assistant Sales Manager
Unlisted Collection: Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Chinatown
Naumi Liora
Naumi Liora
#97 of 308 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 794 reviews
Chinatown
The Scarlet Singapore
The Scarlet Singapore
#55 of 308 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,466 reviews
Chinatown
Keong Saik Hotel
Keong Saik Hotel
#110 of 308 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
Bliss Hotel Singapore
Bliss Hotel Singapore
#83 of 308 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
New Majestic Hotel
#81 of 308 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 699 reviews
Little India
Wanderlust
Wanderlust
#93 of 308 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 1929? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 1929

Property: Hotel 1929
Address: 50 Keong Saik Road, Singapore 089154, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore > Chinatown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #127 of 308 Hotels in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel 1929 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a city incandescent with modernity, in a town jiving with culture and on a street steeped in history, Hotel 1929 beckons with a whimsical mix of old world architecture and a nouveau chic interior.The hotel consists of fiver conservation shop-houses built in 1929, and features 32 individually designed rooms decked in a mix of classic designer and retro vintage furniture. 1929 is conveniently located near the Chinatown MRT station, a short walk away from the buzzing clubs and restaurants located at Club Street, and a 5 minute taxi ride from the heart of the business district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel 1929 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel 1929 Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing