We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A stylish hotel in a great location...”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel 1929

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel 1929
Ranked #127 of 306 Hotels in Singapore
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“A stylish hotel in a great location...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2011

Although the room is small, it was very clean and comfortable. We had no problem with room size for 2 people and found it had everything we needed. The furnishings are lovely and the bed was very comfortable. The room design really helps you appreciate what can be done in a small space and we were impressed with what they have achieved.

The staff are friendly and helpful, with one member of staff going out of their way to accommodate our change in travel plans.

We loved the location as it was only a short walk to Chinatown markets and eateries.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OntheRoadOpenAir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UnlistedCollection, Manager at Hotel 1929, responded to this review, December 27, 2011
Greetings from the team at Hotel 1929!

We appreciate your generous compliments and pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to having you back with us so we may be of service to you once again.

Best regards,
Mae Noor
Marketing Communications Manager
Unlisted Collection: Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

566 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    257
    127
    39
    26
See reviews for
26
229
136
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2011

We stayed in this hotel for 3 nights in Nov-11 and chose to return for another night in Dec-11.

The rooms were very small. On our first visit, the room we had was only just big enough to take a double bed - there was approx 50cm around the side and bottom of the bed, so there was not really adequate space for luggage. On our second stay, the room was considerably larger - ask for a corner room to get the space.

The bed was comfortable and the air-con was relatively quiet.
The 'bathroom' was more a shower cubicle with a toilet inside. The glass doors were a bit odd and offered little privacy. The hot water ran out after approx 5mins, which wasn't long enough for 2 people to shower in. However, it did reheat within approx 15mins so it was not a huge problem.

There was free, fast WiFi throughout the hotel.

Everything was very clean, in the room and throughout the hotel.

Breakfast was OK with a good selection of cereals, croissants, toast, a cooked breakfast and fresh fruit.

The location is good, being close (approx 5mins walk) to Outram Park MRT (on the green and purple lines) and a short walk to Chinatown. A taxi to the airport at 5am only costed $25.
There is a temple opposite the hotel, which rings bells for approx 20mins from 07.30 each morning, so it was quite noisy in the mornings.

The hotel is good value for money. The location and quality of the rooms more than makes up for the small size.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the corners to get a bigger room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cs6345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UnlistedCollection, Manager at Hotel 1929, responded to this review, December 27, 2011
Dear cs6345, warm hellos from Hotel 1929!

Thank you for your kind feedback. Although small, the space has been designed to accommodate the basic necessities of a modern traveller. We're glad you enjoyed the amenities in the hotel along with the easy access of the surrounding area.

Alternatively, we do have our sister properties, the New Majestic Hotel just a street away in Chinatown and Wanderlust located in Little India. We hope to have you back with us so we may be of service to you once again.

Best regards,
Mae Noor
Marketing Communications Manager
Unlisted Collection: Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longmont, Colorado
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2011

If you want to take someone to a very unique and different hotel, away from the big chains and expansive rooms, this is the place. Architecturally the rooms are impressive. They are also small. You are paying for the experience, not the space. And the glass enclosed bathroom, while impressive for what it was, didn't give my wife the privacy she would have preferred. I'm glad we stayed here once, but don't need to go back.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eric M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UnlistedCollection, Manager at Hotel 1929, responded to this review, December 27, 2011
Dear Eric M,

Thank you for taking the time to drop us a note here. Should you be in town the next time, perhaps you would like to try New Majestic Hotel, our sister property on the next street. With bigger rooms, a gym and outdoor pool as its facilities, it might provide a more viable option for your future stay.

We hope that you would allow us the opportunity to welcome you back.

Best regards,
Mae Noor
Marketing Communications Manager
Unlisted Collection: Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
121 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2011

Yes. My single room was tiny. Not small, but tiny. I could sit on the bed and wash my hands in the sink, rummage through my luggage, and write on the desk. But I was prepared based on the reviews I read here.

The room is very clean as was the bathroom (if I can call it that). The sink is part of the room and the shower and toilet is enclosed in glass in a tiny space. At least my room had a window so it didn't seem so compact. The tv has plenty of channels and good reception. There is also free wifi throughout the hotel with a strong signal. The doors and walls are very thin, so it could be a problem for you if you're a light sleeper. I heard my neighbors talk in the hallway and open/close their room doors.

The hotel staff are very friendly, helpful, and eager to please. Check-in was seamless. They greeted me by name. Check-out was a little hectic as the receptionist had to answer the phone, hail a cab for another customer, assist another guest with his luggage, and check me out of the hotel. Breakfast service at the adjacent restaurant was excellent. It wasn't a giant spread, but they offer fresh fruits, juices, coffee/tea, toast, cereals, as well as eggs made to order with potatoes, bacon, and sausage.

There are a few local restaurants near the hotel and a hawker center just a block away. It is also near the Pearl Center where you can find fresh yummy Chinese street food, cheap foot massages, and hair salons. The closest MRT station is Chinatown and it's about a 3-5 minute walk. The hotel offers airport pick-up/drop-off, but I took the airport shuttle for $9 SGD (approximately $7.50 USD), which is an good value. A cab ride to the Botanical Gardens cost me $7 SGD (including tip) and $5 SGD to Marina Bay Sands.

Room Tip: Request a room with a window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank i-gots-wanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UnlistedCollection, Manager at Hotel 1929, responded to this review, December 27, 2011
Warm hellos from the team at Hotel 1929!

We appreciate your kind feedback and pleased that you enjoyed the in-room amenities as well as what the surrounding area has to offer. Our guests' ease and comfort is on top of our priority list and we will definitely do what we can to eradicate/minimise the noise issue you experienced.

We hope that you would allow us the opportunity to welcome you back and would like to recommend our sister hotel, Wanderlust located in Little India for your future stay.

Best regards,
Mae Noor
Marketing Communications Manager
Unlisted Collection: Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2011

We had layovers in Singapore before and after our Bali trip, so what we were after was budget accommodations close to everything. I have to say that this was the smallest hotel room that I've ever stayed in. I was sharing the room with my partner, and it was quite awkward and tight at times. The toilet is _in_ the glassed-off shower area which opens directly onto the room/bed. I would not recommend this room to couples who are not extremely intimate as there really is no privacy whatsoever. The room smelled a bit musty/moldy at all times, probably as a result of the A/C not being on when the room is not occupied; as a result, the bathroom/shower area never has a chance of completely drying out. There are clubs and restaurants directly outside your windows, so do not expect a quiet hotel experience.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Icarus5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UnlistedCollection, Manager at Hotel 1929, responded to this review, December 27, 2011
Dear Icarus5, hello from the team at Hotel 1929.

Thank you for your feedback. Being in a conservations shophouse, space is indeed very much a constraint. Perhaps the next time you are in town, we could have you try New Majestic Hotel, our sister property on the next quieter street in Chinatown. With bigger rooms, a gym and an outdoor pool as its facilities, we hope you might enjoy it more.

Looking forward to be of service to you again.

Best regards,
Mae Noor
Marketing Communications Manager
Unlisted Collection: Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
51 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2011

Our room was very small but I expected that having read other reviews - imagine a square with a corner cut off that forms the shower & toilet (the hand basin is in the room) so you can use the toilet & shower at the same time. If you travel light then fine as there are no wardrobes to hang clothes. The TV was fine and the radio has an iPod dock plus a mini fridge with complimentary water & cola that was restocked every day and free WIFI. The doors do let noise in and some people can't seem to close a door without it slamming but that is not the hotels fault. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The metro is quite close (Outram Park) and Chinatown is walking distance. You do hear the local temple ring a bell at 7.30am every morning but we used that as an alarm clock. All in all a satisfactory hotel.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DiamondGeezerUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UnlistedCollection, Manager at Hotel 1929, responded to this review, December 27, 2011
Greetings from Hotel 1929!

The team appreciates your kind feedback and understanding. We're also pleased that you enjoyed the amenities provided and would like to recommend our sister properties, the New Majestic Hotel just a street away and Wanderlust in Little India for your future stay.

Thank you once again, and we hope to have you back with us soon.


Best regards,
Mae Noor
Marketing Communications Manager
Unlisted Collection: Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
95 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2011

I stayed here for only one night transiting through to another city. Therefore, I have to say that I didn’t get to spend a lot of time in the hotel and did not know anything much about the location apart from that it is in China Town.

The hotel is nicely decorated and has its unique charms of being a modern hotel with retro feelings. Its premise is clean and new. The staff were efficient. As for the room, this has got to be the smallest hotel room I’ve ever stayed at. I stayed in one of their superior single rooms and felt quite claustrophobic. The room is tiny but functional and clean. The hotel did take care of all the details. But considering the room rate, which was not cheap, I don’t think it’s good value for money at all. I also was struggling with the shower, which was combined with the toilet. The shower and the toilet are put together in a kind-of shower cubicle that made up the entire bathroom, and the sink is outside, next to the bed. While I think this hotel is really not for me, my colleague who stayed here so many times and even for one extended stay seems to really love it (hence her recommendation for us to stay here this time.).

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeonyThailand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UnlistedCollection, Manager at Hotel 1929, responded to this review, December 27, 2011
Greetings from the team at Hotel 1929!

Thank you for the feedback and we are disappointed that we didn't meet your expectations during your stay with us. Housed in a conservations shophouse, we do admit the rooms are a little compact. It has been designed to the best of our ability to accommodate the basic needs and allow the conveniences of a modern traveller.

Alternatively, we also do have another sister hotel, New Majestic Hotel, on the next street, which is bigger and might provide a more viable option for your future stay. We hope that you would allow us the opportunity to welcome you back so we may be of service to you once again.


Best regards,
Mae Noor
Marketing Communications Manager
Unlisted Collection: Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Naumi Liora
#100 of 306 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 813 reviews
Keong Saik Hotel
#114 of 306 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
Chinatown
The Scarlet Singapore
The Scarlet Singapore
#51 of 306 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
Bliss Hotel Singapore
Bliss Hotel Singapore
#82 of 306 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 655 reviews
Hotel YAN
#57 of 306 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
Hotel Kai
#118 of 306 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 1929? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 1929

Property: Hotel 1929
Address: 50 Keong Saik Road, Singapore 089154, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore > Chinatown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #127 of 306 Hotels in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel 1929 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a city incandescent with modernity, in a town jiving with culture and on a street steeped in history, Hotel 1929 beckons with a whimsical mix of old world architecture and a nouveau chic interior.The hotel consists of fiver conservation shop-houses built in 1929, and features 32 individually designed rooms decked in a mix of classic designer and retro vintage furniture. 1929 is conveniently located near the Chinatown MRT station, a short walk away from the buzzing clubs and restaurants located at Club Street, and a 5 minute taxi ride from the heart of the business district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel 1929 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel 1929 Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing