We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Be sure the taxi takes you to the right Holiday Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Singapore Orchard City Centre
Ranked #33 of 319 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 7, 2013

At Changi airport, I told the taxi driver we were going to Holiday Inn Orchard City Centre. He was confused and asked if we were going to the Holiday Inn Atrium, and of course, we were not. It is useful to remember that Holiday Inn Orchard City Centre is located on Cavenaugh Road near Orchard Road.

We stayed there over a weekend because the rates were more competitive after Intercontinental Hotels in Singapore provided breakfast and 30% discounts. In 2007, the last time we stayed at this Holiday Inn, it was called Holiday Inn Park View, and in-room wi-fi was so expensive that it drove us away to the Bugis Street area. But In-room wi-fi at the Holiday Inn was free when we booked on their site on the Internet. The confirmation sent by e-mail did not specifically state wi-fi was free, but the reception staff confirmed that it was free when we checked in. Although wi-fi was free, the frequent log-in and acceptance of terms every time you boot up is a nuisance.

Even when we stayed at the Bugis area, we were drawn to the Somerset MRT area near the Centrepoint, Killiney Road Post Office, and many good restaurants such as Lei Garden Orchard and (now) Curry Culture. We have also enjoyed the Indian food in the Tandoor restaurant in the basement of the Holiday Inn. We see in the press that a second Traders Hotel may open on the site of the old Hotel Phoenix next to 313@Somerset, but at the present time, Holiday Inn Orchard City Centre still is the closest Hotel to this prime shopping location.

We were very happy with every aspect of our stay at the Holiday Inn Orchard. When we checked in at 1 pm on a Friday, our room was not ready, but we were content to leave our bags with the concierge and wait until 2 pm for room 801 because it was quiet with no neighbor or street noise. It was at the end of the row of rooms, near the entrance to the pool and fitness center. We had a view of Cuppage Plaza and the street below. The king bed was comfortable as were the variety of pillows. We especially appreciated night lights under the bedside tables, the many universal electrical outlets and the availability of HBO and Fox Movies on the large plasma TV screen. Rooms and bathrooms were kept very clean.

They brought a fruit plate to us. We tried the free welcome drink in the bar downstairs, and we had a choice of wine, beer, or soft drink. The entertainers in the bar lounge were surprisingly good. Buffet breakfast on the 2nd floor was very good—probably as good as it gets for that price range of hotel. It was very well attended during the two mornings we were there.

Service from room cleaning, reception, and concierge to breakfast, was excellent. They let us check out at 1 pm on a Sunday. It is easy to get a taxi in front of the hotel. As long as the free wi-fi, breakfast and 30% discount are still being offered, we recommend this hotel as an excellent value in a prime shopping location.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Staidthere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,284)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,208 - 2,214 of 3,284 reviews

Reviewed February 6, 2013 via mobile

Booked 4 premier rooms with double beds for 2 nights for a family trip. Hotel staff were all very friendly & helpful. We had one of the rooms ready only at 5.00pm which was unacceptably late. Housekeeping services was fast & accommodating. Rooms were clean and always love the pillow variety Holiday Inn has. Very personalized service whereby I received a welcome card as this was my 2nd time staying in the hotel. And they always address by our names whenever we called room service/guest services.
Good location as we had variety of restaurant to eat and shopping malls were close by.
Even though we had one room given to us late during check in, the hotel mgt gave all 4 rooms extended check out time till 2pm despite being a Saturday.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoNunis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013

We stayed in this hotel before joining the cruise ship 'Voyager of the Seas' on 22 October 2012. It was a brief stay but very comfortable. Close to Orchard Road we could easily walk to the shops. The staff were very friendly and the taxis outside the hotel were easy to get considering a lot of people were staying there that were also going on the cruise ship. Check In/Out was fast and efficient. We found the breakfast to be very expensive but there was a good choice available. This hotel suited our needs at the time as one can always rely on the Holiday Inn chain.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dbmartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2013

Being in central is a real plus for this hotel. Few minutes away and youre in the main shopping and dining vicinity. Cabs are present just infront of the hotel.
Reception staffs are welcoming though I found them always occupied but always attentive. Check in is fast as this is not my first time and they recognize me right away. Rooms are nice, clean, big and modern. You really get what you pay.

Breakfast is good as always. I dont find any reason why I will not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bella r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

We stayed here as a family of 2 adults and 3 children (ages 4 & 1). A fantastic lobby and great service downstairs at reception. The rooms were a good size for all of us. The number one benefit of this hotel though is the location. Right on Orchard Road, with great access roads out the back to get to other places. My only complaint is the breakfast is average at best. The hash browns bowl was always empty, the queue for the eggs was too slow and the other food was quite bland. It was a typical 'chain' hotel buffet breakfast, but at the lower end. The pool though on the roof was lovely and a nice surprise.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Hotel located close to many restaurants and bars. 5 minutes walk to the shopping malls on Orchard Road. Cabs were easy to get too outside foyer. We requested a birthday cake while we were there and the hotel gave in complimentary. Room was modern, clean and well serviced. Would stay there again.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
3  Thank Craig H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

We stayed over for 2 nights on the 25th Jan to 27th Jan 2013. The location was very good as they situated just behind Ochard Road and 5 min walk to shopping area. Just behind there are a string of F & B outlets for you to choose from.
The reception staff was quick, courteous and helpful when we check in. the room was clean and good enough for the price you pay.
My daughter left her handphone in the room when we check out and only realized 5 hrs later, the handphone was not with her. We went back and was relieved that they found it. I must compliment Ma-Yue who was the housekeeping staff, who found the phone and handed it back to the management. Great Job, Ma -Yue , for your honesty and thank you.

Room Tip: They have king size or double beds to choose from. The double would be more comfortable as its quite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank limjoyce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Orchard Road
Pan Pacific Orchard
Pan Pacific Orchard
#38 of 319 in Singapore
2,494 reviews
Orchard Road
Holiday Inn Express Singapore Orchard Road
Orchard Road
Concorde Hotel Singapore
Concorde Hotel Singapore
#78 of 319 in Singapore
3,339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Orchard Road
Mandarin Orchard Singapore
Mandarin Orchard Singapore
#73 of 319 in Singapore
10,379 reviews
Royal Plaza on Scotts
#44 of 319 in Singapore
4,494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Singapore Orchard City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Singapore Orchard City Centre

Address: 11 Cavenagh Road, Singapore 229616, Singapore
Phone Number:
Location: Singapore > Singapore > Orchard Road
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Singapore
#22 Business Hotel in Singapore
#27 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#33 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range: $165 - $298 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Singapore Orchard City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 324
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the heart of Singapore's well-known shopping boulevard, Orchard Road, Holiday Inn(R) Singapore Orchard City Centre is just minutes away from the Central Business District, the Somerset and Dhoby Ghaut Mass Rapid Transit (MRT) stations as well as the Central Business District and medical centres including the Paragon Medical Singapore and Mount Elizabeth Medical Centre. Explore the city at ease with popular cultural districts such as Bugis, Chinatown and Little India, and attractions like the Singapore Flyer and Gardens by the Bay all located within close proximity, making us an ideal spot for staycation. Changi Airport is a short 25-minute drive away. The hotel boasts 324 well-appointed guestrooms, 11 state-of-the-art function rooms, a collection of two restaurants and a bar - Tandoor, featuring authentic North Indian cuisine, Window on the Park showcasing Asian and local delights, and Lobby Lounge & Bar which offers the perfect venue to unwind after a business meeting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Singapore Orchard City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Singapore Orchard City Centre Hotel Singapore
Holiday Inn Park View Singapore
Singapore Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing