We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Grand Park City Hall
Ranked #45 of 312 Hotels in Singapore
Bandung, Indonesia
Level Contributor
96 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
Reviewed January 7, 2009

Spent 2 nights there to celebrate the New Years Eve in S'pore. Charming hotel in the very strategic location with proximity to the MRT and many interesting places. The room size is fair with a big double bed and nice touch of decoration, tough I found that the half/half curtain is rather weird considering the function. The bath room size is pretty small but nice tough need some improvement on the layout, it has very limited space to put your toiletries.The staff are courteous and helpfull. The breakfast was great, the food tastes nice, the cafe location and interior is charming. Good value and alternative for hotel other than those lining the Orchard and Marina area(which are getting more expensive nowadays) .

  • Liked — good price, strategic location, decent and beautifully decorated room
  • Disliked — small bath room
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank tuscanyid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,479 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,184
    798
    336
    92
    69
See reviews for
440
815
187
648
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (431)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2009

I booked this hotel based on reviews from TripAdvisor, 4stars classification and price. We spent the New Year night in the hotel too with the hotel organised party in the main hallways and club/bar (except the countdown when we went to see the Singapore Marina fireworks). The overall impression was quite good, very good location - close to everything in Singapore and the MRT, very comfortable bed and good quality linen and the fees/ prices are reasonable good value for money given the overall Singapore prices... The cleaning ladies are good and smiling, the dealings with most of the front desk personnel reasonable. I had two issues during our stay: the main one is the Internet access. It is incredible that in 2008 there is such a problem to connect to Internet in this "4 stars" hotel! The normal fee is AUD 28 (approx USD24) per 24 hours (!!!) or AUD120 for 7 days (!!!). This is a wall / network connection with a short cable, hence no way to browse from the bed. During our stay we bought a new laptop and when trying to access Internet with the new laptop the connection was not working. After quite a few of phone calls to the front desk and a visit from quite a nice gentleman (service manager) we managed to fix it - initially I was told that the connection cannot be transfered from one machine to another?!?. Overall we wasted about 6 hours of our precious holiday time (and probably used the Internet in total 3....4 hours at the most over the 7 days) . We wanted Internet just for brief access times when buying stuff (for reviews and specs) but it became an expensive ($120) , time consuming and source of frustration exercise (and a lot of explaining to the big boss / wife). The other (minor) thing was after the countdown / new year at the hotel party - all was very well until 1AM when just when the guests were really enjoying themselves with most old and young dancing the floor, the band / organiser got tired or bored (who knows) and decided to suddenly close it off !!! , even if initially when asked, the hotel personnel said that the party will go on until 2AM or later if the guests are enjoying.

  • Liked — Location, comfort, bathtub
  • Disliked — Internet access setting and price, some front desk personnel is averagely qualified.
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank ULDan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
45 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2008

Stayed at the Hotel for three wonderful nights and enjoyed every minute of it. We availed of the hotel's weekend promo and was even upgraded to a de luxe room. The hotel is currently undergoing renovation though disturbance is kept to the minimum. Food was excellent and we love their breakfast. The staff were great and provided us with much help when needed. We also love the location its less than 5 mins away from the sub-way station and nearest shopping area. You can also walk to nearby tourist spot like the Singapore flyer, Esplanade and Merlion park. Will definitely stay here again. Though this hotel is not for the budget conscious, but you'll get your money's worth once you try it.

  • Liked — Excellent room, helpful staff and location, location, location
  • Disliked — Hotel is a bit stingy on basic freebies like the toiletries (did not replace soap daily and only 1 pair of slipper) and drinking water
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank jatv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2008

My girlfriend and I stayed here for two nights as part of a Singapore Airlines stopover on the way home from Sydney. From start to finish we were impressed with both the hotel and the staff who work there.

The room was a good size with a comfy kingsize bed, easy chairs, good storage space and a nifty control panel next to the bed which adjusted the aircon and also allowed you to switch every light on and off. Bathroom was great with both bath and separate shower.

The pool on the 3rd floor roof was always quiet and relaxing and a great way to cope with the heat and humidity.

Food too was good, we had breakfast delivered to the room one morning and ate in the main restaurant on the other. The buffet was extensive and such good value. They even have a dedicated egg chef who made exactly what you wanted while you waited.

Best of all was the service and attitude of the staff. From the bell boys who would hunt you down a cab to the concierge who booked us in for High Tea at Raffles and the guys on reception who extended our check-out to 4pm and arranged a FOC courtesy room to freshen up before we flew, everyone was helpful, friendly and went the extra mile.

Good location - 10 mins walk to the Harbour and the Esplanade theatre and metro station across the road.

Would recommend this to anyone on a stopover or main holiday.

  • Liked — The staff
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Ulster_Exile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney, australia
Level Contributor
139 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2008

I stopped by this hotel in early November 2008 and at first it seemed quite alright.
However, as I stepped through the entrance, nobody offered any hint of wanting to assist with my luggage.
The lobby was very well presented and modern, clean and luxurious.
The check-in staff was not amazingly friendly but this being Singapore, where the hospitality standards are probably a little behind Thailand for example, I suppose it was quite standard.
Check-in was quite shocking due to the extreme rudeness of one customer who just handed his passport to the check-in staff and said he'd like to check in, while I was still in the process of being checked in. The whole experience raised questions as to what the hotel staff should do or could do when faced with unreasonable customers who nevertheless bring their custom. Surely, they can't be tolerated to no end.
Upon walking to my room, I found it was a very long walk from the lift. The room was quite pleasant, it was clean but the decor and furnishings a little dated as was the carpet. I would say it had a slightly old feel to it, especially the bathroom.
The hotel itself is quite close to some shopping centres but the ones in the immediate vicinity are quite dated. The modern Funan IT Lifestyle mall is very closeby. Also, Clarke Quay is quite closeby.
Furthermore, there is a central MRT station 2mins walk away, which means that it's easy to get almost anywhere in Singapore quite quickly.
My room partly had a good view of the city but was also opposite a very old office building block which wasn't that pleasant a sight.
Check-out was another weak point, I was immediately behind customers who took more than 15 mins to check in so was forced to wait a while, I just can't understand how it could take that long to check somebody into their rooms.
The staff member manning the entrance went to the front desk and assisted another customer who arrived in the other queue after I had arrived and upon assisting this customer, left to man the front entrance again leaving me in the lurch.
It just wasn't quite good enough and overall I would rate my experience at this property as being a bit haphazard.

  • Liked — good room and lobby, location
  • Disliked — check in and check out
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank perryw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
67 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2008

Rooms not overly spacious & bathroom very small, although adequate & very clean. A la carte breakfast menu limited and nothing special although staff attentive & eager to please. Concierge & door staff very helpful.

Average value for money, but probably reasonable for Singapore where accommodation seems to have got quite expensive over the last couple of years.

Conveniently located near MRT station (10 minute walk), shopping plazas, convention centre (20 minute walk) & away from the frantic pace of Orchard Road.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — limited a la carte breakfast menu
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank SydneyToscar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton of Zug, Switzerland
Level Contributor
398 reviews
167 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2008

The Grand Plaza is located very well with very easy access to Orchard Road.

The reception is efficient, the staff very helpful indeed. As other reviewers have noted, they try very hard to please.

The rooms are adequate. Nothing very special, decent bed, decent TV & Internet access.

However, possibly my fault as I booked the same week I stayed there - I found it VERY expensive for what was on offer. I paid SG$ 450++ for an "Executive Floor" room.

The Executive Floor lounge is small & the breakfast is limited to say the least. The bedroom I was in was fine & relatively modern but the bathroom was old fashioned & the shower was older than me!

All in all, fine hotel, great service but way over priced for what you get in my case.

  • Liked — Staff
  • Disliked — Value for money
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark_from_Thailand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
The Quays
Park Hotel Clarke Quay
Park Hotel Clarke Quay
#48 of 312 in Singapore
3,829 reviews
Peninsula Excelsior Hotel
#114 of 312 in Singapore
4,278 reviews
Carlton Hotel Singapore
#52 of 312 in Singapore
3,795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Quays
Park Regis Singapore
Park Regis Singapore
#50 of 312 in Singapore
3,428 reviews
Naumi Hotel
#18 of 312 in Singapore
2,164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Park City Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Park City Hall

Property: Grand Park City Hall
Address: 10 Coleman Street Grand Park City Hall, Singapore 179809, Singapore
Phone Number:
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Business Hotel in Singapore
#41 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#45 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
#65 Family Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Park City Hall 4.5*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Park City Hall is an architectural gem strategically located in Singapore's Civic District and a short five minutes' drive from the Central Business District. Whilst the harmonious integration of century-old conservation shophouses with modern architectural style has earned us the prestigious Architectural Heritage Award, our impeccable service, coupled with our spacious rooms & gourmet cuisine have won the hearts of many who have stepped through the doors of our hotel. Our rooms are also equipped with complimentary smartphone service offering free unlimited 3G internet connectivity, local and international calls to 11 countries. Announcement: Grand Park City Hall will be undergoing a transformation from 1 April 2016. The renovation will be carried out in phases, with the first phase scheduled to complete on 1 April 2017 and the overall transformation to be completed at the end of 2017. Please refer to hotel announcements or reach out to our guest service representatives any time for inquiries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Park City Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Park City Hall Hotel Singapore
Grand Park City Hall Singapore
Grand Plaza Park Hotel Singapore
Grand Plaza Singapore
Grand Plaza Hotel Singapore
Grand Plaza Park Royal Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing