We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Hyatt Singapore

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Grand Hyatt Singapore
Ranked #41 of 308 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Hotel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2006

What a great hotel! I stayed in Singapore prior to my meetings in Vietnam. The hotel staff was great. The rooms were very nice and spacious. I highly recomend paying for the upgrade to an Executive Suite and adding in the Grand Club.

I've been in many hotels over the years, and this hotel had the best concierge floor! The food was great but the service was even better!

Great location for prime shopping and entertainment. Bring light clothes as Singapore can get quite hot!

  • Liked — Service and Location (rooms were very nice too!)
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank BrianChiTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,814 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,579
    819
    265
    97
    54
See reviews for
631
523
219
1,132
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (439)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, England
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2006

I usually stay at another hotel but when that hotel was fully booked, we decided to stay at the Grand Hyatt hotel and that was a decision I certainly do not regret making!

The rooms are so comfortable and very modern. There's a huge flat screen tv, a long writing desk, a super comfortable bed and a really nice bathroom. The bathroom has separate cubicles for the toilet and the shower, with a bath tub in the middle. The wardrobe opens both ways so you can get your clothes out from inside the bathroom.

The second time I stayed there, my bathroom had a shower instead of a bath tub but I had a lounge and a walk in wardrobe! All this for almost the same price as the hotel we used to stay at!

The food at the restaurant downstairs called Straits Kitchen is really good too. It's always packed during lunch and dinner. The restaurant is very well decorated and food is served buffet style at different counters. A great place to try Asian food!

10/10!

  • Liked — The rooms and food
  • Disliked — Probably a bit expensive
  • Tips/Secrets — Try to get a room in the new wing
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank pinkapricot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bandar Seri Begawan, Brunei Darussalam
Level Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2006

I really liked this hotel. I stayed in one of the newly refurbished rooms. It was equipped with very modern accessories, like the wall mounted flat screen TV and DVD player.
One corner of the room had these floor to ceiling windows angled towards the corner. The workspace area was in this corner, which made it quite inviting, and I imagine would be great to use if you were here on business and had to take work back to your hotel room. In fact, it would have made my old days of working in hotel rooms very pleasant. The bed was huge and the bedside tables had a very user friendly control panel that controlled the lights/TV etc.
My favourite thing about the room was the bathroom. The bathtub was huge, and even had a waterproof pillow at the head of the tub to use if you were soaking. The walk in shower had one of those huge ceiling mounted rain shower-heads that were the size of a dinner plate. The toiletries came in a black box. There was a nice vanity table and chair in the bathroom that was separate from the sink area. This was so comfortable to use when putting your make-up on, and ideal if you have numerous cosmetics and toiletries.
I was a regular guest at this hotel about 10 years ago, and it has changed so much.
The hotel bar is good as well, and has a large variety of interesting cocktails.
The restaurant mezza9 looked very inviting, which is why I went. The décor, atmosphere and service was good, but the food just average. It was fun for people watching though. The tables were so closely placed together that you could very easily eavesdrop on the conversation taking place at the tables next to you.
The only downside is that the rooms are very expensive.

  • Stayed July 2006
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank aputty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hong kong
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2006

Location is great, near corner of Orchard and Scotts. Club lounge is nice, although no hot offering at breakfast, which although ok for my wife, expect a hot offering at Grand Hyatt Grand Clubs (best is in HK). Stayed in a junior suite with wife and two kids (combo business and holiday). Great room, plenty of space, although bed is very firm (westin heavenly beds are clearly superior). Would stay again

  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank deal8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2006

I stayed at the GH Singapore in August and have to say it was one of the best hotel experiences I've had.
Of the many positives, location very near Orchard Road and overall quality/condition of the rooms are the most significant. Orchard Road is a 1/2 block walk from the front door of the GH. There are numerous shops, restaurants, malls all within 5 minutes walking - fantastic location.
The rooms appear to have been recently renovated - as the decor is very modern/contemporary with fresh, clean, minimal design and such features as a flat panel plasma tv, wireless internet and plenty of room - large by comparison to other hotels.
The fitness center and spa at the GH is also very nice by comparable hotel standards. All equipment is new, clean and would be appropriate for any fitness center. The spa facilities are also very nice with sauna, steam, whirlpool and roomy changing areas.
Generally speaking, the service I experienced from the front desk staff upon check-in, to wait staff for room service, to fitness center attendees to my massage therapists was of upmost courteousness and professionalism. The staff really went out of their way to ensure my comfort.
The only negatives to mention are the rather long taxi queue in the morning - at the front of the hotel. After a 20 minute wait on my first morning, I learned that hotel guests can "prebook" taxis the previous day - this information would have been nice to know. If you need a morning taxi then best to prebook with the bell staff. The second slightly less negative experience was with the checkout which was longer than usual - maybe 10 minutes due to a shortage of staff at the counter.
The positives of my stay so far outweigh the 2 minor negatives that I will definitely stay at the GH Singapore on future visits.

  • Liked — Location, rooms, spa
  • Disliked — Taxi queue
  • Tips/Secrets — Prebook taxis if you need one in the morning
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank JDERV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2006

orchard road is 1 minute from your doorstep! i've been to singapore numerous times for business but i've never stayed at the grand hyatt. i decided to stay there, even though i read a lot of negative comments about it on tripadvisor........ because my favorite restaurant in singapore is mezza 9! it's an open kitchen kind of restaurant and you can see the chef prepare your dish. they have chinese, japanese and western food, an extensive wine list...... the menus are like books. you can eat there everyday for a month and you still won't be able to try every dish on the menu.

i read a lot of negative comments about the staff and the size of the rooms. well i booked my flight and hotel package with cathay pacific holidays and we got upgraded to a grand superior room. i was amazed at the size of room! everything was modern and clean.

the housekeeping lady took the initiative to line up my sister's 20 something bottles of moisturizers, tonic lotions, make up remover, etc. from smallest to biggest.

the front desk and the concierge were equally helpful. my sister even got a "tour" of mezza 9. she went through the different areas, even the martini bar and the VIP rooms.

everything was great. the food was great, the shopping was great, the room was great - and i almost forgot to mention - they have B&O flat screen TVs in the living room and in the bedroom!

  • Liked — the location, the room, the restaurant
  • Disliked — the concierge was a bit slow in getting our bags to our rooms but hey, we were impatient to go shopping
  • Tips/Secrets — a must stay!!!!!! and also, i'm sure you'll find a dish you'll like at mezza 9
  • Stayed September 2006
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Jessica819
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
462 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 705 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2006

This hotel is in an excellent location, with Orchard Rd on your door step, the convenience of it all is brilliant. I got upgraded to Club Room (which is like a mini suite), which was spacious and entitled one to partake of happy hour (mix/pour your own drinks and finger food) and rather excellent breakfast at the Club Lounge. Fab views from Club Lounge accompanied by a glass of red at the end of a long working day was heaven indeed.

The same can be said about fabulous rooftop gardens on Level 3 leading to the gym. It is particularly spectacular all lit up at night, including the 3 storey waterfalls, so if you are there on a romantic getaway, don't miss out on the opportunity to wonder there at any time, but especially at night.

The service at reception/check in-out is ordinary; door men are excellent and show genuine concern for the guests. The service at the Club Lounge was also attentive and excellent, which is more than can be said for the gym. The restaurants downstairs and the one on the mezzanine are very good and service excellent.

The biggest complaint I have about this hotel is the gym is opened only till 10pm, with rude staff kicking one out at around 9.40pm. I find it difficult to believe that a 5 star hotel in Singapore, in this location, does not have 24/7 gym, or at least access to one with security pass. No flexibility on the issue does not help. I hope they change this and very soon so they are in line with the rest of the world and the Hyatt chain!

Stayed August 2006
Helpful?
2 Thank l-globetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Orchard Road
Singapore Marriott Tang Plaza Hotel
Orchard Road
Four Seasons Hotel Singapore
Orchard Road
Pan Pacific Orchard
Pan Pacific Orchard
#20 of 308 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Orchard Road
The St. Regis Singapore
The St. Regis Singapore
#22 of 308 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,001 reviews
Orchard Road
Hilton Singapore
Hilton Singapore
#62 of 308 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Singapore

Property: Grand Hyatt Singapore
Address: 10 Scotts Road Grand Hyatt Singapore, Singapore 228211, Singapore
Phone Number:
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Singapore
#22 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#23 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#28 Family Hotel in Singapore
#41 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hyatt Singapore 5*
Number of rooms: 677
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 5-star luxury city hotel housed in two separate towers in the entertainment & commercial district. Strategically located at the start of Orchard Road in Singapore, in the centre of the city's commercial and entertainment district, just a 30-minute drive from Singapore's Changi Airport. Unwind in one of our 677 luxury rooms and suites. Considered one of the best Singapore luxury hotel, Grand Hyatt Singapore's spacious guestrooms and suites are fitted with every modern convenience required for a comfortable stay, such as generous work desks, luxurious beds and elegant baths. Embark on a culinary adventure at several of the finest restaurants and bars at our Singapore Orchard Road hotel. Relax and fully rejuvenate at Damai, our award-winning spa and fitness centre. The in-house fitness centre features all of the latest equipment to help guests keep up with their fitness regime or enjoy a leisurely dip in the outdoor swimming pool surrounded by lush greenery. Grand Hyatt Singapore, mezza9, Pete's Place and StraitsKitchen were also awarded the Certificate of Excellence 2014 by Tripadvisor - making this a consecutive win for the hotel alone, since 2011. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Priceline, Agoda and Ctrip TA so you can book your Grand Hyatt Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt Singapore Hotel Singapore
Singapore Grand Hyatt
Hyatt Singapore
Singapore Hyatt
Hyatt Regency Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing