We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, too expensive”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grand Hyatt Singapore
Ranked #42 of 312 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel, too expensive”
Reviewed November 29, 2012

We stopped in Singapore on our way to/from Bali. I had two reservations here at either end of the trip.

The hotel is well situated, just off Orchard Road. The hotel is nicely designed. We were upgraded to a large club room, which was very nice. The club is nice, though not fantastic.

Despite all that, I just don't think it's worth US $450 per night once you add taxes and fees. I cancelled the second stay and stopped at the Stamford instead. Better location for what we wanted to do and fantastic views.

Also if you are a GP Diamond member no bonus points or amenity, which was a pain as I really fancied a wine after 32 hours of travel!

If you are in the market for jewelry or a nice watch, I thoroughly recommend Hour Glass at The Raffles - great service and discount.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan_ATL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,037 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,711
    876
    285
    107
    58
See reviews for
685
561
233
1,233
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (455)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2012

I love the Grand Hyatt in Singapore. Everything about it is superb but it is the service, care and attention to detail that stands out even amongst other superb hotels in this group and leaves competitors that I have experienced standing, and I have been travelling the world on business for over 40 years. I am always happy to arrive, delighted to stay and sorry to leave.

Room Tip: Every room I have had has always exceeded my expectations although there are no grand views, this be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ivor T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2012

We stayed 4 nights in this hotel.
Service from the staff was excellent. They are so friendly and helpful. When I asked about free wifi access, one of the friendly concierge gave us complimentary wifi during our whole stay - which we greatly appreciated.
Also, I needed to print tickets for one of the show in spore, the lady in the business lounge was very helpful, they gave me notebook to access my email - which I forwarded for them to print - all at no extra charge.
Breakfast was excellent. So many choices, and they all tasted good.

Room was spacious. Bathroom was spacious as well, they have shower, bath, and toilet seperated by glass door.
Location was good as well, plucked in the middle of scott st- very near to orchard st. but less crowded compared to other hotels around the area.

The only downside I can think of is we had a room with connecting door - which is not very thick. We can hear the neighbour when they are talking loud- and wondering whether they can hear us as well... I would recommend a room without connecting door for more privacy.

We definitely will stay in this hotel again next time.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank squinting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Location of Scotts Road and Orchard Road is excellent for business and holidays. 20 minutes from the business district and centrally located for tourists and the shopping malls on Orchard Road.
The hotel is an excellent flag ship for the Hyatt Group. the gym is well fitted out with the latest in equipment but the pool is rather small for the serious lap swimmer.
All the staff are very freindly and come across as being genuinely interested in helping you.
The lounge is good fro afternoon tea but the breakfasts are becoming less Western with more noodles and vegetables being available.
The Club also offers very good snacks and drinks.

Room Tip: club rooms are all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2012

The Grand Hyatt is very well located in Singapore, all its staff is very cordial, providing an excellent service. Rooms are spacious, comfortable and clean. The restaurant is also very good, plus it has a bar (10 Scotts) that has a warm atmosphere.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2012

The Grand Hyatt in Singapore is expensive – VERY expensive. However, it does deliver, with spacious rooms that are well-appointed, a wonderful restaurant called StraitsKitchen, and good service.

The Executive floor was just okay – the person at the front desk was away a lot, the music was a bit too loud for those who needed to work, and a few of the staff seemed awkward when dealing with customers; almost scared that they were going to do something wrong. My experience at other hotels that have got the whole ‘Executive Floor thing’ right is that they quickly build a relationship with the guests who use the facility and are intuitive in meeting their needs. The staff on this floor seemed a bit out of their depth, always hesitating and appearing unsure of themselves. Overall though, a great hotel that is extremely well located in the heart of Singapore’s shopping district.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank worldlyCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GA
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 21, 2012

My daughter and I arrived in Singapore for our first time in Asia! We were anxious and uncertain how we would fair with the language barrier! We quickly found that the hotel in Singapore had staff that spoke wonderful English and helped us tour Singapore to the fullest in the short 2 days we had prior to a cruise. We enjoyed that cruise port too!
This hotel is beautiful, clean and has a wonderful breakfast buffet!

Room Tip: Bood with the breakfast included. It is more expensive once you have the room and breakfast seperate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GAGirlGa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Orchard Road
Singapore Marriott Tang Plaza Hotel
Orchard Road
Four Seasons Hotel Singapore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Orchard Road
Pan Pacific Orchard
Pan Pacific Orchard
#28 of 312 in Singapore
2,417 reviews
Orchard Road
The St. Regis Singapore
The St. Regis Singapore
#23 of 312 in Singapore
2,089 reviews
Orchard Road
Hilton Singapore
Hilton Singapore
#65 of 312 in Singapore
2,651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Singapore

Property: Grand Hyatt Singapore
Address: 10 Scotts Road Grand Hyatt Singapore, Singapore 228211, Singapore
Phone Number:
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Singapore
#22 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#23 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#28 Family Hotel in Singapore
#42 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hyatt Singapore 5*
Number of rooms: 677
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 5-star luxury city hotel housed in two separate towers in the entertainment & commercial district. Strategically located at the start of Orchard Road in Singapore, in the centre of the city's commercial and entertainment district, just a 30-minute drive from Singapore's Changi Airport. Unwind in one of our 677 luxury rooms and suites. Considered one of the best Singapore luxury hotel, Grand Hyatt Singapore's spacious guestrooms and suites are fitted with every modern convenience required for a comfortable stay, such as generous work desks, luxurious beds and elegant baths. Embark on a culinary adventure at several of the finest restaurants and bars at our Singapore Orchard Road hotel. Relax and fully rejuvenate at Damai, our award-winning spa and fitness centre. The in-house fitness centre features all of the latest equipment to help guests keep up with their fitness regime or enjoy a leisurely dip in the outdoor swimming pool surrounded by lush greenery. Grand Hyatt Singapore was also awarded the 2017 TripAdvisor Travellers’ Choice Awards for Hotels in the categories of Top 25 Luxury Hotels, Singapore and Top 25 Hotels with Best Service, Singapore. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grand Hyatt Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt Singapore Hotel Singapore
Singapore Grand Hyatt
Hyatt Singapore
Singapore Hyatt
Hyatt Regency Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing