We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Good strategic hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Grand Central

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Grand Central
Ranked #232 of 304 Hotels in Singapore
Medan, Indonesia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good strategic hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

I stayed at Grand Central Hotel Singapore in May 2012 with my family as it was recommended by my travel agent as strategically located hotel with low price rate. Indeed, both rooms were a bit cramped and outdated, but the aircons were working well, the beds were quite comfortable and hot showers and amenities were available. The hotel was located between Dhoby Ghaut MRT and Somerset MRT, so first timers are highly recommended to take a cab from Changi Airport instead of venture with MRT or bus. We learned that we could get a Resort World's bus from the hotel to the Universal Studio and vice versa for free (instead of going there by taxi) and this was an added value to the hotel. We didn't get complimentary breakfast in the hotel but there were many decent food stalls around the hotel for us to have breakfast and dinner. Shopping around has been a nice experience since the hotel was well located in the middle of major shopping centers. I've heard that the hotel are going to be renovated and if so, I'd missed such a strategically located, yet, low-priced hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Okky T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    66
    93
    60
    110
See reviews for
88
74
37
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hanoi
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

I have stayed at Grand Central Hotel Singapore 3 times. The first time was July 2011 and then March and April 2012. The feeling are still the same as in 3 times. The hotel services are quite good - friendly receptionist and room service. Most of the staff is the Chinese session worker, I have nice chat with them about their job in Singapore. The furniture are very old and has smoking smells - No problem to my because I am smoking too.

The very pros is the location in the heart of Singapore shopping central area. 3 - 5 minutes by walks for the Orchard Plaza, Center Point, Nghee An center ... and I am really love the street foods right the opposite corner of the hotel. A tip: a pork noodle bowl cost 12 SGD. The breakfast is included in prices but it's really really terrible.

Beside that, the room is not wide but still enough for your staying. Appropriated for the Asian Market.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Deisler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Singapore hotels

Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012 via mobile

Worst hotel I have ever stayed in. Ther was mould on all the walls and the bathroom was disgusting. Very ordinary breakfast with no where to sit as all the dirty tables were not cleaned up. When we complained when we were checking out the girl at the front desk said they were closing the next day. That was on the 1st August.

Stayed August 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Sally H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beenleigh
Level Contributor
204 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

We stayed here for a 2 night stopover, being recommended by our travel agent for the price. As we were out apart from sleeping it was quite satisfactory. As it is just off Orchid Rd, it is central to most places like Chinatown and Little India. The room was OK, everything worked and the breakfast was a little different to what we were used to. Staff were generally helpful, with taxis outside the door.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GrahamJBeenleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

I stayed here for three nights with my son. Room is small but we were in the room only after 6 pm. and went out by 9 am. So it was not a big issue. Brekfast was not a multiple choice . But with plenty of toasts eggs sausages and Noodles it was sufficient. TV Channels are jusgt a few any hardly anything to see other than BBC. The souvenir shop in the ground foor is very good to buy souvenirs. The prices are almost the same. If u go behind the hotel There are restaurants in the same building for Nasigorang , beer Etc.
Bus stand is close by but MRT (Sommerset and Dhoby Gaut) which ever direction you go is abt half km away. But Singapura mall is on the way. Surely you will enjoy. You can book a tour to Universal studio or night safari in the Hotel itself.- Highly recommended

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Raj_Abel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

I have travelled extensively throughout the world and would say this was the worst hotel I have ever stayed in.

The most unfriendly staff, disgustingly dirty room, AC broken, toilet leaked, not hot water in the shower, mould all through the room and just a general stench.

Breakfast was genuinely inedible.

I am truly amazed how bad this place is. There was not one redeeming feature and in my opinion should be condemned as unfit for commercial operation.

Stay here at your peril.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank World1225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandurah, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We booked into this hotel for a stopover on the way to Phuket due to it's location and price. We were most disappointed when we arrived as it was run down, dirty and dark and dingy. The whole place smelled very stale and as we were near the lift - that kept us awake.

The only positive was that it was close to Dhoby Gaut MRT station.

I would not recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank GJCJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Orchard Road
Hotel Chancellor at Orchard
Hotel Chancellor at Orchard
#241 of 304 in Singapore
3.0 of 5 stars 168 reviews
Orchard Road
Concorde Hotel Singapore
Concorde Hotel Singapore
#62 of 304 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 stars 2,200 reviews
Orchard Road
Hotel Supreme
Hotel Supreme
#275 of 304 in Singapore
3.0 of 5 stars 339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Orchard Road
Orchard Parade Hotel by Far East Hospitality
Orchard Road
Holiday Inn Singapore Orchard City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Grand Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grand Central

Property: Hotel Grand Central
Address: 22 Cavenagh Road | Orchard Road, Singapore 229617, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore > Orchard Road
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#106 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Grand Central 4*
Number of rooms: 262
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
First opened in 1968 and then closed for re-development in 2012, Hotel Grand Central reopened on 21st October 2015 with 262 brand new rooms. The Hotel is located on the Orchard Road shopping belt and centered between two major Mass Transit Stations, the Dhoby Ghaut and Somerset Stations. The hotel has a total of 8 floors of which 2 floors comprise Executive Rooms and the remaining being Deluxe rooms. Each room is filled with large 42-inch LED TV, dedicated WIFI connection and luxurious American beds. An environment friendly in-room filtered water dispenser that dispenses chill, room temperature or hot water is fitted to provide greater convenience for our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, HRS, Priceline, Orbitz, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelocity, Odigeo and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Hotel Grand Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Central Singapore
Grand Central Hotel
Hotel Grand Central Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing