We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Drinks and dinner at the Fullerton”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Fullerton Hotel Singapore
Ranked #21 of 317 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 3, 2011

I met with a friend at the Fullerton Hotel for drinks. The hotel was great! ... it had a very nice lobby.

We went straight to the Post Bar which was look lively. Service could have been much better. I felt that they were short on staff and the people that were there were not as attentive.

We order some food from Jade and I was very impressed with the Wasabi Shrimp. However, they were charging a lot of money for very very very small quantities. Between me and my friend, we ordered two dishes at first and clearly it wasn't enough to even satisfy one of us. I was quite disappointed with that.

Will I go back to this hotel? - not sure ... maybe for drinks during happy hour and perhaps just for the Wasabi Shrimps.

Oh the Chinese restaurant doesn't have any dim sum ...not that I expect all the Chinese restaurants to have them. But yeah I really wanted some that day so its just something I thought was worth mentioning.

Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
1  Thank fhuda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,869)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,710 - 2,716 of 3,870 reviews

Reviewed May 24, 2011

I stayed here with my husband and two young children for two nights on our way to Europe. Our stay and experience was unbelievable - it was absolute luxury!! Our room was opulent, comfortable and refreshingly cool (it was very hot in Singapore). We had a quay side room with a large balcony from which to take in the incredible view of the river, 'old' and 'new' Singapore and the two bridges (which looked stunning when lit up at night). Our children were absolutely delighted with everything the hotel had to offer and it has set the benchmark for them. The kids are still talking about the amazing breakfasts, the beautiful pool (overlooking the river), which we felt we had all to ourselves, the giant fish in the hotel lobby pond and the excellent service from all the staff. I only wish I could be sitting on the gorgeous hotel terrace which overlooks the pool with a G&T in hand, totally pampered, right now.

Room Tip: Quay side rooms have a wonderful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MissPS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2011

We stay here twice a year and have done so since the hotel opened aqnd have held a number of evening functions at the hotel.
Unfortunately The Fullerton do not give any credit or attach any importance to repeat and loyal customers.
We needed a late check out, but were only offered 2 hours, which is not worth a thing.

The hotel is nice but the service is very poor.

Shame the hotel does not value customers

Room Tip: Not a chance
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Marcvg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2011

I always stayed in Mandarin Oriental in Singapore but I liked the architecture of the Fullerton building and decided to give it a try. Well, the next time I shall be back in Mandarin Oriental I guess. Why? There were some details which spoiled the overall experience. The building is beautiful and in a very good location (although the former harbor has changed a lot since I visited Singapore the first time 10 years ago and the sea view disappeared as a result of the Sands hotel/casino monster). The room was clean and nice (I stayed in Heritage room) but this is what you expect in 5-star hotel anyway.
The swimming pool overlooking the "old Singapore" and Singapore river is spectacular.
We were travelling with a small kid and I obviously reserved a non-smoking room but upon our arrival (very late at night) we were assigned a room which was smoking in the past (or at least some guest was smoking in the room). They apparently tried to clean it but once somebody is smoking in a room with a carpet and fabric upholstery that room retain the typical smell for a very long time. I reported it to the front desk and they offered another room but something like this should not happen in the 5-star hotel in the first place. Also, the WC started to leak the water on the floor during our stay.
Couple days after departure I received an electronic questionnaire about my stay, reported the problems and checked the box that I would like to get the response. I have never heard from the Fullerton since then.
To make the long story short ... The Fullerton can be easily true 5-star property if it provides "5-star care" to its customers which does not seem to be the case. Also, the staff was nice and friendly ... but lacked the nobleness of people who are proud of serving their customers (compared with Mandarin Oriental).
To be fair ... the hotel provides free of charge high speed internet with an excellent bandwidth (both downlink and uplink).

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ED5611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2011

my partner and i stayed in The Fullerton on 1st may 2011. he aked me to marry him there!! it was a joy. the hotel staff made our stay extremely comfortable. everyone was friendly and smiled with their hearts. i travelled all over the world and can detect if their smiles are real or just for show. trust me, i can sense they are egar to make you happy. of cos there are some minor glitches, like when we were dining at the lighthouse, we were given a wrong order of food. but the service staff apologised and things was rectified immediately.

the pool was small, but thats understandable as the building is a historical building, but it is very romantic esp at night with the lights and the silence was appreciated. the pool boy there, a chinese lad was so helpfull with our request for drink orders and what impressed me was he got us extra towels when he saw us looking for it without us asking.

we had a couple's spa package at the hotel spa, could not remember the name. it was fantastic!! the people at the spa was so polite and treatments were explained to us even before our treatment started! the spa reception went thru details and made sure we were happy with the treatments and type of products used. usually when i went for sa treatments, the spa reception only asked me to fill a form, and treatment started without asking me what i like or dislike, this was practiced in banyan tree and spas in thailand and australia. i was pleasently surprised by their survice. the spa therapist was great, my therapist who was taiwanese spoke very little english but was attentive gave me extra towels to cover myself when she sense i was a little cold!

our chambermaid was a lovely chinese lady who never failed to smile and greet us with her warmest smiles during our 3 night stay there! it really made my day when i see her.

one very good thing abt The Fullerton was even after you check out, you could return and use the showers, the gym or pool before your leave for your flight at night. this was very much appreciated. i cannot recall any hotel that does that.

great job. however, getting a cab is a problem, take the subway instead.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nicolesianz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2011

I have travelled several times to the Fullerton. I had mixed feelings about this hotel (and still do) as its not your everyday business hotel.
Location is very nice and you can easily access all parts of town from there.

Service is good but not that impressive (getting in the hotel with your luggage and not having anyone to hold the door is never a good first impression).

The rooms are the main problem for me. If you like playing lottery, you'll be happy there. As this is (if I recall correctly) an old post office refurbished in a hotel, rooms can vary significantly in size and comfort. If you are lucky you get an outside view, if your not, you see the inside of the buidling (didn't call that a view because its not). If you face the inside, your room will look grey and light coming from outside will feel really dim.

The furniture in the room is fine but looks a lot like Ikea to me. Not that I dont like the Nordic style but I would expect either something more elaborated than Ikea in a top rated hotel.

The bed feels like climbing the Himalaya (seriously its the highest bed I've seen in the region). Its not a problem (you dont need a ladder no worries) but it feels strange as the comfort of the bed is good, but not that different from other hotels with lower beds!

The swimming pool is great and the even though it is small (not a real swimming distance if I recall properly) its a very pleasant place to hang out and relax after a day of hard work!

I have not tried the restaurants as I had breakfast lunch and dinner outside since it is walking distance from a lot of local restaurants.

Room Tip: ask for the rooms with a view on the outside!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zion51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2011

We stayed here for a long weekend end February 2011.

There is no denying the Fullerton a beautiful hotel on the outside. However, the interior was not quite so. We had a corporate rate room with a courtyard view, which is not a view at all! While large in size, it was dark and lacked style or ambience. The decor was sparse and dull, and a little shabby. The bathroom was fine. 

We didn't have time to use the pool, but it looked fab. We chose not to eat at the hotel. Overall our stay was ok.

But I was extremely disappointed with the 20 minute express manicure at their spa. The therapist spoke no English and seemed unsure of what to do, the end result was not good. Plus the nail area is not up to the standard you would expect in a major hotel. The furniture was tatty and the wall decoration of palm trees appallingly tacky. They could do so much better with a little effort.

Given the abundant choice of luxury hotels in Singapore next time I will try another one rather than return here.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 9x10y11z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Marina Bay
The Fullerton Bay Hotel Singapore
PARKROYAL on Pickering
#26 of 317 in Singapore
3,108 reviews
Marina Bay
Pan Pacific Singapore
Pan Pacific Singapore
#13 of 317 in Singapore
7,885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
InterContinental Singapore
#7 of 317 in Singapore
1,205 reviews
Marina Bay
The Ritz-Carlton, Millenia Singapore
Marina Bay
Mandarin Oriental, Singapore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fullerton Hotel Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fullerton Hotel Singapore

Address: 1 Fullerton Square, Singapore 049178, Singapore
Phone Number:
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#12 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#15 Family Hotel in Singapore
#21 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
#23 Business Hotel in Singapore
Price Range: $238 - $467 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Fullerton Hotel Singapore 5*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Transformed from the Fullerton Building which was built in 1928, The Fullerton Hotel Singapore has been gazetted as Singapore's 71st National Monument. This luxury hotel features 400 elegant rooms and suites with views of the sunlit atrium, city, Singapore River or Marina Bay. Just 25 minutes from the airport, The Fullerton Hotel Singapore is located in the financial and arts districts, within walking distance to the National Gallery and minutes from the city's main shopping belt. The hotel features award-winning restaurants, the stylish Post Bar, an outdoor infinity pool, a 24-hour fitness centre and a luxury spa. We are honoured to be recognised as one of the Top 1 Percent of Hotels in Singapore by TripAdvisor Traveller's Choice Awards 2017. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Fullerton Hotel Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Four Seasons Singapore
Singapore Four Seasons
Fullerton Hotel Singapore
The Fullerton Hotel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing