We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Compact but comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fraser Suites Singapore
Ranked #18 of 314 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Compact but comfortable”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Negatives: We found the location is ok - except that it isnt near an MRT station and they only have a short shuttle bus to the business district in the morning and to the shops on limited times during the day. The room itself is so small that in the bathroom standing up my arms can almost touch the sides of the walls! The cabinetry in the room is all very compact and it lacks enough room to hang clothes. Breakfast is included but their dining area is small which means that patrons are often left standing around for a table. The price of laundry is excessive.

Positives: its clean and quiet. The bed is comfortable and the bedroom is completely dark when the lights are out which is wonderful - for some reason I have found a lot of hotels in singapore use led lighting in appliances and light switches which light the room up at night like a runway making it hard to sleep. Staff seem very attentive. The pool and gym facilities are also good.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judds09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrian-FraserSuites, Resident Manager at Fraser Suites Singapore, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear Judds09

Warm greetings from Fraser Suites Singapore!

Many thanks for the positive feedback on our cleanliness and quietness of our apartment, comfortable beds, gym, pool and attentive staff.

At the same time, we apologise for not meeting your expectations on certain aspects of your stay and will continue to work on improving the areas which were highlighted.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon and meanwhile, please feel free to contact me directly on your next visit.

Yours sincerely
Adrian Lee
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    244
    113
    23
    11
    7
See reviews for
268
30
7
53
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013

We just spent a week at Fraser Suites - 2 adults and 2 children (6 and 10). Yes, the 2 bed apartment was small but it was spotlessly clean. It was also very well equipped. I'm not sure how it would work for families over longer stays - but we were out most of the time, so it worked for us. We used the shuttle bus a few times as well and that was very handy.

The pool is huge and fantastic and the gym has great equipment. The breakfasts were good - quite crowded but fine. We also found the front desk and cleaning services really good.

However, the reason we won't be returning may be exactly the reason some people will want to go there! The kids have easy access to the internet and free use of amazing full-size arcade games... and we couldn't get them off! My husband and I wanted to go out of the hotel, but the kids were addicted to the games and it caused fights.

When we stayed at TreeTops, the kids met other children around the pool and were far more social. We would sit at the pool with a coffee and watch them play, but it's not really possible at Fraser Suites as there is no cafe by the pool. Because of this, the kids spent a lot of time in front of screens. I don't want that on our holidays.

I would definitely recommend Fraser Suites though - I like the River Valley Rd location (the Zion Rd River Valley Nasi Padang, about 10 mins walk away, is one of the best in Singapore) and my favourite area Tiong Bahru is nearby as well.

Not as good as TreeTops in my opinion, which has bigger apartments and nicer breakfast/pool cafe set up, but Fraser Suites is more modern if you prefer that in accommodation.

Room Tip: The kids zone is on level 3 and the pool is on level 6.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GoldsworthyRd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrian-FraserSuites, Resident Manager at Fraser Suites Singapore, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear GoldsworthyRd

We appreciate your generous compliments on our facilities like the pool and gym, services at the front desk and cleaning standard from housekeeping.

However, it was unfortunate that our arcade games at The Playzone caused an addiction to your children, which deter you and your family to stay with us again. Nevertheless, we are glad that you "definitely recommend Fraser Suites though".

All of us here look forward to the opportunity of you and your family staying with us again and let me know if there is anything we can do to make your stay a more memorable one.

Yours sincerely
Adrian Lee
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

The Pros
a) The staff is excellent and friendly. Ms Irish who checked us in and was also there for check out was wonderful, delightful person.
b) the childrens play area is very good, clean and plenty of choices
c) Swimming pool is good !
d) great Italian restaurant, 7-11 and supermarket in the complex

The Cons
a) hotel is very vertical ! gives you a claustrophobic feeling at times.
b) rooms are too compact. even when you rent a 2 bed apartment you get two very small rooms and bathrooms ! no "master bedroom" we thought of switching to a 3bed, but the bedroom sizes were the same . no value for money in terms of space
c) breakfast too busy and restaurant too small. you will be lucky if you dont nudge someone during breakfast
d) no bar or restaurant or no good area to welcome guests !
e) MRT is a good 15 minute walk.
f) references to orchard road must be removed, it is really too far from orchard road !

perhaps it is good for long term rentals and not so great for family holidays ! But all in all the hotel and staff is very good.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gauravdkc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrian-FraserSuites, Resident Manager at Fraser Suites Singapore, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear gauravdkc

Thank you very much for the time taken to provide us your feedback in complimenting our facilities and front desk personnel; Irish. We have shared your compliment with her and she is totally delighted.

We would also like to apologise for not meeting your expectations on certain issues which you have highlighted and regret for any inconvenience caused. Rest assured that we will continue to look into our short comings and further improve the overall experience for our residents.

Meanwhile, please visit us again should your travels bring you back to Singapore and we look forward to the opportunity to accommodating you and your family again!

Yours sincerely
Adrian Lee
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
128 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 235 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

{+} A good value for Singapore. Rooms are clean & fully equipped. Housekeepers are friendly & considerate.
There are many pleasant contemporary design features in the rooms. The lighting is adequate & varied
You can do your own cooking in the kitchenette.
{-} An oppressively conservative "family" atmosphere. An unwritten dress code exists- supporting business attire. Fraser Suites River Vly. is a neighborhood residential hotel. You'll fit in here if you're a corporate British expat family, or similar.
As for the surrounding area, it is far from the MTR {subway}. There is access to certain bus lines & taxis. There is a building under construction accross the street. Most of the neighborhood is made up of authentic Singaporean public housing.
If you're either A} a deep sleeper, or B} lucky enough to have considerate & quiet neighbors in the above room, it will be a restful stay.
One of the front desk clerk ladies was incredibly rude upon check in. Two of the male clerks were mocking & patronising.
If I were an important- looking VIP in a business suit, these customer service issues would not have occurred.
I do appreciate the sociable manager giving me a free plate of pasta for my anguish.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank xerophytic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrian-FraserSuites, Resident Manager at Fraser Suites Singapore, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear xerophytic

We greatly appreciate your feedback and thank you for your positive comments on our friendly Housekeepers, our clean and fully equipped rooms, adequate lightings and most of all, "a good value for Singapore" product.

As for your comment on our unwritten dress code which supports business attire and with oppressively conservative family atmosphere, we are concern on the incorrect perception since we do not dictate or put up any dress code notice for our residents from the beginning of our business operation.

Thanks for meeting up and allowing us to explain the purpose of asking for your immigration card which you refused initially with our front desk lady personnel. The noisy neighbour whom you mentioned is from outside our building and not the room above, as there was no one staying above your unit at that time.

With regards to the two male staff at the front desk whom you claimed that they were "mocking & patronising", it was not brought up to our attention when we met several times during the course of your stay. Kindly contact me so that I may address it and follow-up with you personally.

We thank you for your support and extending your stay twice with us, and certainly wish that we will have the opportunity of accommodating you and meeting or exceed all your expectations soon!

Yours sincerely
Adrian Lee
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We stayed here for 8 nights over the Christmas period. The things we loved:
- the standard of the fittings and fixtures
- the pool and gym
- kids facilities
- great housekeeping (with one exception - see below)
- the shuttle bus (saved us a fortune)
- the Christmas cake waiting for us in the fridge was a nice touch
- toiletries were replenished daily
- the BOSE home theatre system
- individual air-conditioning
- Julie our cleaner
- there was enough space for us and our two boys (17 & 10)
- having a 'kids pack' on the bed for when they arrived was also a nice touch
- the washer and dryer

What we didn't love:
- the breakfast area is too small for the number of people who reside there
- there are insufficient choices on the menu for all day dining
- gym staff don't police the gym i.e letting children run flat out on the treadmills with no shoes on. There are plenty of facilities for children without having them underfoot in the gym when trying to do a workout
- we weren't advised at checkin that there was no housekeeping on Sundays and public holidays. When we got back on Sunday night, we needed an additional towel. Housekeeping didn't answer, finally the front desk did and said would send one up. After 30 mins and no towel I went to reception to ask for one. It was packed with people and only one staff member working. I finally got my towel 20 mins later, but for $400 p/n I expect better service.
- agree with others that coffee supplies need replenishing daily, especially when the rates are so high
- the computers in the lobby aren't connected to printers, therefore if you want to print your boarding pass for a flight you have to email it to the hotel and they will print it for you. Great if you have hours to wait, but if you do this within an hour of your departure, you will leave without a boarding pass.

Tips: don't go to breakfast after 8.30 - it's madness. Water is only complimentary on day one - after that we had to buy it from Cold Storage next door.

Aside from my minor complaints above, overall it's a great option for families in a city that dedicates most of it's hotel accommodation to business travelers. Being able to wash and dry clothes daily in your own apartment, not in a communal laundry made life incredibly easy and whilst we didn't cook, if you had a fussy eater with you it would be a bonus.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank megjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrian-FraserSuites, Resident Manager at Fraser Suites Singapore, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear megjo

Warm greetings and many thanks for your comprehensive compliments and feedback during your recent stay with us.

We appreciate the positive things which you highlighted and enjoyed; from the facilities, amenities in the room to your Housekeeper. Proper recognition in writing for our staff member will be presented to her.

As for the less than satisfactory issues or services, we sincerely apologise for not meeting your expectation and regret for any inconvenience caused. We will work on improving on the issues mentioned like checking of the gym more frequently, all-day dining menu, lapse on the information for Housekeeping service, the follow-up on the towel and replenishment of coffee/tea/mineral water etc.

Thank you for your effort to write to us and highlighting our lapses and rest assured that we will continue to look into our short comings. Meanwhile, we look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you and your family back soon.

Yours sincerely
Adrian Lee
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Stayed here with the family , 2 Adults and 2 children (10 and 13) for 3 nights, good spot (although as always in Asia there is construction right below you on 3 sites ;-), 15 mins walk from the metro ($5 taxi ride). 2 Bedroom Apartment, well appointed, with 3 TV's, Bose Sound System and specific Air Con for each room. As commented by other reviewers, it seems that they do not replenish Tea, Coffee, washing powder etc past the day of arrival , given the prices and quality of accommodation this does seem a little ridiculous ! The Swimming Pool was nice and the gym facilities were good as well . Check in and Check out was very smooth and easy

There is a small mall attached to the same building with a supermarket , Starbucks and a couple of restaurants, cafes

The only issue I would raise is that the Dining Area used in the morning for Breakfast is too small for the size of the hotel and number of guests, plus for it is an odd design for a buffet forcing guests to cross over each other to get to the food .... if this could be expanded that would be good

Overall, while expensive (but in line with Singapore prices) , I would go back

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ZenStone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrian-FraserSuites, Resident Manager at Fraser Suites Singapore, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear ZenStore

Thank you for staying at Fraser Suites Singapore recently and taking the effort and time to provide us detailed descriptions on our facilities and most importanly, your valuable feedback.

We would like to apologise for the lack of replenishment of the amenities and any inconvenience caused during your stay here. It should be replenished and we would like to assure you that this is not the usual standard which our guests receive at Fraser Suites Singapore and can only seek your kind understanding on this matter.

We have improved the flow of the buffet breakfast and look forward to the opportunity of accommodating you and your family soon!

Yours sincerely
Adrian Lee
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Arrive at 27/12/2012 Stay there with family of six, the officer manage to help change from two room apt to three with some charges.

This apt provide full kitchen equipment, and washer n dryer.

Around evening, when I was about to make coffee via nespresso coffee maker, the tea and coffee was not provided. I realise the washer detergent was missing too. I called to inform and the officer doesn't seem to b able help and I called the second time and the housekeeping personnel sent it the coffee and tea and washer detergent.

We r not like other traveller as we don't really enjoy the shuttle bus but we drive around to sentosa for SEA Aquarium and universal studio. When we came back late at night, I realise those toiletries amenities wasn't there, same goes to washer detergent and coffee and tea. When I called to inform, I was told from a male officers that we need to pay a small fees for those thing. I was a bit annoyed as we don't pay less on the second night, why do we need to pay a fees for those thing which other hotel will provided no matter how many day we stay.

On 29/12/2012, when we are about to have breakfast, the waitress told us its difficult to find a six seater table but get us a four seater table and forget about getting us a two seater table. She was very passionate helping those foreigner, but she ignore us. Finally we manage to get a table for ourself to b closer to kids. But she told us she allocate that for other which make me mad at her .

Sometimes for us who have kiddos and elderly ppl, we hope thing was prepare rather than to call and remind. This trip to Singapore really spoil by all those minor issues. We stay at marina bay sands, hotel festive in Singapore, we have no issues about that .

But this will not our future choice for staying in this apt any more

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChooChoo46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrian-FraserSuites, Resident Manager at Fraser Suites Singapore, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear ChooChoo46

Warm greetings!

Thank you for staying at Fraser Suites Singapore during your recent visit and for taking time to provide us your valuable feedback.

We are indeed very concerned on receiving your feedback with regards to the total lack of replenishment of the amenities (toiletries, washing detergent, coffee and tea) mentioned in the apartment unit, and the service level received while waiting for a table for six persons for breakfast.

We would like to apologise for the shortfall in our services and the inconvenience caused. We have discussed on the issues highlighted and will reiterate that the amenities mentioned can be replenished at no extra cost to our team, especially our new staff members. The importance of providing good service to our guests at The Dining Room is reiterated as well.

We would like the opportunity to welcome you and your family to Fraser Suites Singapore to restore your confidence in us when you visit Singapore. Kindly inform us on your next visit so that I may handle your reservation personally.

Meanwhile, Happy New Year and Best Wishes for 2013!

Your sincerely
Adrian Lee
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
The Quays
Fraser Place Robertson Walk, Singapore
Marina Bay
Pan Pacific Singapore
Pan Pacific Singapore
#13 of 314 in Singapore
7,391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Joo Chiat
Village Hotel Katong by Far East Hospitality
Orchard Road
Pan Pacific Orchard
Pan Pacific Orchard
#29 of 314 in Singapore
2,465 reviews
Orchard Road
Holiday Inn Singapore Orchard City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fraser Suites Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fraser Suites Singapore

Property: Fraser Suites Singapore
Address: 491A River Valley Road Valley Point, Singapore 248372, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
#25 Family Hotel in Singapore
#57 Business Hotel in Singapore
#63 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fraser Suites Singapore 4.5*
Number of rooms: 255
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in a prime residential district, Fraser Suites River Valley is only a short distance from Orchard Road, Singapore's renowned shopping destination, as well as the Central Business District. The vibrant riverside corridor of Clarke Quay and Boat Quay - hosts of a myriad of themed restaurants, al fresco dining, chic cafes, pubs and specialty shops are also located close by, while Changi International Airport is a 30-minute car ride away.Comprising of 255 splendid suites, the residence offers a range of residences, from spacious one-, two- and three-bedroom to luxurious penthouses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fraser Suites Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fraser Suites Singapore Hotel Singapore
Fraser Hotel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing