We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not that bad, but not very good either”
Review of Fortuna Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Fortuna Hotel
Ranked #248 of 317 Hotels in Singapore
Reviewed April 11, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 2 nights and I must say that I was thankful I spent most of the time outdoors. The location of this hotel is fantastic as it is situated just across the street from Mustafa Centre in Little India. The hotel is very modest as per Singapore standards, the rooms were pretty small and cramped, and not very clean either not to mention the bathrooms, which were pretty stinky too. The staff were not very helpful either. However, since we used to arrive rather late and leave early in the morning, it did not bother us that much. But for anybody travelling to Singapore I would definitely not suggest them this place.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sunanda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (174)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

101 - 107 of 174 reviews

Reviewed April 4, 2013

This is my 4th stay at Fortuna hotel, Singapore. This hotel room is very small but price is very high. Room service is very bad. But location is excellent. Only for location I stay there. Hotel staff behavior average.

Room Tip: Only for location you can stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank B M Zakir H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013

I have been much disappointed with this hotel and would advise no one to stay here...the deluxe room which cost approx $208 is an absolute mess....the superior room which costs a little bit less is much worse...even the cupboards dont open....the floor is all sticky, there are cobwebs everywhere, there are strands of hair lying on the beds....and much much more....the only thing good about the hotel is that it is close to the market but otherwise the hotel is terrible...

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sri101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

This is my second stay at Fortuna Hotel, my last stay was 1.5 years ago.

The room we got this time around was very small but it was clean and comfortable enough. Only the windows looked stained.

Room service was good. We got attended to very fast. Check in and out was smooth.

The location is a major plus. Lots of restaurants nearby and Mustafa Shopping Complex is right opposite the hotel. The main reason for our pick of this hotel is the location.

Recommended if you are just looking for a comfortable place to stay. Don't expect luxury.

Room Tip: Get the corner rooms, they are much bigger than the normal rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shafinaah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

This hotel is accessible to the train station which is just behind the hotel. Near Mustafa Center which is open 24 hours and just infront of the hotel is a convenient store which is open 24 hours also. The hotel staffs are friendly and they attend to your request immediately. Hotel is clean and price is ok. Breakfast was not included when we booked the hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rodge B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Considering its Singapore, everything is sky rocketing price when it comes to finding a decent place to stay! However this hotel beats it all for the price and the location...For its location in Little India its a value for money! Great rooms, good staff and great locations to eat around & shop...Even the MRT is just behind the hotel which is very convenient to move around whole of Singapore!! Specially for the Indian travelers...
My advise is just go for it!!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paulanant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013

A budget hotel with no frills. The people at reception are warm. They were kind to allot me my room though I was early. The room was Ok. Its small, but being a solo traveller, I had enough to move around the room. If its a couple or family, its very small depending on the room taken. It had a balcony but it was locked. The TV has limited channels. The washroom was clean. The bed was comfy and I had no issues with the sleep or construction happening nearby. The area is Little India so the area is always buzzing especially on Sundays. Place outside the hotel was so crowded.

The location is central with 2-3 mins walk to MRT Little India. The hotel is literally opposite to Mustafa. A bus stop is nearby that has access to most locations. Its very hard to get taxi here. I often had to wait for 15 to 20 mins to get one (take the taxi point near mustafa, opposite to hotel).

Checkout was breeze. It happened quickly and I left my baggage at the baggage counter for about few hours before I left for airport. The people at reception were helpful in providing information too.

Overall, nice stay. But remembers its budget with no luxury.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vvinodhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Pinnacle Hotel
#284 of 317 in Singapore
303 reviews
Little India
Santa Grand Hotel Little India
Santa Grand Hotel Little India
#166 of 317 in Singapore
337 reviews
Classique Hotel
#197 of 317 in Singapore
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Little India
PARKROYAL on Kitchener Road
PARKROYAL on Kitchener Road
#103 of 317 in Singapore
3,022 reviews
Little India
Hotel 165
Hotel 165
#237 of 317 in Singapore
67 reviews
Little India
Tai Hoe
Tai Hoe
#112 of 317 in Singapore
512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fortuna Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fortuna Hotel

Address: 2 Owen Road Fortuna Hotel, Singapore 218842, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
#43 Spa Hotel in Singapore
Price Range: $81 - $203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Fortuna Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Agoda, Ctrip TA and TripOnline SA so you can book your Fortuna Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fortuna Hotel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing