We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sound hotel, great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Carlton Hotel Singapore
Ranked #58 of 319 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 16, 2010

It was the first time for me to stay here. The location in combination with the high quality makes this one of my favorites to stay in in Singapore. I had a club room. Breakfast was ok on the club floor, but is better downstairs (basically, as almost always with club rooms...). My room was a bit noisy (e.g. I could clearly hear the next room noises).
I stayed in the old part (they added a new wing). The gym was adequate, although missed a few 'essentials'.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank honkiehoteler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,173)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,149 - 3,155 of 4,173 reviews

Reviewed October 11, 2010

A wonderfully situated luxury hotel with new and modern facilities.
Stroll across the road for a Singapore Slinger at Raffles, catch the MRT or walk to Orchard Rd for a spot of shopping or strolling. Clarke Quay is nearby, as is the CBD, and other delights of Singapore.
At the end of a long and hot day of sightseeing, retreat to the Carlton Hotel, have a rest, catch a movie on the TV, and indulge in Singaporean or Western cuisine.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ParksyMelb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2010

i like this hotel because it's near everywhere in Singapore, its near to City Hall MRT, the brasbasah complex where you can find cheap used books, and only 8 minutes walk to Bugis street...
The room is nice and clean.
The food is delicious.. you can enjoy the city view while having breakfast.
Its a nice hotel with reasonable price.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank melissamuhibat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2010

stayed for two nights at Carlton for business purpose last May. booked the standard room and got on the 10th floor (forgot the exact room number). facing the SMU building and the view of Bras basah road nearby. all I could say is that Carlton is definitely a compact hotel and that's all about it. for me, since I was out all day and did not come back till 9pm so I did not find any trouble at all. check in was fast (3.00pm) and the staffs were friendly and nice. the room was okay, in my words, acceptable for a standard room consider it was much spacious although I admit most of it was a bit out dated especially the bathroom (which i found a bit small also and uncomfortable). bed was so/so but at least the housekeeper changed my linen daily. did not try the breakfast buffet so I could not comment on that. the pool was somewhat okay but did not swim in there as well, just spent a couple hour before check out beside the pool. location was definitely very okay. took me across the street for Chijmes, catholic church nearby, money changer just a walk nearby, 7eleven beside money changer and also next to Bras basah complex where you could find cheap bargain stuff and books. also nearby to MRT. very handy for me who relied on public transport. also 10min walk to Suntec and Raffles hotel. overall it was a nice decent 4* hotel even though i found it a bit pricey.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelingmadam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2010

A two-night stopover. Room comfortable and large, well appointed. Bathroom clean and modern. Had a ironing board but no iron. Room smelt of smoke on first entering but smell went after aircon turned up. Mini bar, pay as you go internet access. Very nice restaurant with excellent buffet breakfast. Hotel located next door to Raffles Hotel and Raffles Plaza, an ideal location to most attractions. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GuyRMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2010

I recently stayed at this hotel prior to the Singapore Grand Prix and was greatly disappointed. We booked a room which was not made known to us at the time but was part of the 'old' part of the Carlton hotel and the room was extremely basic for a 5 star hotel. It literally had a double bed, a basic bathroom, two chairs and other basic amenties.

Don't get me wrong the location is good and the room was generally clean. One advice is to check which building you are put in prior to your booking and that there are better 5 star hotels in Singapore for the price that we had paid.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chengdu-resident
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2010

Best value in a great location, located across the street from the ultra-expensive Raffles Hotel, City Hall MRT station, 2 blocks away, 1/2 hour walk to the Singapore River, Boat Quay, Clarke Quay and Merlion.The location of the hotel is very nice as it keeps you away from the touristy crowds, yet you are not too far away from anything. The nearby shopping complexes like the Raffles mall, Suntec city mall and Bugis junction...give you a range of shopping. Changi International Airport is a 20-minute drive away. The staff was extremely courteous, polite and responsive to all of my needs.

Tip
Try eating at the Hawker Markets at Buggis Junction. They have the most local food, and are pretty cheap.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sreyashi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Marina Bay
Pan Pacific Singapore
Pan Pacific Singapore
#13 of 319 in Singapore
8,155 reviews
Naumi Hotel
#19 of 319 in Singapore
2,432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Quays
Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlton Hotel Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton Hotel Singapore

Address: 76 Bras Basah Rd, Singapore 189558, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#51 Family Hotel in Singapore
#55 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
#57 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#61 Business Hotel in Singapore
Price Range: $126 - $292 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Carlton Hotel Singapore 4.5*
Number of rooms: 940
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Carlton Hotel Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Singapore Carlton Hotel
Carlton Hotel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing