We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Carlton Hotel Singapore
Ranked #58 of 312 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great location!”
Reviewed June 7, 2014

I definitely Love the location! The hotel lobby is beautiful, well renovated. The room is little bit old even I stayed on the Executive room. Lots of restaurants within walking distance if you do not want to eat at the hotel. Buffet breakfast was not too bad just ok. The hotel staff were very welcoming and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PhansiriReneeM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,841 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,304
    1,732
    543
    170
    92
See reviews for
652
1,288
288
1,003
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (799)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Basingstoke, England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2014

This is a well-located hotel and is nice, clean and comfortable.
The rooms in the hotel are nicely done, are comfortable and welcoming.
Bathrooms, shower, bed, furnishing are all nicely done.
One thing that is annoying is that this is a business hotel in a business area of Singapor and they try to make quite a high charge for internet access in the bedroom. Considering the way of the world these days, I believe that this kind of internet connection service should come free of charge.
Location - this hotel is very near the Singapore subway and if your luggage is manageable, I would suggest that you use this to get to and from the airport and also to move round Singapore.
The hotel is also very near Raffles, Raffles shopping centre, the Esplanade (a highly recommended spot, very beautiful by the waterside). Also a short walk away is the Arab area and Bugis street/area. These are more like old fashioned Singapore and are still superb if you want to experience more traditional, local food, drink and shopping. Also in the Arab area are many bars where alcoholic drinks, though still expensive, will be much cheaper than in the hotel.
Drinks and cigarettes - Singapore puts high taxes on alcohol and cigarettes - just be aware of this.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raphael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2014

There was no mini bar, the tv and/or movies didn't work over 3 days (engineers couldn't fix it) and wifi only works in lobby and so slow that it's difficult to use. We have stayed in 40 hotels in the last 2 months and this was the most expensive and yet worst. $10 for a regular coffee in the lobby. We will not stay with carlton again or recommend.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarleneLawler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bilbao, Spain
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2014

Stayed here for two nights, during the period where the haze was really bad last year. Stayed in the new wing, the room was nicely decorated and had a nice bath room. Only complaint was the breakfast, it was not the best quality (we had upset tummies the whole morning, after eating) and lacked variety.

Would still recommended this though, for it's location (just across raffles city and chijmes, and is located in a quiet corner) and good value. Eat breakfast somewhere else, I'd say. There are other dining options nearby.

Room Tip: Request to be roomed in the new wing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dyowsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2014

This was our second trip to Singapore within 12 months and we decided to try another hotel this time just to mix it up a little! On our booking we asked for a room with a view of the Marina and were given one in the Premier Wing on the 13th Floor. It was fabulous! Great shower room!! Stunning views to water and of Raffles Hotel across road. Close to Raffles City with food and shops as well as metro stations at City Hall or Bras Bahar stop. Easy walk to Orchard Road. Taxis and rickshaws available outside hotel and shopping centre. Excellent food options across road so no need for breakfast at hotel. Pool small but perfect for taking the heat out of our tired feet and bodies after a days shopping!! We would definitely stay here again in term of convenience, value for money and overall standard of accommodation.

Room Tip: Premier wing excellent and recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank George C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2014 via mobile

Quick check in upon arrival, concierge staff helpful but only thing I wasn't expecting from a 4star hotel in this day and age is the use of wifi only in the lobby otherwise extra charge in the room.

The room in itself was immaculately clean, house keeping cleaned everyday, nice clean bathroom with separate bath and shower. Room service was quite quick though my club sandwich arrived cold.

Small pool but functional, didn't have the time to use it. Location quite ideal for airport and business district. It's only 20minute drive with taxi to the airport and about $25. Walking distance to business district as I didn't want to get stuck in traffic.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank NyashaX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2014

Staying here on business for 4 nights

The reception is wide open and airy, and a very pleasant temperature after the humidity outside.

Was given a room with a view over the Raffles hotel and the marina basin in the distance, so the view cannot be faulted.

The bathroom was large and very well furbished, but like many modern layouts, there is little room for toiletries, so enough for 1! The separate bat than shower were brilliant, and they still had views if you wanted them through the glass wall.

Bed area was large and comfortable with one soft chair and one office chair next to the desk. The work area was good and reasonably lit with it's own lamp. Lighting elsewhere was fairly subtle and pleasant rather than bright.

The bed was comfortable and a good nights sleep was had each night (sometimes hard to get out of in the morning, lol)

The major criticism I had was the WiFi!!!!!
Downstairs there is free WiFi which was pretty good and not too slow even with many people using it. Good enough for Skype messaging and email anyway.

However, the room internet connection was very different. Apparently it has been designed to only accept two devices per paid for connection S$20 per day. However, I never managed to get more than my laptop connected. I even tried the support line and got assistance, solved it at the time, but the issue returned as soon as I had left my room and returned. Coped after that with just the laptop.

The pool area was very clean and welcoming, though on a day where there are many visitors, there available sun loungers would quickly fill up. The pool itself was refreshing to cool down in and was big enough to have an ok swim. Just be aware I didn't see any markers to show where the pool got deeper.

If the issue with the WiFi hadn't occurred I'd have rated this hotel 4/5.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveGreenway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Fairmont Singapore
#15 of 312 in Singapore
5,831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina Bay
Pan Pacific Singapore
Pan Pacific Singapore
#13 of 312 in Singapore
7,266 reviews
Naumi Hotel
#16 of 312 in Singapore
2,193 reviews
InterContinental Singapore
#7 of 312 in Singapore
1,010 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlton Hotel Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton Hotel Singapore

Property: Carlton Hotel Singapore
Address: 76 Bras Basah Rd, Singapore 189558, Singapore
Phone Number:
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#54 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
#58 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#61 Business Hotel in Singapore
#66 Family Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Carlton Hotel Singapore 4.5*
Number of rooms: 940
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Carlton Hotel Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Singapore Carlton Hotel
Carlton Hotel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing