We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel in an Excellent Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Carlton Hotel Singapore
Ranked #52 of 312 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Good Hotel in an Excellent Location”
Reviewed January 8, 2014

My wife and I stayed in a Premier Club Room in the new wing of the Carlton Hotel for 7 nights over the Christmas and New Year period. Check in and check out was efficient and takes place in the Club.

The choices provided in the Club for the buffet breakfast were limited compared to those in the main restaurant, however by staying in a Club Room you have the choice to eat in both for free as part of the Club Room package. The cost if you pay for the buffet breakfast is SGD$38 per person which I do not think is good value for money. The Happy Hour each evening was good with free food and drinks provided. Service from the staff in the Club was good.

The location is great, across the road from Raffles Hotel and Raffles Place Shopping Centre. 5 minutes walk to the City Hall MRT which takes you anywhere in Singapore. Orchard Road is 3 stations (5 minutes) from City Hall.

We would consider staying at the Carlton next time we are in Singapore.

Room Tip: Go for a Club or Premier Club room as they offer good value and higher levels of service.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Redo23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,795 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,286
    1,716
    535
    167
    91
See reviews for
639
1,267
286
995
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (791)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newcasltle upon Tyne
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2014

Unfortunately we only stayed here for 2 nights on our way back to the UK from Australia. I had booked a Carlton Club Room and had forgotten but it was most welcome to find out that we had a late check out of 3pm as we were not flying until 9pm, we also received free breakfast buffet in the mornings and free cocktails and snacks between 6 and 8pm on an evening. The result of this was that we didn't really pay for any food whilst we were in Singapore, except in the hotel's patisserie, which is well worth a visit.
We really loved staying here, the staff were really friendly, especially the door staff who always had a great big smile for you. The bar was a lovely place to sit and relax in post 8pm and free cocktails, with live music nightly. The male and female entertainers were really good.
Our room was on the 17th floor so we had a great view of the city, it was clean and very comfortable, the only thing I had a little moan about was the lack of free WiFi in your room, although you could get this in the communal areas of the hotel.
Swimming Pool good size with lots of sun beds and areas to sit in, did not use gym, as not there long enough.
The hotel is situated approx. 15 minutes walk to the Singapore Flyer (like the London Eye but bigger), and we just walked there our first morning, we also picked up the city tour bus from outside the Flyer and used this as our mode of transport to get to all the other areas on ort to do list.
Really enjoyed staying at the Carlton and would definitely go back if in Singapore again.

Room Tip: Higher up rooms get the best views, try upgrading to a Carlton Room as you get late check out 3pm, f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dawnalan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Stayed here for 5 nights in a premier club room . Was great value for money . Buffet Breakfast was lovely & always free. Happy hour in the club level was great - The service was wonderful by all the staff always helpful with what to do around Singapore and where to go :)
Thanks will stay again when returning to Singapore .

Room Tip: Preimum Club was worth every cent :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Britt13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
111 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014

I went to the hotel after a flight in from beijing. I was immediately impressed with the service. They gave me a free upgrade. The room was great and just what I needed after a long flight. I went for a swim in the pool which has a great view of the skyline. Most of the rooms offer great views. The only think I could fault is the check out. It took me 15 mins to check out and put my luggage in storage.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnnyBoyTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweden
Level Contributor
59 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Carlton Hotel has a great location, it´s close to three MRT and a lot of sights nearby. We got rooms in the new tower overlooking Raffles, they were new, good standard and nice. However, in general Carlton doesn´t manage to live up to its high-end profile. The staff was always busy with something else and not very friendly either. The biggest problem for us was the breakfast - the bufé is good but the Mosaic Cafe is horrible; the acoustic is so bad it feels like sitting in a school canteen. Same when we had dinner there, really loud and noisy even though only three tables were taken. Not the best way to start of you day. The pool is also disappointing, small and located in between the towers.
Chose Carlton is you score a good booking deal, then the price can be really reasonable for Singapore (if you get included breakfast) and if you don´t really mind the service aspect. If your looking for an extra touch, chose someplace else.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisnorl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 6, 2014

Stayed here in November 2013 with a group of friends. All five couples found the hotel to be not only centrally located and within easy walking distance to attractions but also loved the cleanliness, service and overall "feel" of the hotel. Would certainly return. Check in was easy and fast.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carol3678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014

Last Wednesday, 02/01/2014, I stayed at the Carlton hotel for my birthday. I had wanted to do something different and decided to go for a staycation with my mum. I made my booking through Expedia's website and took the weekend special. The room that I choose was the Superior room which came with a King sized bed!

The location of Carlton was really convenient. Just a few minutes walk from City Hall MRT! Not forgetting if you want to do shopping it's just right beside Raffles City.

Check-in was at 2pm and all the counters were full! Though everyone was occupied, my wait was less than 5 mins before I was attended too. Service was prompt and professional but the staff could be a little more chirpy and warm. The good thing about the service was that she managed to cater to my request of giving me a room on a high floor which I was pleased.

The room that we stayed in was on the 19th floor of the old wing.

Pros of the room:
VERY clean and enough natural light
Spacious and not overly cluttered! But yet giving you the warm and cosy feeling.
Very good amenities
Good television and channels
Enough sitting spaces

Cons of the room:
No wireless internet
No bedroom slippers
Provision of some bathe salt for the bathtub soaking would be nice
We also order room service for dinner while we were there! We tried the famous Char Kway Teow and Fried Rice. Though it was pricey but I was impressed with the quality of the food and the serving of it. It is definitely worth a try when you are there!

For our morning breakfast, we ate at Cafe Mosaic. The breakfast buffet selection had loads of variety and there's definitely something for everyone! Quality of the food was also good, not sub-standard. My favorite sections were the pastries section and omelette station. At the pastry section, there were nice croissants, muffins and German Bee Sting Cake. Omelette station you get to choose what kind of eggs you wanted whether it being sunny side up, omelette with fillings etc. Only down point was that the ambiance was noisy and tables were a little to near to each other. Service wise, the staff were prompt and helpful.

Overall I had a pleasant stay at the Carlton Hotel Singapore! I would definitely recommend it to those considering having a staycation or holiday in Singapore.

Room Tip: Request for a high floor so it would not be too noisy Book a room in the new wing for a better view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebekah O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Fairmont Singapore
#17 of 312 in Singapore
5,726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina Bay
Pan Pacific Singapore
Pan Pacific Singapore
#14 of 312 in Singapore
7,115 reviews
Naumi Hotel
#18 of 312 in Singapore
2,164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlton Hotel Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton Hotel Singapore

Property: Carlton Hotel Singapore
Address: 76 Bras Basah Rd, Singapore 189558, Singapore
Phone Number:
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#52 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
#58 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#61 Business Hotel in Singapore
#66 Family Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Carlton Hotel Singapore 4.5*
Number of rooms: 940
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotel.de, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Carlton Hotel Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Singapore Carlton Hotel
Carlton Hotel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing