We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Carlton Hotel Singapore
Ranked #58 of 312 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Kuala Lumpur
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

The hotel is functional and efficient. Nothing too flashy and very worth the money you pay.

If you are looking a hotel near the heart of the city, MRT, good restaurants and good breakfast, I will recommend this to everyone.

Room Tip: Ask for the newest rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lous80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,844 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,306
    1,733
    543
    170
    92
See reviews for
653
1,288
288
1,003
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (801)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

The Carlton Hotel Singapore has been part of the City landscape for many years and the hotel has just recently completed it's renovation/upgrading and introduction of a new wing. This is great if u happen to get a room in the new wing where the rooms are new and decor contemporary. The location is fantastic with Raffles City just across the street. Chijmes, a heritage building with several Bice restaurants and bars is also nearby. So are shopping malls such as Bugis Junction, Marina Square, Suntec City, Marina Bay Sands and Millenia Walk all sighing 15mins walk. One thing though, the swimming pool is pathetic - I hope they upgrade this soon.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LarsonSG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is within walking distance from marina square, shopping mall and park which I feel very relaxing and conveinent. The hotel lobby is nicely decorated and the staff are efficient. The room is not very big but sufficient. Although I found the water pressure of the shower is not quite good, the hotel is quite good in general.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fayeap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

If you've read any of my other reviews you'll have spotted a theme; stay in the best quality I can for the best deal. So last time in sp I stayed at the Swiss Stamford which was great- no deal there this time but again a decent deal on Carlton so made a logical choice. People say the best word to describe Singapore is ' easy' and I would say the Carlton exemplifies this on all fronts. Like the review below I paid for a premier room and it was great - huge bed, smart clean fresh room as though refurbished a few weeks ago. Good molten and brown toiletries . Breakfast in premier can be taken in the private dinning room which is cosy and served by attentive staff. Or you can use the unbelievable buffet breakfast on the ground floor. There's a small coffee shop too which is handy.

A well done to the staff in the gravity bar at ground floor level, they work hard to make the place buzz. Not sure about some of the singers they have nightly, I don't think I've heard so many recent pop songs murdered in one gig- sorry to whoever the duo were on tue but you emptied the bar almost.

I would recommend this place, sure there are better and more expensive in Singapore but value for money, this is about as good as it gets.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank pinacolada53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blonay, Switzerland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

First of all, the hotel is perfectly located to visit Singapore. I rather stay around city hall than around Orchard or somewhere else. From there, it's easy to commute to Orchard, Sentosa, Marina bay, etc. Plus, it's very easy go to or from the airport. It's a classic five stars, where most of your expectations will be met.

Rooms are better and cheaper than the Stamford where I already went and you have free wifi in the lobby.

On top of this, for this who arrive early in the morning at Singapore after a long flight, you can use the pool room to have a shower. And they welcome you with a complimentary drink...

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Guillaume S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We travelled to Singapore and stayed at the Carlton which is a lovely hotel. The hotel room was on the newly completed side and was well appointed. We had booked a Premium Club Room with a City/Marina Bay view which included breakfast and evening cocktails and canapes (there was no cocktails available at all), we also had to alter our room so we could have the Marina Bay/City view which we initially paid extra for. We were disappointed with the club room itself. The Club Room was in a lovely location the staff were excellent, however the drinks were very limited as in variety. Several different types of beers, 1 choice of red or white wine and 4 or 5 spirits were offered (no bourbon!) as we have stayed in a lot of club rooms we found this one really lacking in choice. Evening canapes and breakfast there was again a very limited choice and generally the food was luke warm to cold not good enough so we chose to eat downstairs for the breakfast which was really nice, although defeating the purpose of booking a Club Room. The location of the hotel is excellent.

Room Tip: Don't book a club room not worth the extra. Book a deluxe room with breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cruisin57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 days as part of a city break before heading off to Bali.

We we greeted warmly by the concierge team and checked in quickly and efficiently by friendly staff. We only stayed on a room only basis, breakfast was quite expensive at 32usd a person.We got much cheaper breakfasts across the road in the raffles city shopping centre where there's many coffee shops, juice bars and restaurants.

Our room was amazing, really clean. We had a deluxe double. The highlight was that we could watch the tv in the main room from lieing the bath as there was a huge window and sound linked to the bathroom. The bed was comfy.
The only slight disappointment was the view, there wasn't one just of another high rise. For a deluxe double we'd have maybe expected a view over the city or the pool area.

We had drinks at the gravity bar one evening, great great service :)

The hotel is ideally situated for shopping, bars and restaurants. Chimes restaurants and bars are right opposite the hotel.

The original sightseeing bus also stops at hotel.

Overall we were very impressed. Slightly disappointed on our final day when we came back to the hotel at 2pm because I was really unwell with stomach cramps we sat in the large reception area and I had a lie down, we had already had to check out. At 3pm an hour later a female member of staff came and asked if I was ok, when I said I had stomach cramps and felt sick she pulled a face and walked off. 10 minutes later a male member of stuff came over and told me I couldn't lie on the sofas. I appreciate this at a hotel such as the Carlton. But a but more sympathy could helped, they could offered us a room or atleast asked if there was anything they could get us or better still turned a blind eye given I wa poorly.

Other than this all was amazing. We particularly rate the concierge guys putting us in and out of taxis. They were lovely and so helpful.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carrie w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Fairmont Singapore
#15 of 312 in Singapore
5,841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Naumi Hotel
#16 of 312 in Singapore
2,195 reviews
Marina Bay
Pan Pacific Singapore
Pan Pacific Singapore
#13 of 312 in Singapore
7,277 reviews
InterContinental Singapore
#7 of 312 in Singapore
1,014 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlton Hotel Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton Hotel Singapore

Property: Carlton Hotel Singapore
Address: 76 Bras Basah Rd, Singapore 189558, Singapore
Phone Number:
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#54 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
#58 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#61 Business Hotel in Singapore
#66 Family Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Carlton Hotel Singapore 4.5*
Number of rooms: 940
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Carlton Hotel Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Singapore Carlton Hotel
Carlton Hotel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing