We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Second stay and still a good choice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Carlton Hotel Singapore
Ranked #50 of 306 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Second stay and still a good choice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

If you've read any of my other reviews you'll have spotted a theme; stay in the best quality I can for the best deal. So last time in sp I stayed at the Swiss Stamford which was great- no deal there this time but again a decent deal on Carlton so made a logical choice. People say the best word to describe Singapore is ' easy' and I would say the Carlton exemplifies this on all fronts. Like the review below I paid for a premier room and it was great - huge bed, smart clean fresh room as though refurbished a few weeks ago. Good molten and brown toiletries . Breakfast in premier can be taken in the private dinning room which is cosy and served by attentive staff. Or you can use the unbelievable buffet breakfast on the ground floor. There's a small coffee shop too which is handy.

A well done to the staff in the gravity bar at ground floor level, they work hard to make the place buzz. Not sure about some of the singers they have nightly, I don't think I've heard so many recent pop songs murdered in one gig- sorry to whoever the duo were on tue but you emptied the bar almost.

I would recommend this place, sure there are better and more expensive in Singapore but value for money, this is about as good as it gets.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank pinacolada53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,704 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,250
    1,671
    527
    167
    89
See reviews for
628
1,228
272
976
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (773)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Blonay, Switzerland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

First of all, the hotel is perfectly located to visit Singapore. I rather stay around city hall than around Orchard or somewhere else. From there, it's easy to commute to Orchard, Sentosa, Marina bay, etc. Plus, it's very easy go to or from the airport. It's a classic five stars, where most of your expectations will be met.

Rooms are better and cheaper than the Stamford where I already went and you have free wifi in the lobby.

On top of this, for this who arrive early in the morning at Singapore after a long flight, you can use the pool room to have a shower. And they welcome you with a complimentary drink...

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Guillaume S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

We travelled to Singapore and stayed at the Carlton which is a lovely hotel. The hotel room was on the newly completed side and was well appointed. We had booked a Premium Club Room with a City/Marina Bay view which included breakfast and evening cocktails and canapes (there was no cocktails available at all), we also had to alter our room so we could have the Marina Bay/City view which we initially paid extra for. We were disappointed with the club room itself. The Club Room was in a lovely location the staff were excellent, however the drinks were very limited as in variety. Several different types of beers, 1 choice of red or white wine and 4 or 5 spirits were offered (no bourbon!) as we have stayed in a lot of club rooms we found this one really lacking in choice. Evening canapes and breakfast there was again a very limited choice and generally the food was luke warm to cold not good enough so we chose to eat downstairs for the breakfast which was really nice, although defeating the purpose of booking a Club Room. The location of the hotel is excellent.

Room Tip: Don't book a club room not worth the extra. Book a deluxe room with breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cruisin57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
131 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 days as part of a city break before heading off to Bali.

We we greeted warmly by the concierge team and checked in quickly and efficiently by friendly staff. We only stayed on a room only basis, breakfast was quite expensive at 32usd a person.We got much cheaper breakfasts across the road in the raffles city shopping centre where there's many coffee shops, juice bars and restaurants.

Our room was amazing, really clean. We had a deluxe double. The highlight was that we could watch the tv in the main room from lieing the bath as there was a huge window and sound linked to the bathroom. The bed was comfy.
The only slight disappointment was the view, there wasn't one just of another high rise. For a deluxe double we'd have maybe expected a view over the city or the pool area.

We had drinks at the gravity bar one evening, great great service :)

The hotel is ideally situated for shopping, bars and restaurants. Chimes restaurants and bars are right opposite the hotel.

The original sightseeing bus also stops at hotel.

Overall we were very impressed. Slightly disappointed on our final day when we came back to the hotel at 2pm because I was really unwell with stomach cramps we sat in the large reception area and I had a lie down, we had already had to check out. At 3pm an hour later a female member of staff came and asked if I was ok, when I said I had stomach cramps and felt sick she pulled a face and walked off. 10 minutes later a male member of stuff came over and told me I couldn't lie on the sofas. I appreciate this at a hotel such as the Carlton. But a but more sympathy could helped, they could offered us a room or atleast asked if there was anything they could get us or better still turned a blind eye given I wa poorly.

Other than this all was amazing. We particularly rate the concierge guys putting us in and out of taxis. They were lovely and so helpful.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carrie w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
126 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

One night stay for business. Professional front staff - in a robotic way rather than inviting. No smiles here.

The room in the new wing is generously sized and well equipped with a coffee machine using coffee pods at 3 bucks a pop but sure beats the cheap instant coffee found in most hotels. Squeaky clean and comfy with nice cityscape view. Free wifi which works very well.

The breakfast venue was frenetically busy with staff racing around on the verge of hysteria. You fetch your own coffee but its of good quality. The usual spread but bacon was truly awful - tasteless and perhaps post expiry.

For a 4 star hotel it's pretty good and without major surprises.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Herbert1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for a long term stay of a month in January. We've stayed in this hotel before and we liked the location and the price was reasonable.

When we first checked in, we were given an upgrade but the room was old. So we requested to change to one that has been renovated and newer. They accommodated our request and we moved the next day. The room is comfortable, laundry and cleaning service efficient. Breakfast was good as well. Gym was well equipped.

I really like the location of the hotel. It's central and near City Hall and Bras Basah mrt stations. So it's just a quick walk to whichever mrt line i wanted to take. Lots of food nearby at Raffles City and Chijmes.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HotChoc984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

My husband and me stayed there for a long weekend. The rooms are clean, the stuff is very friendly and helpfull. They have a swimming pool, not big but big enough. The gym has good equipment only there are no fans build in in the machines and the airco is not strong enough to keep you cool, so if you want to have a hard workout you will overheat very easily. The location is great, just opposit Raffles City and Chijmes with it's old beautifull church and a lot of restaurants around, just 10 minutes walking either way to the other nearest shopping malls. Orchard road is 15 minutes walking away and Marina Bay you will reach in 25 minutes walking.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dominika D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Fairmont Singapore
#16 of 306 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina Bay
Pan Pacific Singapore
Pan Pacific Singapore
#13 of 306 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,875 reviews
The Quays
Park Regis Singapore
Park Regis Singapore
#45 of 306 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlton Hotel Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton Hotel Singapore

Property: Carlton Hotel Singapore
Address: 76 Bras Basah Rd, Singapore 189558, Singapore
Phone Number:
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#50 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
#58 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#61 Business Hotel in Singapore
#66 Family Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Carlton Hotel Singapore 4.5*
Number of rooms: 940
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Orbitz, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Carlton Hotel Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Singapore Carlton Hotel
Carlton Hotel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing