We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Carlton Hotel Singapore
Nearby Hotels
Park Regis Singapore(Singapore)(Great Value!)
$163
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$298
$238
Panpacific.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Marina Bay Sands(Singapore)
$901
$541
MarinaBaySands
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
One Farrer Hotel & Spa(Singapore)(Great Value!)
$191
$159
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ibis Singapore on Bencoolen(Singapore)(Great Value!)
$103
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$128
$98
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$593
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Crowne Plaza Changi Airport(Singapore)(Great Value!)
$164
$151
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$410
$387
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Park Hotel Clarke Quay(Singapore)(Great Value!)
$227
$114
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (4,272)
Filter reviews
4,272 results
Traveler rating
1,531
1,891
572
180
98
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,531
1,891
572
180
98
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnew wingraffles citygravity barpremier club roomopposite rafflesbras basahexcellent locationmarina baymrt stationsbusiness triproom was spaciousbugis junctionclub loungecentral locationan upgraderain showershopping centre
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,672 - 2,677 of 4,272 reviews
Reviewed March 2, 2013

The hotel is centrally located and I stayed at the Premier Wing (recently built) on the first visit and was visibly impressed with the new rooms (although functional, nonetheless spacious and comfortable).

However, the follow-up stay at the Standard Wing (the old wing) left much to be desired. The air-condtitioning was extremely noisy and strong (despite setting to the the lowest speed, the curtains are fluttering due to the air-con blast). Requested for the technician help but the problem remained and no alternative rooms were offered during our 5-day stay.

In addition, calls to the house-keeping were left unanswered despite ringing for almost 30 minutes for 2 days in a row (I put it on speaker and took a shower, with the phone still ringing when I'm done showering). This pale in comparison with 5-star hotels where house keeping etc calls do not exceed 3-5 rings (acknowledged that Carlton is is 4-star hotel and shouldn't be compared directly to the 5-star peers).

Summary: Excellent location (just 1-3 minutes walk from the main Metro station of Singapore)but service standards much to be desired.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
7  Thank JustRun4Fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

We are regular visitors to Singapore and have stayed here before but not since the Premier Wing opened. It is conveniently located close to City Hall MRT station-across the road under Swissotel. About S$15-20 from the airport in a cab depending on traffic. You can walk to Chinatown, Little India even Orchard Rd.
Check in was easy. We were given a room on the 18th floor (second from top) with good views. The rooms are a good size with plenty of storage space. There is free wifi in lobby but it is charged for in rooms. (most Singapore hotels are the same) The bathroom is large with a separate wet room. Blinds provide privacy over glass wall. Quality toiletries are supplied as well as toothbrushes, shaver etc.

Room Tip: The Premier Wing is more expensive than the older wing but worth it.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank possumpal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Stayed in the premier wing and the experience was good. The customer service is excellent (I guess this is a standard you would expect in most of the hotels in Singapore). The room is of good size and the bathroom is spacious. It is centrally located and the food is also exceptional. Definitely will recommend this place for business or for a personal holiday.

Room Tip: Try to book in the premier wing.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SandeepSkydiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed for 10 nights in the hotel ( family with toddler) and found it a very enjoyable experience. The reviews for it I had seen previously were mixed, so I was intially concerned.

We stayed in the premier wing and would recommend you book this if you can afford to do so.

The premier rooms are new with nice bath room and decor. Request high floors and city views either to Marina bay or to the CBD. Some look in over the pool.

The hotel is very well run, lots of staff everywhere on reception, concierge, maintaining and the turn down service everyday was very well done.

Wifi is free in reception, can be tricky to set up sometimes but staff were helpful.

Great new gym, which I used everyday with towels supplied and nice pool, though it is not heated once you are in it is very refreshing.

So overall Carlton was an excellent 4 star option for Average $200AUD a night (we thought was great value). For true 5 star try Fullerton on the Quay, we went in this hotel it looked really amazing but $500 per night.

Marina Bay Sands was an amazing building and views on high floors, but was so busy in reception and so many rooms available, it felt a bit impersonal. views from the sky deck though are mind blowing unless you don't like heights.($20 per person for non residents of hotel).

The Carlton is close to all Singapore attractions from City Hall MRT (we used most) or Bras Basah MRT station.

On the MRT we found it better to buy return tickets as we needed them rather than a 3 day pass.
As we were staying 10 days our itinerary was more spread out and we found we took 2 return trips a day max. Kids under 0.9m height are free to travel.

Lots of lifts and escalators in MRT if you have a stroller, but trains always arrived within 2-4 minutes, so very easy once you got used to changing lines.

Taxis are also cheap if you have a group. Definitely for to and from airport.

Breakfast/Meals we ate out.

'Marche' across the road is reasonable in S$9-14 for mains.

'Hanis' at national library building for cheap breakfast. Two Eggs and chicken bacon with coffee or tea just S$5.80.

Cheap lunch and dinner eats. Chin Chin or Yet Con (family style cheap restaurants)on Purvis St , Just $4.00 for singapore chicken rice or another one on Cnr Purvis and Beach St 8.00 for tasty fried Rice and tiger beer for $8.00

Also food court top level of raffles city ( S$6 -$10) or in basement nicer restaurants $$8-20 options.

Plus myriads of options in chinatown and further afield.

Room Tip: Premier rooms recommended. Request high floors and city views either to Marina bay or to the CBD. Some look in over the pool.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

Carlton has its location to thank for as otherwise, it's got not much else to offer for its price ($280 incl taxes etc) for a normal room. carpets not too clean, bathroom dismal with stained flooring & limited toiletries (no toothbrush or toothpaste). won't be staying here if not for sell-out rooms at Fairmount/ Swissotel

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mag_ty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews