We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good mid-range hotel - very handy location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Carlton Hotel Singapore
Ranked #60 of 316 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Stayed in the Carlton for 2 weeks on business in January - a few nights in the new executive wing with my wife then the remainder in the old building.

New exec rooms are truly excellent as good a modern 5* accommodation as I've been in.

The 'standard' rooms in the old building are very good value as they are a very big size compared to some other mid-range Singapore hotels in city centre - certainly recommended if you're going to spend a considerable time in them. Don't expect a modern room though, whilst they are tidy and clean these are probably due a refurb.

Staff are all very attentive and the bar has a good happy-hour before you go out of an evening (if you can put up with the appalling live singer who only seems to know songs by Adele).

Location is fantastic - opposite Raffles Hotel (best cocktails are in the courtyard and NOT in the tourist-trap long-bar. The Bavarian bar/restaurant opposite has fantastic beers and food.

Breakfast buffet has a pretty good selection but value-for-money wise I wouldn't bother as there's enough choice locally or in the city for a decent western or local meal.

The in-house fine-dining Chinese restaurant is reknowned for its duck - very good indeed but pricey. Last time I went to go there was shut for a refurb (July 2012) so hopefully even better now.

Would recommend the Carlton for location and value to anyone staying for an extended period.

Room Tip: If you can afford it upgrade to the executive-wing - excellent modern rooms - almost a different hot...
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,941)
There are newer reviews for Carlton Hotel Singapore
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,558 - 2,564 of 3,943 reviews

Reviewed October 7, 2012

We stayed for one night in room 1332 at the Carlton. We were able to check in at about noon, and we left early in the morning the next day. The hotel was much smaller when we last stayed there, more than ten years ago.

Pros
• Very good-sized room and bathroom
• Good location across from Chijmes (we think Lei Garden is the best restaurant there) and Raffles City (which is connected to City Hall MRT station).
• We paid in advance, and check-in was swift. They insisted on taking our carry-on bag to the room separately as if we could not easily manage it.
• Check-out was fast and a taxi was waiting at 4:30 am.
• One universal wall plug and one Singapore wall plug. We could have used at least one more besides the one in the bathroom to recharge all of our devices.
• Wide hallways and lift lobbies
• No neighbor noise.

Cons
• Reception on the TV was bad for several channels and contrast poor on the Fox Movies channel but we were able to watch one movie. Reception was impossible on some channels.
• Although we checked in quickly, large groups such as airline crew often checked in. It must take quite a bit of time to wait for them.
• No wi-fi in the room, wired only. The free wi-fi in the lobby had a good signal, but there were about six complexes of sofas and chairs in the center of the huge lobby, and if the seats in the complexes are taken, the only other places to sit were the coffee shop or lounge where you feel obliged to pay. There were always places to sit at night when groups were not waiting for transportation.
• We didn't stay long enough to try any of their restaurants. I cannot erase from my memory the vast empty spaces in the lobby. The Carlton reminded us of the Ibis Bencoolen with its basic furniture, but the room and bathroom at Carlton are much bigger. Also the Carlton has no in-room wi-fi.

We felt the Carlton was a very good value.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Staidthere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Have just spent seven nights at The Carlton in central Singapore. Can highly recommend it as a clean, well serviced and helpful hotel. We had Room 1425 which for two people was quite spacious and cleaned every day. Just five minutes walk to City Hall MRT so very easily accessed by train. The free wifi service in the lobby was very convenient and the staff were most helpful. Rate was quite reasonable for central CBD at $160 per night. You would be hard placed to beat The Carlton for comfort and convenience.

Room Tip: Ask for a room upgrade as we did and they will give you one if they have rooms available. We secure...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KimB33333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

I stayed here on business, and the hotel has everything to make it a "just comfortable" business stay: the pluses are large room, desk with several wall sockets to plug in the computer and a converter plug in the room, comfortable bed. The minuses: Internet is included but no wifi in the bedrooms, internet connection very slow, air conditioning not working properly as i could not increase the temperture, so i had to turn it off alltogether, rooms look "tired" and in need of renovation. Breakfast was just average as well, especially in comparison with the breakfast buffet usually available in Asia. Service ok. I would not choose this hotel if i was travelling for pleasure.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank whiterabbitjb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

I was staying at the 9th floor in main tower for 5D4N.
The pros:-
- room was quite spacious
-it has all the basic facilities in the room i.e hair dryer, iron, iron board, mini fridge, electronic kettle
- 250m to City Hall mrt station
- 5mins walk to Bugis Junction
- breakfast was good especially the fruits
- friendly and helpful staff

The cons:-
- small bathroom without toilet hosepipe
- no wifi but only in-house internet connection. Wifi only available at the lobby

Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
1  Thank Katrina129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

This is a lovely hotel in a great location being adjacent to Raffles, and only 250 mts from the MTR, which are well worth using. This said it does have some small drawbacks.
It is basically a business hotel so we managed a get a great weekend deal, paying less than a lot of 3 or 4 star hotels were charging. We were upgraded to the new Premier Wing and the room would be difficult to fault. In addition to lovely white robes and slippers there was even a iron and ironing board. What let it down was the very basic selection of tea and coffees that came with the tea making facility, and the small and cheap hair dryer. This latter was not a problem for me. The waves in my hair waved a final goodbye some time ago, but was frustrating for my wife.
I would also agree with the comments about breakfast, a bit of a beanfeast with the tables spilling out into the lobby.
Finally,and I admit it must be difficult with such a large enterprise, we found it all a bit impersonal. This is no criticism of the staff who were all very helpful, but you hardly ever spoke with the same person twice. The exception to this was Catherine in the Business centre who not only assisted us with our internet requirements but also advised us on the best and various ways to get to Sentosa, which, unless you have kids I would seriously avoid.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pianist19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

When our flight was delayed Qantas put us up in this hotel for the night. We didn't get to the hotel till 2:30am. There were plenty of staff there to check us into the room. They were very friendly and happy to help. The rooms are a good size and the room i had a view that looked out over Raffles and Marina Bay Sands (the big ship hotel). The best are very comfy and the bathrooms are clean. In the morning we had a wake up call to ensure we didnt miss our delayed flight. The breakfast had all you could want. Overall for a night we had not expected it ended up ok.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zobey88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Naumi Hotel
#16 of 316 in Singapore
2,276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fairmont Singapore
#19 of 316 in Singapore
6,053 reviews
Marina Bay
Pan Pacific Singapore
Pan Pacific Singapore
#14 of 316 in Singapore
7,539 reviews
Marina Bay
The Ritz-Carlton, Millenia Singapore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlton Hotel Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton Hotel Singapore

Address: 76 Bras Basah Rd, Singapore 189558, Singapore
Phone Number:
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#57 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
#58 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#61 Business Hotel in Singapore
#66 Family Hotel in Singapore
Price Range: $117 - $280 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Carlton Hotel Singapore 4.5*
Number of rooms: 940
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Carlton Hotel Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Singapore Carlton Hotel
Carlton Hotel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing