We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More than a bed and bath.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Pacific Hotel
Ranked #119 of 317 Hotels in Singapore
Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

Had a 10 day stay , it was our 6th time there going back to the Allson days. The rooms are dated but clean and our bed was comfortable and bedding was changed daily. The bathroom was again clean but in need of some professional grouting. The staff and location are what keeps us returning. The front desk and porters remember us and we always have some friendly banter with them, it makes us feel welcome and relaxed. The restaurant staff also made us welcome every morning for breakfast, every one in our group found something they liked for breakfast from the fruit platter to fresh cooked omlette s. The last comment is praise for our room cleaner Chork Lom ( best spelling from memory) . Her smile and readiness to meet the cleaning requirements of the group in our room made us all feel lucky to have her on our floor. We will return.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,208)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

628 - 634 of 1,208 reviews

Reviewed October 25, 2013

Stayed one night only, good sized room, clean, great blackout curtains (needed for a three-hour sleep during the day after a long flight the night before, and social commitments that night). The hotel is a bit tired, still has the old dark Chinese furniture I remember from ten years ago in the Allson days, but for a one night stopover at SQ rates it was absolutely fine. We didn't use the restaurant or coffee shop, had duck rice in the local food court across the road and it was perfectly good if you're not a snob.

Staff members were helpful especially the concierge who arranged delivery of our SQ vouchers because I'd forgotten to pick them up at the validation desk. The receptionist was quick to offer use of showers at the pool area when we arrived early in the morning and our rooms weren't ready, also could have used them before leaving the next afternoon.

The hotel is close to buses and MRT, it's a good basic stopover hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AliNel01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

This was our last stop on a big trip and we should have gone for something special as Singapore has a lot to offer better than this. It needs to be refurbished as it seems stuck in the 90's. Staff were all OK but not outstanding, the food for breakfast was decidely average although there was a good choice and you could pick the best bits. Our room was small and the landing area smelt unpleasant, probably the cleaning products they use. Having said all that, the bed we had was comfy and the pillows were nicely firm so we slept well. We would not use it again unless it changed a lot.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dave C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Husband and I stayed there for 5 nights and upon checking in the front desk staff was extremely unfriendly and cold. The front desk people acted as if we need them and they don't care if we're staying or not. The room is terrible, do not stay in on the 5th floor of the hotel! the hotel room has a creepy yellow door inside the bathroom. The bed is hard and you could feel the springs on your back. We asked to switch room and they told us to pay extra for an upgrade. The "newer" room wasn't that much better, at least there wasn't any creepy door. We then moved to the Carlton hotel down the street and it was a TREAT! Location here is good, but the hotel is old and run down.

Room Tip: Do not stay on the 5th floor! it has a creepy door inside the bathroom. looks like something would c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank grasshopper1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

A basic hotel, OK but only just, and well below the standard of some other places at similar prices. Well located and a good front desk welcome but that was it! Our room suffered from some strange low frequency noise, our pillows were uncomfortable, the dinner service was slow and the food quality mediocre. Breakfast was unexciting with a poor range of hot food and later than average start time (6.30). You will do far better elsewhere.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank exbiztraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

having two guys wearing white gloves to open and close the doors does not = 5 stars, indifferent staff .Was (upgraded to superior ) room which ment it had been painted in the last six months .washing machine accepted money then refused to work, was told by front desk it was not their responsibility was not offered refund. Breakfast was $35 and consisted of warm soapy goo ,cereal, and juice, coffee etc. pretty average place poor value.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jeff1955-216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Of town. Singapore flyer, Marina bay, Raffles, Clark quay. All with in easy walking distance of the hotel. All of the staff are very good & Reception very helpful They even lent me an adapter so I could use my computer (there is now Wi-Fi in the rooms) The rooms are a little dated & in need of re-furbishing but that said they are clean & comfortable. Breakfast was good with a large choice of both Asian & International food. All though the hot options could have been a little warmer. For the location & price this Hotel dose the job. I would probably go back again

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank witheldno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Hotel Royal at Queens
#167 of 317 in Singapore
762 reviews
Ibis Singapore on Bencoolen
#66 of 317 in Singapore
6,618 reviews
Hotel G Singapore
#68 of 317 in Singapore
1,198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kampong Glam
Village Hotel Bugis by Far East Hospitality
Furama RiverFront
#93 of 317 in Singapore
2,483 reviews
Hotel Kai
#139 of 317 in Singapore
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Pacific Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Pacific Hotel

Address: 101 Victoria Street Hotel Grand Pacific, Singapore 188018, Singapore (Formerly Allson Hotel Singapore)
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#78 Business Hotel in Singapore
Price Range: $104 - $213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Pacific Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sixteen-story Hotel situated in the heart of business district, shopping & entertainment centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelocity, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Pacific Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Allson Hotel Singapore
Singapore Allson Hotel
Allson Singapore
Grand Pacific Hotel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing