We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Pacific Hotel
Ranked #115 of 312 Hotels in Singapore
Kent
Level 6 Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Love this hotel”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We stay here every time we come to Singapore. The hotel is in a great location with 3 MRT stations within a short walk and many bus routes. All the staff are friendly and helpful and as we was there for a few weeks they knew us by name and always stopped for a chat. The pool is not very big but it did not matter as there was never many people there at any one time. Our tour operator booked 2 double rooms even though we requested 1 double and 1 twin but the hotel staff sorted it out for us with no fuss. Even though there are cheaper hotels we will be staying here again on our next visit.

Room Tip: Higher floors at the front have a good view of the Singapore Flyer
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DESK29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    213
    536
    279
    95
    39
See reviews for
265
395
99
222
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I found this centrally located hotel, comfy. The staff very helpful, swimming pool great, restaurant very accommodating prices just fine. All round the place was enjoyable. Rooms a bit small but bed good and lovely to have an ironing board and iron in the room. Bath needed a mat in it as a bit slippery for elderly people.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 17Sally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We had 2 nights here en route to Europe. While the hotel is tired and in need of a good freshen up, the rooms were clean and comfortable. The dining room provided us with very nice meals in the evening and the staff were extremely accommodating on the day we left. We checked out early, but weren't actually leaving until 8.00 at night. We were welcomed to use the pool and facilities all day if we wished. This included shower, toilet and washing facilities in the pool area. Also the tables and loungers round the pool. This hotel is very close to the train, Singapore bus, Raffles Hotel and walking distance to a great mall.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TripMember051220151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Location, location, location! Stayed here for the third time recently. Bus outside the front door, Yellow line MRT around the corner, Green line MRT just down the street. Next to all the Bugis Street shops and markets. Large clean rooms and friendly staff. Great scrambled eggs at breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SuziewooziePerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level 6 Contributor
283 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We booked this hotel as part of a Singapore Airlines Stopover Package. I rarely write a bad review as I try to find the positives in all of our overseas experiences so I will start with the positives. The bellboys and bar/restaurant staff were very helpful and attentive, and the free wifi in the air-conditioned lobby was fast once you connected. I am happy with the price we paid for the room through the stop over package. The hotel is also close to everything, which meant we only spent time in our room to sleep.

The staff at reception checking us in seemed disinterested in even engaging with us as we checked in. As we had been staying at some fairly nice hotels prior to this one I asked if we could be upgraded to a better room to be told that we were already in deluxe (which from their website is not their premium room), and when I asked again if there was a better room (which we were willing to pay for) the apathetic staff member pretended that they did not speak English - as if they thought that I didn't know that one of the official languages of Singapore is English and almost all students educated in Singapore speak English fairly fluently. I actually felt like I was unwelcome at this hotel.

The room we were provided to was dark, old, in desperate need of a fit-out, and the air conditioning was only really cooling the room down. On a plus the shower had strong pressure and was hot.

Room Tip: Try to get upgraded to a premium room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavinC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerald H, General Manager at Grand Pacific Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear DavinC,

Greetings from Hotel Grand Pacific Singapore! Thank you for your sharing your valuable feedback. We are pleased to inform you that we have completed our Wi-Fi access which is now available throughout the hotel including the guestrooms.

We apologize for the inconvenience you experienced during your check-in. We have address and shared this with our Front Line staff so as to avoid such service delivery to all our valued guest. The Deluxe room category is being looked into for our guest to have the added convenience and comfort in the future.

Thank you again for your comments. We look forward to welcoming you back!

Gerald Hendrick
General Manager, Hotel Grand Pacific Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Singapore hotels

Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We stopped in Singapore for 2 nights to break the trip from Europe to Australia and chose the hotel on position, price and reviews.

It is old style and a bit tatty for example the worn stair carpet near the pool. We also had trouble with the plumbing in our room and after 3 attempts to fix it they gave us a replacement room.
The aircon was excellent.

The service from staff was exceptional. Helpful, efficient and polite.

But the highlights for us were:
* the lovely cool pool on a hot humid day
* the fact that they allowed us into our room immediately after our early morning arrival
* the position close to Bugis station on the MRT, Chimes restaurant complex and Raffles
* and the coin operated washing machine and drier near the pool so we did not have to find a laundrymat ! What luxury to pack clean clothes after a few hectic weeks travelling.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank buderimba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerald H, General Manager at Grand Pacific Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear buderimba,

Greetings from Hotel Grand Pacific Singapore!

Thank you for your favourable feedback and sharing your highlights during your stay. Our hotel have got the renovated room which is the Premier category. However, we do apologize that you had some trouble with the plumbing issue of which have been fixed. We are also pleased to share with you that we have changed and replaced the worn stair carpet leading to the poolside.

We are glad to hear that you have experienced exceptional, helpful, efficient and politeness of our staff during your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back!

Gerald Hendrick
General Manager, Hotel Grand Pacific Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013

I stayed here with mother on two occasions in August 2013.

The first stay, which was for six nights, was great. We had a great room on level 13 (from memory). The hotel's location is very convenient and the buffet breakfast in the morning was sufficient. Not having wifi in the room was a pain, but it only takes a couple of minutes to use it in the lobby.

The second stay, which was for one night, was awful. Our room was on level 5 and was obviously one of the un-renovated rooms. That the room was older was not too great a concern: in a way, the older furnishings made the room feel rather quaint. What was completely unacceptable was the state of the bathroom and the fact that the shower nozzle did not work properly, meaning you had to hold the shower to wash. There was other little disappointments on the second stay: for example, on level 13 we had complementary robes, but no robes on level 5.

Our first stay on level 13 was fantastic value for the amount paid, but the second stay on level 5 was a huge disappointment. The unfortunately consequence, is that I would be reluctant to stay at this hotel again. My advice is to seek a renovated room if possible.

On the plus, the hotel's location is fantastic and very central. The hotel's enormous "plus" is the staff: the staff were extremely helpful and polite, and there enthusiasm really made the stay enjoyable.

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room, preferably on level 13. Avoid level 5.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerald H, General Manager at Grand Pacific Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear HappyLawyer82,

Greetings from Hotel Grand Pacific Singapore!

Thank you for sharing your valuable feedback. We are pleased to share with you that we have just completed our Wi-Fi access which is now available throughout the hotel including all guestrooms.

We would like to apologize for the unpleasant experience you had with us during your second stay which was in the Deluxe room category, of which we have very limited and are being looked into for improvement. We are happy to hear that you did enjoy the facilities and comfort of our Premier rooms and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Gerald Hendrick
General Manager, Hotel Grand Pacific Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Hotel Royal at Queens
#168 of 312 in Singapore
734 reviews
Hotel Kai
#107 of 312 in Singapore
230 reviews
Peninsula Excelsior Hotel
#112 of 312 in Singapore
4,299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ibis Singapore on Bencoolen
#64 of 312 in Singapore
6,402 reviews
Kampong Glam
Village Hotel Bugis by Far East Hospitality
V Hotel Bencoolen
#158 of 312 in Singapore
1,305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Pacific Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Pacific Hotel

Property: Grand Pacific Hotel
Address: 101 Victoria Street Hotel Grand Pacific, Singapore 188018, Singapore (Formerly Allson Hotel Singapore)
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#79 Business Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Pacific Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sixteen-story Hotel situated in the heart of business district, shopping & entertainment centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Pacific Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Allson Hotel Singapore
Singapore Allson Hotel
Allson Singapore
Grand Pacific Hotel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing