We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great room, service and value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Village Hotel Albert Court by Far East Hospitality
Ranked #79 of 317 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 16, 2013

This was my first time in Singapore and I felt the location was great, only a short walk to the MRT station (taxi to the city was also cheap $10). Hotel staff was very friendly and helpful, room was huge and very clean. Air conditioning worked well and I felt it was great value considering I wasn't keen on paying the top prices in the city centre. I can't comment on the food at the hotel as my goal was to eat at as many hawker's markets as possible. Would stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Priscilla B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon L, Manager at Village Hotel Albert Court by Far East Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2013

Dear Priscilla B,

We thank you for sharing about your stay at Village Hotel Albert Court and we are glad that you had enjoyed your stay with us.

We also thank you for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely,
Vernon Lee
Hotel Manager
Village Hotel Albert Court

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,389)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,522 - 1,528 of 2,391 reviews

Reviewed December 10, 2013

We had a premier room, it was great with all amenities in good condition. Free wifi and breakfast were great. Location of the hotel is perfect, very close to little India mrt station. You can manage withput the pickup and drop service its so close to thr MRT station. Get good indian food in the locality. Also bugis and simlim square are close by. Our room was above the restaurants which can be noisy at times but its a minor thing. All in all a great place to stay at definitely recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Akshay-Bhalerao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon L, Manager at Village Hotel Albert Court by Far East Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2013

Dear Akshay-Bhalerao,

We thank you for sharing about your stay at Village Hotel Albert Court and we are glad that you had enjoyed your stay.

We are delighted that you enjoyed our premier room and our amenities. However apologise for the noise from our restaurants in the courtyard. We have stepped up our security presence at night and will enforce our noise policy strictly.

We thank you for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to our Village at Albert Court soon.

Yours sincerely,
Vernon Lee
Hotel Manager
Village Hotel Albert Court

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2013

Our stay at Albert Court village was comfortable with OK rooms and basic amenities. The rates offered were very competitive and we managed with a good deal. The location is perfect for Indians with Little India MRT just across and there is 1 very good South Indian Food Joint around. However, the hotel food is just awful and passable. In Singapore if on a vacation, you hardly stay indoors in your hotel room except for good nights sleep so in that way hotel served our purpose with a good pricing

Room Tip: Select rooms on the other side of reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ravin_84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon L, Manager at Village Hotel Albert Court by Far East Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2013

Dear ravin_84,

We thank you for sharing about your stay at Village Hotel Albert Court and we are glad that you had enjoyed your stay.

We apologize that we did not meet our promise of providing a great experience. We will be renovating all our superior and deluxe rooms in the first half of 2014 and we hope you will notice the difference on your next stay with us.

We thank you for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to our Village at Albert Court soon.

Yours sincerely,
Vernon Lee
Hotel Manager
Village Hotel Albert Court

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2013

My first solo staycation.. it was an absolute great experience. The room was nicely decorated. The toilet was clean n convenient. Services was Excellent. The staff were very friendly and reliable.

I decided to extend my check out time an hour later, and it was confirmed almost immediately during check-in. There was no hassle of putting a deposit amount during check-in (as some hotels do this).

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LyaAleeya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon L, Manager at Village Hotel Albert Court by Far East Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2013

Dear LyaAleeya,

We thank you for sharing about your stay at Village Hotel Albert Court and we are glad that you had enjoyed your stay.

We strive to deliver great experience to our guest and our staff are excited that you had a great experience during your stay with us.

We thank you for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to our Village at Albert Court soon.

Yours sincerely,
Vernon Lee
Hotel Manager
Village Hotel Albert Court

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2013

Our travel agent assured us that we'd been booked into four-star hotels for our comfort, while in Singapore.

On first appearance, the Village Albert Court could have been just that; however, our room was a big disappointment. My first impression was made on stepping out of the lift on our floor. The wall in the lift-foyer is in obvious need of repair, yet there were no signs that any effort was being made to restore it. While our room was clean - the linen fresh and the bathroom well-presented, maintenance has not been a priority. The shower was an experience in itself. One would expect the shower rose to be erected directly above the taps - centred between the two taps. This shower rose was placed just centimetres from the wall, requiring contortions to ensure a satisfying wash without otherwise removing the shower rose from its holder and using it as hand-shower. An obsolete rain-showerhead is still attached to the ceiling overhead. How we wished it were working!

Unfortunately my cousin was first into the shower each morning. She had to wait "while the hot water found its way around the whole hotel" before it came to our room. We thought we’d have to have cold showers on our first morning.

Neither my companion nor I can sleep satisfactorily if light penetrates the room's darkness. Even when the curtains were closed, it was impossible to shut off the light that sneaked around the perimeter of the curtains.

Throughout the night we were disturbed often by the banging of doors. I'm not sure what can be done to alleviate this problem, but it is a problem.

We found the staff at Village Albert to be very courteous and helpful and we have no problem with any of the personnel. However, it seems that this lovely building is being allowed to disintegrate for want of real care for its heritage. It could be a tourist attraction in itself - it is really well located with the Little India MRT only 250 metres away, Bugis Street markets just down the street, a supermarket over the road and buses everywhere. The feeling of the hotel is of a by-gone British Colonial era. It is sad to see the building being exploited for profit without the due care and respect that should be returned to it.

We chose to have breakfast (buffet) for $15 pp. I don’t recommend this. We'd expected to be offered the same quality and variety that we'd experienced during our stay at the Miramar Hotel, but were disappointed. The fruits on offer were limited: on one morning only one (of the two) fresh fruits (honey dew or watermelon) was available: the other had been consumed and was not replenished. Likewise the pastries: these are kept on heat and become very dry and tasteless. (They are best served unheated). While the price is reasonable for what was on offer, I'd suggest finding an eatery close by and having more palatable food. (McDonald’s is within walking distance!)

Each morning I noticed the carpet leading to the restaurant: each morning it was dirtier than the day before.

This hotel is definitely not four-star, by Australia standards. I'd suggest two-star, at best.

Management needs to make an effort with this hotel. The staff can only do what they are instructed to do. Management - spend some money; pay attention to detail and refurbish this beautiful building room by room. It deserves some love and care.

Room Tip: Ask for a superior room. We just took what our agent booked and our experience was disappointing. Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HHaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon L, Manager at Village Hotel Albert Court by Far East Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2013

Dear HHaven,

We thank you for sharing about your stay at Village Hotel Albert Court and we apologize that we fail to meet your expectation.

We agree that our superior and deluxe floors are in need of renovation and we would like to share that renovation on these floors will start in January 2014. Our premier and club rooms had been recently refurbished and hence would had been a more suitable room category for you.

We thank you for choosing to stay with us and we sincerely apologize for failing to deliver the experience that we had promised. We really would like you to give us a second chance and would appreciate if you can contact me at vernonlee@fareast.com.sg.

Yours sincerely,
Vernon Lee
Hotel Manager
Village Hotel Albert Court

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights here. The staff are friendly and it has a quaint feeling with a nice court to chill out and the design is beautiful. It has what my husband wanted, a bathtub and a ceiling fan. Complimentary Wifi is strong and fast in the room. Strategic location,less than 5 minutes walk to Little India mrt station. There is no swimming pool but two jacuzzi pools and a gym. Skip the breakfast though,the selection is poor,with limited choices.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FoongSin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon L, Manager at Village Hotel Albert Court by Far East Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2013

Dear FoongSin,

We thank you for sharing about your stay at Village Hotel Albert Court and we are glad that you had enjoyed your stay.

We apologize that our breakfast did not meet your expectation. We regularly revised our breakfast buffet and we will continue to work with our food and beverage team to improve our breakfast selection.

We thank you for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to our Village at Albert Court soon.

Yours sincerely,
Vernon Lee
Hotel Manager
Village Hotel Albert Court

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013

We stayed here for four nights in order explore the city. For this the hotel gives you a good basis as it is well located to the city centre and the public transport (Little India Station).
Basically this is a typical business hotel with an average service and a little bit outdated but clean rooms.
Our room was facing the Albert court, hence it was quite noisy in the evenings due to the restaurants and bars down there.
The hotel has two jacuzzis where you can relax after a long day out in the city.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank double_M_2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon L, Manager at Village Hotel Albert Court by Far East Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2013

Dear double_M_2011,

We thank you for sharing about your stay at Village Hotel Albert Court and we are glad that you had enjoyed your stay.

We apologize that our rooms are a bit dated but would like to share with you that we will be commencing our renovation for all our superior and deluxe rooms in Jan 2014.

We thank you for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to our Village at Albert Court soon.

Yours sincerely,
Vernon Lee
Hotel Manager
Village Hotel Albert Court

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Kampong Glam
Village Hotel Bugis by Far East Hospitality
Hotel G Singapore
#68 of 317 in Singapore
959 reviews
Joo Chiat
Village Hotel Katong by Far East Hospitality
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ibis Singapore on Bencoolen
#67 of 317 in Singapore
6,549 reviews
Little India
PARKROYAL on Kitchener Road
PARKROYAL on Kitchener Road
#100 of 317 in Singapore
3,031 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village Hotel Albert Court by Far East Hospitality? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Hotel Albert Court by Far East Hospitality

Address: 180 Albert Street Village Hotel Albert Court, Singapore 189971, Singapore (Formerly Albert Court Village Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#43 Business Hotel in Singapore
#44 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#45 Family Hotel in Singapore
#72 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range: $111 - $181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Village Hotel Albert Court by Far East Hospitality 4*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Village Hotel Albert Court is a landmark of Albert Street restored from pre-war shop houses. The Paranakan-styled hotel has enhanced the historical shop houses with modern luxury to endowed guests to enjoy convenience while indulging in its rich cultural guestrooms. This popular hotel lies along the famous street for food and beverage before the 1980s, Albert Street. It was named the Gourmand Street of Singapore in Cantonese. The many celebrated restaurants still exist around the hotel today. The well located hotel is located in the heart of Singapore and is easily accessible to the Business District and Shopping District, which offers convenience to both the business and leisure travellers. From April 2014, experience the newly refurbished rooms designed with the necessities and comfort in mind for both business and leisure travellers as well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Village Hotel Albert Court by Far East Hospitality reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albert Court Hotel Singapore
Village Hotel Albert Court By Far East Hospitality Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing